We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn-Need of an Update and Customer Service”
Review of Kennebunk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kennebunk Inn
Ranked #10 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Chose Kennebunk Inn as an overnight stop on our way to Acadia as other's have said because of the ability to book one night. I'm assuming most are glad like us that they are only staying one night. Very average rooms, uncomfortable beds, bathrooms from the 60's, and no service...I mean no service...breakfast is coffee and juice from a bottle set up in a side room, I asked for water and was given a glass from the bar with ice and some water after a long look.
The town is charming, quiet and in the throws of a "resurgence" this Inn could be right there with it with some attention to detail, a breakfast that is "real", and some updates.
You'd get a better deal and attention at the next exit up the turnpike at the Comfort Suites.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the house on the street side...noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KTMTGal331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 194 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for four nights during my son's wedding festivities. The front desk for check in is just that- just a desk. . After check in we were shown our room and to say that we were disappointed would be an understatement. Although the bed was very comfortable the bathroom was a joke. An old clawfoot tub surrounded by a shower curtain. The tub was so narrow it was scary to turn around in. An old style porcelain sink with separate hot and cold water spouts. An experience just to wash your face in it. No place for my lady to spread out her cosmetics. Just a crumby little glass shelf over the sink. For $200 plus a night- come on.
Window A/C unit was a joke. Barely worked and when I looked at the vents- lovely green mold in them. Fortunately was able to turn it off and open the window- cool lovely evenings, but in the mornings, you would break into a sweat just getting dressed.
Hospitality- Friday night we came back from the rehearsal dinner and thought that we would stop in the bar for a drink. It was late- the dining room was empty and there were only four other folks in the bar- two of whom were the owners. We sat down ordered drinks (the bartender was great). Were there for an hour or so when the owners left- never any acknowledgement of our presence (they had to know we were guests given the time of night). Just walked by us without saying a word. We said something to the bartender and he just made excuses for them- they had been "slammed" that night. We told him that didn't make any difference- if you are in the customer service business, you are "on" even if you are tired. They may be wonderful chefs but as far as hosts go they leave a lot to be desired.
One final note- on their website in their "guest comments" section, notice how it's all about the food- very little about the accommodations. You will do better staying at the Econo Lodge or Hampton Inn than staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here in July for one night as we made our way further up into Maine. We wanted to stay in Kennebunkport, but it was hard to find hotels in the area that don't have 2 night minimums, so this was a plus. The Inn is a very old Inn, and is in need of an update. The rooms are small, and the bathrooms even smaller. The bathrooms are very out-dated, and need a renovation. They have the old claw foot tubs that you have to step into, with a shower curtain that was a little moldy. The shower head was at an odd angle that would shoot horizontally into your face, and it couldn't be adjusted. The sink was really tiny. The beds were comfortable. We dined at the restaurant and although the food was good, it was all very heavy. The lobster pot pie, which is what they are known for, is good but not great. I think for a quick stopover, it's an ok place to stay. I'm not sure I would want to stay there much longer than 1 night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingOtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here after a wedding at the Nonantum Resort. It was a clean and well kept property with comfortable beds. We liked it because they did NOT have a 2 night minimum, which is hard to come by in Kennebunk in the summer! Breakfast was not included but they did offer fresh coffee in the morning that was actually pretty good. There is no pool and it is about a 10-15 minute ride to the downtown Kennebunkport attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

For over $200 per night, and nothing included except coffee or juice, and a not so warm and fuzzy welcome, not worth the money, not very welcoming or accomodating, no management on hand in the wee hours of the night in case of compaints....which we had, were woken up at 1:00 am with the noise of a very roudy croud which went on until 4:00 am, on a positive note, the rooms are very clean
.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We dined there July 6th 2012 for your famous Lobster Pie and were very disapointed. There was 2 small pieces of Lobster, 2 pieces of potato, a few kernels of corn, and a couple of peas,all for 19.50 per person. I realize this is an appetizer but i could have had a Lobster pie any where with more in it than that. I don't know if it was because we were there at 4:00 on a friday and it was to early and you weren't ready for us or what. I would not recomend this to anyone especialy after all the hype about how wonderful the pie is.
Sandy,
Kennebunk

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Received incorrect info when booking. When we compalined, clerk infomred us that WE had made a mistake. Not informed until arrival that room was 20+ steps - no elevator. Front desk clerk rude, unhelpful. We ended up leaving and going elsewhere - and we were VERY glad that we did.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank WhiteCatWriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
3.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
289 reviews
3.7 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
157 reviews
5.3 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunk Inn

Address: 45 Main St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7090
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: $90 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kennebunk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kennebunk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunk Hotel Kennebunk
Kennebunk Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing