We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive - but worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive - but worth it.”
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We were only able to stay 1 night but we enjoyed every minute. Our room was comfortable, the staff pleasant and our dinner at Grissini memorable.

  • Liked — The Jacuzzi
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank longandhappylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    55
    34
    16
    19
See reviews for
21
218
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lynnfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

My husband and I went for our anniversary dinner. It was our second time visiting. It was so amazing. The first time i went it was for our 1st anniversary. We were only 22, we loved it. But we felt a little uncomfortable. At 28 we went back and loved every minute of it. Yes its pricey, but its so special. Everyone treats you like your the only one they are waiting on. I cant wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeg1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

My husband surprised me for my 40th birthday with a weekend at the White Barn Inn.

We had the guest chef package which included a cooking demonstration/class and an 8 course meal. Chef Cartwright and Guest Chef Tony Dawodu both welcomed us when we arrived for a cocktail reception. They had a lovely canape selection prepared along with a wine recommendation for us to enjoy.

General manager Stuart Barwise introduced himself and made dinner reservations for us at their sister restaurant Grissini's (dinner was very good).

Our room was a beautiful suite with fireplace and jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. It was a very comfortable room that balanced luxury with extreme coziness.

The service was outstanding from check-in to check-out. The spa was wonderful. Cheryl helped us choose the most appropriate treatments. We were made to feel special whenever we encountered any employee of the inn. Christopher our waiter on Saturday evening at the Inn was very attentive and accommodating. The meal was one of the best we ever had.

We highly recommend the White Barn Inn for any occasion, special or not.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — pricey
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosoxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2008

This was our second visit to the White Barn. My boyfriend and I had spent a long weekend here during the summertime and wanted to come back and experience its winter magic. It was just as delightful as our first visit. When we checked into our Garden room we had a bottle of Champagne waiting on ice with a personal welcome back note from the manager. Our room was very cozy with a gas fireplace, sitting room, and large window to look out on the snow in the woods.

Truly one of the best features of the hotel, besides the friendly staff, is the amazing food. We had two breakfasts, dinners, and one lunch at the Inn. All were deliciously exquisite. The foie gras crusted beef tenderloin, lobster bisque, and steamed lobster still linger on my mind.

The hospitality of the staff couldn't be better and we will certainly return again.

  • Liked — The food and friendly staff
  • Disliked — The colder air in the bathroom from the skylight. (But there was a heater.)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gatorgirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2008

All of the snow in Kennebunkport this December enhanced our holiday experience. The Inn was beautifully decorated; the staff made us feel very comfortable and were helpful in planning our precious time in the area. We slept right thru breakfast, but dinner was every bit as wonderful as we hoped it would be.

  • Liked — The staff and our lovely room.
  • Disliked — sleeping thru breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleganttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

We have had dinner at the White Barn Inn on many an occasion and were really looking forward to our "pre-xmas escape". I have to say for the amount of money we spent on this two day "escape" we were very dissapointed. The room was average, the bathroom was almost as big, but who needs a huge bathroom on vacation? Dinner was included in the two day stay, but it was not memorable, as it had been on other occasions. My husband and I are avid "weekenders" at various inns throughout New England and this was not memorable at all - it is decent, but for the money we spent it should have been alot more than decent!

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dolphingirl040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

I truly do not understand what that reviewer reports about the White Barn Inn. Some people are unreasonable and simply do not want to be made happy. I have never stayed anywhere with service as flawless as the White Barn Inn. I have never stayed anywhere at which the food was better. The spa experience is exquisite. The rooms small but beautiful. The restaurant itself is one of the most strikingly rustically elegant settings on earth. There is nothing the staff won't do to make your stay sheer perfection. I can not imagine the kind of individual who could stay at this inn and not be completely blown away by every aspect of it. We are not that easy to please. We have stayed at some of the finest inns in the world. We live in NYC and eat at the finest restaurants. Nothing surpasses this. Ignore the review of this person before me. Some people just want to be miserable.

  • Liked — the food, the service, the setting
  • Disliked — smallish rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ccaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace White Barn Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace White Barn Inn and Spa

Property: Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Address: 37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grace White Barn Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. Grace White Barn Inn & Spa (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences... energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820's. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your Grace White Barn Inn & Spa experience is sure to bring everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Grace White Barn Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me
Maine White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
Grace White Barn Inn And Spa Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing