We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once again, a delightful stay at the Fontenay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunkport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fontenay Terrace Motel
Ranked #16 of 26 Kennebunkport B&B and Inns
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once again, a delightful stay at the Fontenay.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As always, I have enjoyed my stay here. Although it is a no frills motel, the Fontenay Terrace has everything you need...cleanliness, quietness, peacefulness, friendliness, and the perfect location, with pleasant, helpful and personable hosts. Easy walk to Kennebunkport Village, the beach within 100 yds, and a short walk to Walker's Point. I look forward to my visit every year. If you stay here once, believe me, you will always return.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the corner room that overlooks the river. So peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
52
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's difficult to find such an excellent value away from busy Route 1, let alone one within a stone's throw of an estuarine beach on Kennebunkport's geographically and architecturally sublime Ocean Avenue. All the rooms are set back from Ocean Avenue's already light traffic; noise is never an issue. Rooms with a higher number (8 is as high as it goes) are further away from Ocean Avenue and closer to the hotel's magnificently landscaped, park-like frontage on a tidal inlet, complete with a wooden raft owned by the hotel. But the hotel is so small that it really doesn't matter where your room is. All rooms are reasonably priced and have comfortable beds, in-room temperature control, A/C, a refrigerator, microwave, nightstand, dresser, hair dryer, television, table, two barrel chairs and a club chair. Some other comments claim the furniture is outdated, but I found it homier and more comfortable than the trendy industrial junk that more "upscale" establishments use to justify obscene rates. (I'd rather save $100/night and spend it on entertainment and dining than "enjoy" a flimsy composition/laminate bed and stainless steel appliances in a room with all the amenities that Fontenay Terrace has, but to each his own). The owners/innkeepers are extremely gracious, as is the housekeeping/landscaping personnel (who are the owners' relatives). The owner, housekeeper and landscaper (all relatives of each other) made me a whiskey and coke - on the house - on my first night at the hotel, and we chatted about business, family and everything in between for almost an hour. It's that kind of place: a genuine bastion of down-home, distinctly Maine hospitality in a region whose character is succumbing to generic influences. And again, the location cannot be beat. The walk to Dock Square is an easy and scenic 10-15 minutes, the estuarine beach is right around the corner, and Kennebunk Beach is a pleasant 30-45 minute walk for an able-bodied adult (although I'd recommend purchasing a parking pass or bringing bicycles if walking isn't your thing or if you're traveling with children). I'd strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: See the foregoing review for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This motel is in a very nice and quiet location, although it is a fair walk into Kennebunkport which we didn't mind. The rooms are dated but clean. I would recommend this motel as good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieWales1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Returned to the Fontenay for our fifth year. We are never disappointed. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and so convenient to everything. Excellent value! See our review from years past.

senicseeker

Room Tip: Room 8 has a special view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenicseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Overpriced. Too far from the shops in the port. Room felt tired and outdated. The refrigerator wasn't clean. Towels were rough and low quality. Skimped... one bar of soap for sink and shower. We chose this location to easily walk to and from the port area. They need a shuttle service because this was quite far.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASeybold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBReid, Owner at Fontenay Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Sorry you were disappointed. If you know much about Kennebunkport, we are one of the best values. Very few properties with rates under $200.00 to $250.00
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have over 33 years of hotel experience in large convention and smaller Four Diamond hotels and my wife and I loved our long weekend here. The location is perfect for the area. The price was very fair for the area. The room was very clean, large and very comfortable. The grounds were attractive and well-maintained. We lounged outside playing our guitars late into the night! Don't waste your time at bigger (much) more expensive hotels in the area. You simply can't find a better place to stay in Kennebunkport!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

David and Paula couldn't have done more to make me and other guests feel at home. I stayed for the month of July and then extended for another week!! The rooms are large, comfortable and spotless. The location couldn't be better with the beach and the Kennebunk River right across the street. This is really a wonderful Inn in the old Maine tradition. While most of the other properties in Kennebunkport are priced at $300+ a night, the Fontenay still maintains reasonable rates while providing quality service. I plan to be back next year and for many years to come!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBReid, Owner at Fontenay Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Look forward to having you back next year !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kennebunkport hotels
0.1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Inn
The Edgewater Inn
#14 of 26 in Kennebunkport
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 26 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
Yachtsman Lodge & Marina
#10 of 26 in Kennebunkport
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontenay Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontenay Terrace Motel

Property: Fontenay Terrace Motel
Address: 128 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunkport
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Fontenay Terrace Hotel Kennebunkport
Fontenay Terrace Motel Kennebunkport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing