We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

The Pineapple Ketch
Ranked #2 of 11 Tours in Kennebunkport
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
CT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a nice, relaxing sail at sunset. We would have preferred an adults-only option for a sunset sail, but for the price ($40 pp) it was definitely worth the trip. Bring a blanket, wine and cheese, and enjoy! The Captain and first mate were very kind... they didn't talk your ear off with useless information... unless you engaged in conversation, which was nice. We really enjoyed the relaxing feel and the boat was beautiful. Will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jstask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun Evening”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chartered the boat with a group of friends for a evening sail. The captain and first mate were very friendly, explained safety issues quickly but clearly, and were helpful in getting drinks and sweaters from below deck whenever they were needed. We took wine along and had a great sail around the coast. Great evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“calm seas ahead”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second outing on the Pineapple Ketch, and it was quite calm... I would have to say that we preferred our first outing about three years ago. We loved our captain, and his charming first mate, but on the last outing the first mate was a young fellow who was so informational it was amazing - lots of explanations of the lobster trade, lobster boats, and so forth, right up to how they are regulated etc... he was in school at the local boat building academy so some of that was brought forward and we all had a better idea of boats and sails, the sea and it's bounty after that... so if that could be worked back in I think that would make it better value!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing sail!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a couple of hours to fill before a destination wedding and this was a great way to enjoy some relaxing time in the sun. Captain and mate were polite, friendly and competent with the boat. Not much on tourist type info on what we were sailing past up the coast and not too much wind in this particular day but it was a nice time anyway.

Helpful?
Thank Travels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladewater, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Pinnacle of Relaxation”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

What is better than a relaxing vacation to the Northeast? An even more relaxing sail on the waters off of Kennebunkport with Christo and crew (on our trip, it was Amanda). Christo and Amanda were amazingly friendly and down-to-earth, taking time to answer even the most simplistic of questions. They did not overwhelm us by talking the entire time, but were content to let us enjoy the beauty of our surroundings. If you've got a few hours to spare, you won't regret a trip aboard the Pineapple Ketch. Greetings from AR and TX, Christo and Amanda--thanks for a great time!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pineapple Ketch also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The Pineapple Ketch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing