We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In need of updating”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were slightly disappointed with White Barn Inn. We booked a suite and the room looked tired and in need of updating. The decor was very traditional and service stiff and somewhat unfriendly (some might call it arrogant). Perhaps this inn is more suitable for an older demographic or for people who like to experience an old world setting. Also I was surprised that previous reviewers didn't mention that the inn is far from everything (the beach, the water, town etc), it is not a very desirable location. However we loved the pool and breakfast. Dinner was somewhat disappointing and expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    55
    36
    16
    19
See reviews for
23
221
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed the Relais & Châteaux properties in Italy and decided to stay at The White Barn Inn based on those experiences.

Pros: The White Barn Inn has a rustic, but elegant New England charm. The property has a very tranquil atmosphere and the pool is hypnotic. We truly enjoyed the following services included in the rate:
1) Traditional tea, cookies and finger sandwiches served every afternoon commencing at 3:00pm are a nice touch;
2) Bikes are available on a first come basis and are ideal for exploring the area;
3) Cordials available at all times;
4) We looked forward to breakfast every morning in the beautiful barn restaurant;
5) Complimentary ironing/pressing service available. We have stayed in numerous luxury properties and this complimentary service was a first in our experience; and
6) Another service that we would like to praise the White Barn Inn on is for calling every day to inquire if and when we wanted turndown service. We thought it was very professional and prudent.

Cons: The rooms are adequate for an inn, but must admit they could improve the following:
1) Technology is very outdated considering the expected standard of luxury. The TV screen is smaller than the average US household computer screen and the phone has a cord. Although we did not come to The White Barn Inn to watch TV, up-to-date technology should be a standard of exclusive Relais & Châteaux collection of the finest hotels;
2) There were a couple of stains on the carpet in the hall and by the bed (they should have been removed prior to check-in);
3) One really disturbing feature in the room is the air-conditioning unit – it is old and very loud; and
4) Another slight drawback is that the spa seemed understaffed or perhaps too small of space because it was difficult to schedule an appointment.

The real character of The White Barn Inn is in the service and restaurant. The service is excellent and the restaurant gives the inn its elegant ambiance. For this reason, we strongly support the “dinner” dress code and commend the White Barn Inn for turning away inappropriately dressed guests (as described in some of the other reviews) or providing a jacket for men. Personally, we do not want to enjoy an elegant dining experience surrounded by inappropriate guests and attire, especially given the price point. There is a time and place for everything!

Despite the cons, we had a wonderful stay enhanced by the personalized services and restaurant dining experience. However, perhaps the rate should be adjusted accordingly given the features not up to par with the expected standard of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CreativeExplorations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The White Barn Inn is a luxurious place to spend a night or two. The inn itself is a cosy building with a number of rooms, a beautiful lounge, the spa and the restaurant and there are other cottages located elsewhere in the grounds.

We stayed in a Queen spa suite and it was delightful. It was a large room with a geneorus bathroom - two sinks and a jacuzzi. The suite was beautifully appointed.

The Inn serves complimentary afternoon tea with a great selection of cakes, coffee and teas.

The outdoor pool is large and heated to just the right temperature to make swimming very comfortable. Iced tea and lemonade is served at the pool area.

We dined at the restaurant and the food was sensational. As was the breakfast.

The Inn is small which is part of its charm but if you are looking for a hotel with lots of facilities (gym, tennis courts etc) this may not be for you. But if you are looking for a luxurious place where you can take it easy and enjoy great food then the White Barn Inn is hard to beat.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Garth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We received a gift certificate for the White Barn Inn and were very excited to stay there. The room was $465 plus a $33 tax and fee charge! Imagine our surprise when we were led up to our room and opened the door to a tiny room, the television was barely bigger than my laptop screen!! My expectation was a lavish room with a jacuzzi (shower only!). Yes, there was a small bottle of champage and a bowl with 3 pieces of fruit in it but for $500?? We opted not to eat in the dining room since it was very pricey ($106 per person AND you had to wear a sportcoat). Breakfast was lovely. Anyway, my husband and I wanted to have a nightcap in the bar our last night there and we were not allowed in the bar area because we were not dressed appropriately!! We had on shorts and very appropriate shirts but we had to order a drink and drink it in the downstairs "living room"! Now, we were staying at the Inn at basically $500 a night and we couldnt have a drink there!! Needless to say, we would not recommend this Inn to anyone. Many, many more places you can stay for that price and get much better accomodations. The only great thing about this Inn was the staff that couldnt do enough for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights for a long weekend with another couple from Italy. The property is beautiful and exactly what one might expect and hope for in New England. Service was also very good in general -- the staff try to be as attentive and accommodating as possible.

However, given the price point and knowing the high standards of service at Relais & Chateaux properties in other parts of the U.S. and Europe, we were disappointed by how White Barn Inn fell short in two particularly egregious ways.

We drove up from Boston on a Friday morning. We understood that they would be unlikely to check us in, so we dropped off our luggage and told the front desk that we would be returning in the late evening around 10:30. They assured us that the desk is staffed 24 hours a day and it wouldn't be a problem. So imagine our surprise when we received a call from the the Inn at 10pm, asking if we were still planning to stay at the inn. It was unclear if some of the staff were just looking to leave early or they were planning to give our rooms away (which we had already paid in full for in advance), but either way it felt like we were being rushed to accomodate them. (One of the staff later tried to pass it off as being worried about us out in the rain. If that was really true, he did a poor job of expressing his concern on the phone).

The second issue was a housekeeping issue. On the first night we used the bath and turned the jacuzzi on, which left some residue behind. When we decided to use the bathtub again on the second night, we were speechless to see that the residue was still there -- housekeeping apparently didn't clean the bathtub.

The inn does appear to strive for good service, and the level in general is high, but the two instances created the impression that the service is manual-driven and not something they really understand and care about. It's a shame because it's a really charming place and has lots of potential.

The one exception in our assessment is the restaurant, which is located in the part of the inn that is the original barn - Staff during both breakfast and dinner were extremely attentive and accommodating without being intrusive, and the food was excellent. For dinner, we had the four course menu which is plenty of food after the amuse bouche, palate cleanser before dessert and the mignardises). Recommend the halibut and the lobster dishes.

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft suite, which is beautiful, but if you are super sensitive to noise or you go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ykwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grace White Barn Inn and Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Iwa_17,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share some details of your experience with us. I also want to thank you for your kind words about our Restaurant.


I am very sorry to hear that you felt that our attentive service was not heart felt. While I certainly understand how it may have felt to you, I assure you that my Assistant Innkeeper was most concerned about your arrival experience, given the rather severe rain.


We strive to provide a high quality service to our valued customers, and as you may imagine, it is very disappointing to us when we fail to meet your expectations or needs.

As you mentioned, we secure every reservation with a deposit and we will never overbook the hotel or resell a guaranteed room. We staff our desk 24 hours to assure that we can attend to our guests at any hour of the day.

I truly apologize if there was an oversight in the housekeeping service. Again we make every attempt to offer the very highest standards, especially in Housekeeping. To this end, we offer housekeeping service twice a day, once during the morning hours and once during the evening.


I would like for you to remember our Inn in a positive way. It would mean a great deal to me and the team if you would visit us again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

To facilitate this, I will add my contact information, so if you wish you may contact me directly.



Corinne Finn-Heyl

Innkeeper



manager@whitebarninn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very nice property with comfortable rooms in a great location. Friendly staff. Local friends tell us the restaurant is outstanding for dinner. We had an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlLuvr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine/New York
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

From the moment you enter the property, the excellent service begins. On a rainy night, a kind man with an umbrella greets you. Your coats are whisked away, and you enter a comfortable dining room with a rustic feel as you listen to a piano being played. The music isn't loud; it is just the right background for comfortable conversation. From the myriad assortment of bread to the "extra" desserts you are offered, the evening is one to be remember. The food is very good, not top-notch, but very good. But the evening is a memory you wont' forget. The tuna was a good portion and the monk fish tasted like lobster. The raviolo was just ok, but the lobster dish was plentiful and perfectly cooked. The cheese course is served, as it should be, room temperature and the quality of the cheese is divine. I didn't love the souffle, though. But you must go at least once in a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanCookTonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#5 of 8 in Kennebunk
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,394 reviews
17.5 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grace White Barn Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grace White Barn Inn and Spa

Property: Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Address: 37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grace White Barn Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. Grace White Barn Inn & Spa (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences... energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820's. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your Grace White Barn Inn & Spa experience is sure to bring everlasting memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grace White Barn Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me
Maine White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
Grace White Barn Inn And Spa Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing