We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't confuse this with Kennebunkport Inn!”
Review of Kennebunk Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kennebunk Inn
Ranked #10 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I got the two confused and there is no comparison between Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. Some of these posted reviews are actually for the Kennebunkport Inn which is several miles away. When we checked in at the Kennebunk Inn, I was shocked. I told the clerk I was in the wrong place, but she refused to refund my money so we had to spend one night. It was dreadful. The Inn is very very old. We don't mind old and elegant but this place has not been updated. It isn't even Victorian. It is just old with old mismatched furniture, exposed pipes in the ceilings, along the walls, slanting floors. The rooms are tiny and very very shabby. The only plus was the clean comfortable bed. There were 3 locks on our door and not sure why because the door was so thin anyone could push it down. There were young people coming and going without luggage and I think part of the inn may be used as a boarding house. The high rated restaurant on the main floor is closed Sun & Mon so we didn't get to try it. The Wi-Fi service wouldn't work unless we took our computer down to the office. There is nothing to do in that part of Kennebunk! You can drive 10-15 minutes to the newer, nicer part of Kennebunk that is connected to the delightful town of Kennybunkport by a bridge. I am shocked by some of these reviews.

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoptiludrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

For my Birthday-my husband madereservations-at this beautiful Inn. He had a bottle of Wine delivered to the room as well-for our arrival-staff was gracious-rooms were very nice-restaurant was great!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy0552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I would love to say very nice things about the Inn but am finding it hard to come up with positive comments. Good points are, the staff are very friendly and cooperative. The bed in our room was comfortable and the sheets were crisp and clean.
We booked the Inn for a week over Christmas 2011. We were desperate to find a hotel which would accommodate our 9lb dog, as many hotels were closed for the season. We spent the first 3 nights in Room 3!!! The floor in our room was truly filthy. Before getting into bed every night, we sat on the edge of the bed and wiped our feet so as not to get all the dirt in the bed. Room 3 is also directly above an exterior door leading to a storage/kitchen area. Every time there was a delivery (multiple times every morning) the door would slam when someone entered and slam when someone left. The delivery trucks would sit "idling" outside our window while the delivery was taking place. We were woken up every morning with loud bangs and the window rattling. Also the staff would use this door to go outside for a cigarette and it would slam off and on all day until the staff went home. Also there is some kind of exhaust fan or something that runs 24/7. During the day it was irritating, at night it sounded extra loud.
After 3 days I couldn't stand it any more and asked to be moved to another room. Charlie, the guy on the front desk at the time, was extremely helpful and showed us 3 rooms which were available. We chose one at the front of the Inn not realizing that the front door leading into the Inn and restaurant also slammed!!! Every time someone came and went same thing, loud bangs. Do not stay in rooms 3, 4, 10 or 11. Bottom line is, this Inn is the noisiest place I have ever stayed in. The staff can be heard talking everywhere. It sounds as if they are standing next to you talking instead of downstairs in the lobby/restaurant. Also the night staff played movies on his computer and we could hear it in our room over our TV!!!
Also the Inn is in need to some renovation. I love to stay in old places, but there is no need to feel as if everything is "dirty."
The restaurant was OK, the food was OK.

Room Tip: I can advise you to avoid rooms: 3, 4, 10 and 11. Some of the reviews of the suites were positive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The service, staff, accomodations and restaurant at the Kennebunk Inn were excellent. The unexpected very late check-in was handled very well; Free Wi-Fi in the rooms of this 250 or so old inn was a bonus. The bar and restaurant are excellent. I have been coming to the Kennebunk area for more than 50 years. This is a great location. Not on the beach. Away from the crowds of Kennebunkport but just a 10 minute drive away. Only bad comment is that there are lots of stairs to some of the rooms. Accessibility for some may be an issue.

Room Tip: If accessibility by someone who has trouble with stairs be sure to check in advance what the best ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalistogaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Traveling with our dog we were given one of their "dog" rooms, Rm 4. We arrived around 6:30 pm and when we were shown to our room we immediately noticed a loud dog barking in the room next door. The walls are thin as it is an old building. But the room was not good at all -- huge king bed took up the entire space -- there wasn't even a spot to put down bags. The sheet on top of the bed (no duvet or comforter) had a hole in it. The view was of the parking lot . But the worst part was the stinky old dog odor in the room and tiny bathroom. It was unbearable. Luckily the screened window opened, but did little to alleviate the smell. We asked for another room, but there were no more dog rooms available. We decided we couldn't stay there and I spent the next 45 minutes calling around looking for another room for that and the next night somewhere else. We did decide to keep our reservation at their restaurant, Academie, as it was dinnertime and we were starving. Bad move. Sticky table, lousy service, overpriced food, indefinite wait for food and then measly portions and not nice food. Diane, the woman at the front desk, agreed to not charge me for the second night's stay, but said because we were in the room for about an hour and a half (even though most of that time we were sitting waiting for dinner and our dog was in her crate in the room) she had to charge us $140 for that night's stay. She said she removed the dog fee, but what she ended up charging me was more than the original quote for one night, but at that point I was not about to argue as I was happy she let us out of the second night. Traveling with a dog is always a challenge because oftentimes hotels stick you in their worst rooms and rip you off with a ridiculous fee for nothing. Finding great places that accept dogs is wonderful. This, unfortunately, is not one of them.

Room Tip: I suspect the non-dog rooms are probably better, but I have no idea if that is really the case. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TessaWainscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had actually stayed here 25 years ago (two owners ago and two renovations ago) and decided to return with our teenage daughter to celebrate our 30th anniversary. The renovations are wonderful and we enjoyed our two night stay. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful.
The family suites are nicely set up and we also were able to enjoy dinner one evening. We will return.

Room Tip: Family suites are nice and include two rooms and two televisions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieCoeymans_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Been at the inn Labor Day weekend 2 years ago, back this year during (canadian) Thanks Giving weekend. All the family really love the place. It's different and quite unique. We'll come back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
3.5 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#5 of 8 in Kennebunk
284 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
304 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
657 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunk Inn

Address: 45 Main St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7090
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: $91 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kennebunk Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kennebunk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunk Hotel Kennebunk
Kennebunk Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing