We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for Christmas Prelude” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Barn Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best place for Christmas Prelude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff was wonderful and go out of their way to make you happy. It is not the cheapest accommodations around the area, but if you want to best experience during the prelude celebration come here. Even with a couple hick-ups they kept delivering!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robosoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    52
    34
    16
    19
See reviews for
20
205
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We made our 5th return visit to White Barn over Thanksgiving. Spent two nights ... everything was perfect. Yes, it is expensive but for a short get away, it can't be matched. Dining at the WB is a wonderful experience... food, service, ambiance are terrific. The Inn itself is charming and while rooms in the main building tend to be small, they are cozy and lacking nothing. The staff couldn't be nicer .. all your needs are cheerfully met. Kennebunkport is charming with many shops and restaurants...a fun place to visit. Also close to Portland as well as some interesting coastal spots which make for good day trips. I happily recommend the White Barn - a truly relaxing and fun place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnH781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a weekend without the kids. We stayed in a junior suite on the 2nd floor of the main house. The room itself was very nice. However, at a rate of $730.00 per night, we might have expected a nice view and less noise. At all times of the day (and through the night), we could hear loud noises outside and from the floor above us. The service was good, but the place was definitely a bit stuffy for our tastes. The 4-course, fixed-price dinner in the inn's restaurant was way over the top (and not always in a good way). Moreover, the food at the inn was very expensive. The fixed-price dinner was $109 per person, and any additional "hot items" ordered for breakfast were expensive but with very meager portions. At this time of the year, the towns of Kennebunk and Kennebunkport mostly were deserted. On our first night, we were the only guests dining at the inn's sister restaurant, Stripers. Probably won't return, but was an experience, to say the least...

Room Tip: Perhaps stay in a room located in one of the adjacent buildings, as opposed to staying in the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend at The White Barn Inn. We left our one year old for the first time and drove up to Maine for some off-season R&R. Everything was impeccable from the staff to the spa, to the accommodations and the restaurant.

Since I would strongly encourage readers to book a stay here, I will offer some tips for your trip. We booked one of the cottages and it was lovely. However, I did not realize the cottages are technically off-premises. I only mention this because based on our experience, I imagine all of their rooms are charming and we might not have spent the extra money for the cottage. Needless to say, the staff was wonderful and drove out to deliver anything we needed, including continental breakfast.

I also highly recommend their culinary package. We went into the kitchen during lunch and got to work with their staff who was very welcoming. They taught us a few techniques and made us a light lunch. Then we capped off the experience with their 9 course tasting menu for dinner. It was exceptional. This was definitely the highlight of our stay…though it was the off-season so there wasn't much else to do besides eat, sit by the fire and use the spa. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Wonderful dinner and stay at White Barn Inn. Room needs some updating and service was bit stiff for our taste. Otherwise a nice place to stay! We enjoyed a multiple course dinner, some was a bit dated and felt like we were back in the 80ies

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here in the late fall for 9 years. It's always special! Terrific staff and chef Jonathan Cartwright never ceases to amaze us! Try the suites in May's Annex! Nice touches like afternoon tea listening to the piano od Ludovico Einaudi only add to the ambience. A terrific romantic getaway!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed here several times and have always had a great time. We usually come for two nights during the fall. This year we were fortunate to have a sunny weekend and although just past the peak of the season the colors were beautiful. We had one of our favorite rooms with a large window that made it feel like we were in the forest.
The food here is terrific and the service impeccable. Although seemingly pricey the rates include breakfast and a three course dinner. We always have a fabulous time and feel that it is worth the cost!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
17.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Barn Inn

Property: White Barn Inn
Address: 37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. The White Barn Inn (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences... energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820's. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your White Barn Inn experience will bring everlasting, fine memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your White Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
Maine White Barn Inn
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me
White Barn Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing