We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night in Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is my first time ever in the great state of Maine. I drove to this hotel and got a room without any reservations. I got a great room that was clean and spacious.
Just a couple of comments. I didn't find a bath mat for the tub/shower. There was just a little bit of dirt on the tub side shower curtain. And for my last complaint, the in room refrigerator was loud enough for me to turn it off.
The free breakfast was very decent. I got a hot meal and didn't have to leave the hotel.
I'd stay again and recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: I got a AAA discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevZigMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 322 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently had a short stay at the Port Inn, which is conveniently located on Route 1 in Kennebunk, about two miles from the I-95 Kennebunk exit. For those unfamiliar with the area, Kennebunk is roughly mid-way between the Maine-New Hampshire border and Portland. From Kennebunk, Portland is about a 30-40 minute drive north, while to the south, you're within easy striking distance of beaches in Wells, Ogunquit, and the Yorks, as well as outlet shopping in Kittery.

Note that Kennebunk and Kennebunkport are about four miles apart. Kennebunkport includes several beaches, many resort hotels and B&Bs, and the Dock Square shopping/dining area. Kennebunk's village, with a small main street and several historic churches, is less than a mile from the Port Inn, and can be reached on foot via sidewalk. There's a sandwich shop across Route 1, but little else within quick walking distance. Traffic is light in the off-season, but Route 1 can be a parking lot between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

As others have written, the Port Inn is a former EconoLodge that was extensively upgraded in June 2013. There are two levels of rooms, with the upper floor reached by outdoor stairs and walkways. Our room was exceptionally comfortable, with two large beds, excellent bedding and toiletries, and new bathroom fixtures. Most of the rooms face a quiet side street; if you are sensitive to noise, you should avoid the handful of rooms close to Route 1.

The motel has a small lobby/common area, and offers a reasonable continental breakfast, including cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread, and eggs. While the offerings are basic, the spread is better than what you'd typically find at this type of property. There is in-room WiFi, and a laptop is available for guests to borrow. There is a small outdoor pool, which I'm guessing must be open from late May through early September.

Staff members were uniformly friendly and helpful, and housekeeping was prompt and thorough.

April is the off-season, so we benefited from an especially competitive rate that made the Port Inn excellent value for money. During the summer high season, rates are about double, and reservations should be made far in advance.

The Port Inn is a great choice if you want a cut above the standard motel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel is part of the Ascend Hotel Collection and also Choice Hotels. It is a relatively new building (less than a yr. old). The location was formerly an EconoLodge but was torn down and this new hotel built. The room (2 queen beds) was nice and roomy and all furnishings new. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly. Definitely a bargain at the price charged.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClButch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved it here, our room was a King efficiency room and it was terrific. Lovely space and decorated beautifully. We had a cook top, dishwasher, microwave and fridge along with a marble counter top and sink with a table in the kitchen. Nice sofa, big tv and an outside entrance, perfect for taking our dog in and out. We are so happy that the area has this hotel now and we will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelleranddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We needed to get away for a night and always wanted to explore the Kennebunks. The Port Inn turned out to be the perfect spot! Easy to find and easy to explore from. Room was spacious and had just the right amenities for our needs. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addison152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

this is a great hotel, inexpensive but spotless, good breakfast, great location and friendly staff. Great alternative to expensive B & B's in Kennebunkport! The only complaint is that the mattress was a bit firm, and I think our room was very close to the main plumbing lines judging by the "water" noises that started early in the morning. Otherwise a great place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arfur64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My honey and I decided to get away for a few days and came across this inn as a place to stay on on way to Portland. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the staff, very clean room, and amenities. You can't do much better at this price point. We highly recommend the Port Inn.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
3.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
289 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
4.8 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 55 York St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7297 (Formerly Port Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: $90 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true Maine experience. Trendy, coastal design meets comfort and tranquility at our boutique hotel in the heart of Kennebunk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Kennebunk
Kennebunk Econo Lodge
Port Inn Kennebunk, An Ascend Hotel Collection Member Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing