We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the White Barn Inn. On check-in we were upgraded to a beautiful suite and the staff at the hotel were very helpful in all respects. We very much enjoyed breakfast and found the cocktails in the evening to be excellent. The one thing that i disliked about the hotel was the way certain things cost extra and the way that you were made aware of this. I certainly don't begrudge them the fact that things cost money, but this place is pricey and to be told that latte's are not included in the room rate (whilst regular coffee is) just comes across as being a bit cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W1Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 320 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the moment went entered the driveway to the day we left the hospitality here was impeccable. Unfortunately our stay wasn't long enough to enjoy all the amenities (restaurant and spa) - because we wanted to see at the other beauties of Maine's southern coast. The pool area was gave us a true "zen" relaxation haven, right off our cabin - May's Cottage. We will definitely return for a longer stay!!! And the Kennebunkport Beach is only a short walk away!!!

Room Tip: May's Cottage was very quiet and peaceful... I believe the entire facility presents the same fee...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Kennebunk was great. The White Barn Inn is a lovely place and well worth the visit. The ambiance in the restaurant is spectacular; food and service is exceptional. Men must wear a jacket. The only disappointment was spa appointments were sold out, so book spa appointments in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmswartz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently experienced a 4 night stay at the White Barn Inn for our Honeymoon. The grounds and the building are incredible, and valet greeted us at the door. The rooms are modern, beautiful, light, airy, but not large. Initially, we were a bit disappointed due to the amount of money we paid for the room, but we spent minimal time in the room, and it turned out to be perfect. The pool is AMAZING! So relaxing, comfortable lounge chairs, towels, and lunch service. Beach is 10 minute walk, was super crowded when we were there, but my husband did get some surfing in (there are 2 surf shops in town). Town was also a 10 minute walk, so many restaurants, beautiful artists, and lots of fun shops to explore. Guests average age was prob 55, and we are 31, 37, but it was never an issue, didn't see many other guests at all.
We had dinner at the White Barn, which was wonderful. It was very fancy, which can be a bit awkward when you aren't used to such things, but the food was delish, the service was something I've never experienced before. Afternoon tea was great, saved our appetites many a day! Finger sandwiches, eclairs, scones, yum! I've been missing it since we left! The daily breakfast was so amazing too, I could keep going on and on about the food here, it was high quality, top notch.
I also got the river stone massage, which was pretty much the best massage I've ever had. The massage suites were huge, the spa was super quiet.
Hands down the best hotel I have every stayed at. Perfect for a special occasion. Planning to come back for out 10 year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank npetrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A gracious property with excellent service & fantastic pool. Staff is great. Restaurant excellent. Rooms are OK but really overpriced ($580 with continental breakfast). Some nickel & dime elements--eg charging extra for a latte at breakfast. If money is no object, do it. But know you're overpaying.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANI24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great reception and staff at arrival and good explanation of the property and the room. We stayed in the annex in one of the ground level rooms. Room was very dark, and for over $800 very small. The carpets also probably need upgrading. The balcony next to one of our windows was for smokers, so do not keep the windows open as you will have a nice smokers room.
Dinner was uneven. Service was fine, but there were no maitre sommelier, waiter recommending us mostly towards the most expensive wines on the list. List has good wines, but surprisingly limited for a relais et chateaux. Appetizers were ok, but one was not served as warm as it should have been. Bread service was limited and we even had to ask for it. Main course (lobster and halibut) were excellent.
Only continental breakfast is included, anything cooked will be charged dearly. Espressos are outrageously expensive, a double is $9, or $40 charge for 2 doubles each left us with a really bad taste in our mouth, small issue that really affected the rest of our stay's perception.
Hotel has great potential, but at this price, not worth a smokers room with expensive espresso (most expensive in the world in my experience).

Room Tip: Avoid ground level annex.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the beautiful White Barn Inn!! It is a fabulous property with wonderful service. We stayed in May's Cottage by the pool-a nice one bedroom with a sitting room and outdoor seating. We were greeted in the driveway by name and shown around the inn. We were taken to our cottage where there was champagne, fruit and nuts-a nice greeting after traveling all day!!

The dining room is out of this world-excellent service!! We enjoyed wonderful breakfast's every morning and 2 dinners. The presentation at dinner is perfect-especially the way the lobster is plated! All of the courses are supurb! Everyone who works here is great.

We chatted with nice bartender's-one of them, Cyril, gave us an impromptu tour of the kitchen where we met the chef. A wonderful treat and nice surprise. That is why Relais and Chateaux properties stand above the rest-the personal service.

The inn also provides beach chairs and umbrella's. The pool area is nice with lots of lounger's. They serve a nice lunch too. I highly recommend staying and dining at The White Barn Inn! There is lots to do in Kennebunk-nice shopping, restaurant's and kayaking. Other nice towns are close by-a wonderful vacation spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,423 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#14 of 25 in Kennebunkport
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace White Barn Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace White Barn Inn and Spa

Address: 37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: $346 - $1,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grace White Barn Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. Grace White Barn Inn & Spa (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences... energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820's. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your Grace White Barn Inn & Spa experience is sure to bring everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Grace White Barn Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me
Maine White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
Grace White Barn Inn And Spa Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing