We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The accommodations were excellent, with plenty of high end detailing. The frig was a perfect size for us. Unfortunately, it didn't work, but the staff responded very quickly at our request, and actually refunded part of our accommodation bill when they couldn't immediately replace it. My only remark is that the breakfast is set-up in an awkward way for people to get through the line quickly, with the toaster smack in the front of the line so you have loitering people where you don't want them because they block other people from moving forward. Also, I would love to see fruit salad added to the buffet. But I understand that this is a simplified breakfast, so I cannot hold that against them. We would definitely go back here for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RawDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 317 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

We are thrilled we found this gem. Fully renovated, very stylish, excellent breakfast, comfortable beds, and the pool is headed! It is in an excellent location too. we will be back for sure in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachtravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at the Port Inn in Kennebunk. The rooms were recently renovated, quite spacious and very comfortable. There is a free breakfast served in the morning (which was somewhat overwhelmed in the morning we ate there). There was just one person working and he did his best to replenish food and keep everyone happy. But that aside, this is a very nice hotel and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Courteous and helpful staff had great recommendations of where to go and what to see while in the area. Rooms and facility were very clean. Pleasantly surprised at the comfortable size of the room at such a reasonable price. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhtucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in The Port Inn at the beginning of a road trip to Canada. It was one of the best hotels of our entire trip. Our room was tastefully decorated in a modern seascape theme. The entire property was well-maintained and the room was clean and comfortable. Located on Rt. 1, it is just a short drive to Kennebunkport and the beautiful shores of Maine. The breakfast, though not as extensive as some other hotels, met our needs with a selection of muffins, bagels, cereal, and fruit. Our stay at The Port Inn was short - just one night - but we were left with a very favorable impression. I will definitely plan to stay here on future trips to the area.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if your room is on the second level, you will need to carry your luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HistoryHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a quiet and unassuming small hotel, not real fancy but with very clean and comfortable rooms. The rooms have a great TV, coffee maker, and I-pod compatible clock radio. Breakfast was tasty and the staff were very helpful. A great bargain for the price. Very convenient to Kennebunk.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar. I prefer the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

When travelling to the Kennebunks, you quickly realize that there are many more B&B's than there are hotels, so we were a little concerned about the limited choices. This hotel was rated #1 on TA, so we figured we would give it a shot. We were happy to see that the price was actually in line, or even better than some of the other hotels in the area, so that was a plus as well.

When we pulled into the parking lot the place looked brand new. We found out during our visit that this hotel was recently bought and remodeled, so everything was clean and looked great. The staff was very friendly and the room was immaculate. The room was a nice size and had a fridge and microwave. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.

There is a nice little pool and deck area by the parking lot which we did not get to use, but it looked fine. The hotel also offers a nice continental-type breakfast with indoor and outdoor seating available. The hotel was not that crowded when we stayed here, so I could see the breakfast area getting crowded during peak season, but that is the only minus I could come up with during our stay.

Overall, this is a great little place that had a very comfortable and relaxing feel, which is great because isn't that why you are going to the Kennebunks in the first place?

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berniecf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
3.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
309 reviews
3.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.8 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 55 York St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7297 (Formerly Port Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: $96 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true Maine experience. Trendy, coastal design meets comfort and tranquility at our boutique hotel in the heart of Kennebunk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Kennebunk
Kennebunk Econo Lodge
Port Inn Kennebunk, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing