We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Barn Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Wow - what a great getaway - I would highly recommend this hotel.

The rooms are very thoughtfully decorated and feature high quality linens, fixtures, bedding, bath amenities. The staff are beyond 5 star - when you walk in there were 3 staff members waiting to greet you! They even cleaned off our car when we were departing from our stay as it had been snowing out.

The restaurant was amazing - I really can't even describe it - there were 7+ courses and it was one of the best meals I've ever had.

This hotel is very expensive but for a special occasion I would definitely suggest you splurge and enjoy the White Barn Inn!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Njenk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    52
    34
    16
    19
See reviews for
21
207
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Very unhappy with our stay. We were forewarned the room was small, and that was fine since we booked quite late. That said, what was not fine:
1. Extremely noisy, smelly, cheap window air-conditioning unit
2. 100 degrees Fahrenheit in the corridor on the 3rd floor as hundreds of watts of lighting was left on all night even after we complained
3. Room door not closing tightly, bright lights from the corridor were illuminating the room at night...
4. Shower head improperly installed, spraying water all over the place, still not quite fixed after repair guy came
Yes the inn is overall attractive, quality linens you'd expect, a great outdoor pool area, decent food and drinks, nice afternoon tea service in the lobby, but that's expected given the high price. Will unfortunately not return and would not recommend to anyone used to Relais & Chateaux standards.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank el_cato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBIInnkeeper, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear el_cato,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us in August 2010. I sincerely regret that your experience failed to live up to your expectations of our Inn. Feedback and comments from our guests are important tools in our mission to exceed every guest's expectations.

As part of our effort to provide the finest facilities for our guests, our Main Inn has undergone a recent and extensive renovation. Everything is fresh and new apart from decorative antiques. As one would expect, we do have air conditioning throughout the hotel. The hallways might be slightly warmer than the temperature in our guest rooms due to the individual preferences of our guests.

Again, please accept my apologies for failing to exceed your expectations and I hope that we may enjoy the opportunity to have you visit us in the future so that we may favorably restore your impression of our Inn. Our beautiful White Barn Inn offers a wide variety of room categories and styles and I am confident that if, given the opportunity, we will be able to provide an exceptional experience of unquestioned value.

I would very much like work with you personally on a return visit. To facilitate this I will post my contact information here, so that should you wish to, you may contact me directly.
Thank you again for offering your thoughts.

Corinne Finn-Heyl
manager@whitebarninn.com
207-967-2321

Corinne Finn-Heyl

Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Five day splurge, two nights in Kennebunkport and two nights in Camden. White Barn Inn was wonderful, service was a little stiff and reserved. Rooms looked a bit dated and breakfast was not included. We had an amazing dinner at the inn and will most certainly come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalesale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Our stay at White Barn was exceptional. We had 3 staff members ask if they could help with our bags before we even got to the front door from the parking lot. The room in the main house was gorgeous--not overdone--and with a stunning bathroom. Our dinner did not dissappoint, including the fantastic lobster roles and perfectly cooked cod. We got the fiexed menu with the wine option, and the selections were well chosen and presented. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank learjetgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I were SO looking forward to a quiet weekend in Maine. Considering that we were visiting in the winter, the room at the White Barn Inn was a big part of our trip. We had hoped it would be relaxing. It was SO noisy in our room. I kept thinking that the banging and dragging sounds from upstairs had to stop soon, that they couldn't go on forever. But they went on from 9pm to 1am, then started up again in the early morning, waking us up. It was truly terrible. We live in a 100 year old wooden apartment building in the Boston area so we KNOW noise. For people like us to be writing about noise means something! I understand that the White Barn is also an old wooden building, and I could tell that things had been done to cut down on noise (wall to wall carpet, padding and who knows what else). It was just way too noisy for the price, it made our trip so much less relaxing and so disappointing. My memory from the trip is the constantly wondering what could possibly be going on upstairs. I was looking around our room wondering what they could be dropping on the floor. Suitcases full of clothes? I wanted, over and over again, to call the management but I just didn't see what they could do for us. I don't even know what to say other than this. I would suggest avoiding the White Barn Inn rooms completely, stay elsewhere and then eat at the White Barn Restaurant. That was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBIGM, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are very appreciative of all correspondence and guest feedback, as it helps us to become even better at what we do.
Thank you for the kind words about the restaurant. Please know that they will be shared with the team.
Most importantly, I would like to apologize for your interrupted night’s sleep. I am very sorry that we were not aware of the problem while you were with us. We have a number of different room types and locations that may have been suitable alternatives.
Due to the anonymous nature of Trip Advisor posts, I have only a limited way in which I may reach out to you. I would very much like to try and positively restore your impression of our rooms the next time that you visit our restaurant, so I will post my contact information here, so that should you wish to, you may contact me directly.
Thank you again for offering your thoughts.
Stuart E. Barwise
gm@whitebarninn.com
207-967-2321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

dining.....took two hours to retain taste , small black unidentifiable objects in drinks, broken glassware and china...
service...one server could not understand english, got order wrong, we had to wait and food was cold....on top of that he wrote up the bill incorrectly and wanted me to sign for the error and told us he would correct it later.
room.....small, uncomfotable, cold and tv was small and we could not comfotably watch from bed.
overall service....some customers were treated differently from others...very obvious and uncomfortable

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TAchiefadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WBIGM, General Manager at White Barn Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow me to begin by apologizing for failing to exceed your expectations, as that is our objective with each and every guest.
The vast majority of our guests enjoy a high quality and memorable experience. While problems do not occur often, we have found that when we are made aware of a disappointment during a stay that we are always able to respond in a manner that exceeds our guests expectations. I regret that we did not have this opportunity during your stay.
Due to the anonymous nature of Trip Advisor posts, I have only a limited way in which I may reach out to you. I would very much like to try and positively restore your impression of our Inn and restaurant, so I will post my contact information here, so that should you wish to, you may contact me directly.
Thank you again for offering your thoughts.
Stuart E. Barwise
gm@whitebarninn.com
207-967-2321
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed at the White Barn Inn for one night in mid-October, hoping for some great foliage. Unfortunately a quick storm had brought an end to the peak, but that was fine by us to enjoy the inn instead. We stayed in the Blue Room, which was fantastic. Some high points of the accomodations were the wood-burning fireplace (a rarety for hotels now), great soaking tub, and a most comfortable bed. I had some business issues to attend to while staying, which the reception staff handled with ease (mailing, faxing, receiving, etc) and allowed me to enjoy the time. The sitting room in the main building was nice in the afternoon on a rainy day. Breakfast was perfect as well, just the right amount of options on the buffet for a simple breakfast, great coffee and fresh juices. I will definetely be staying again. The area is bustling in the summer and fall, I think I'll go for a winter weekend and hide in the Blue Room for a while.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wholemilk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#13 of 26 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Barn Inn

Property: White Barn Inn
Address: 37 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennebunkport--jewel in the crown of the Maine Coastline, perfect for your own ideal stay. The White Barn Inn (a member of the prestigious Relais et Chateaux) offers sumptuous guestrooms that boast true luxury and comfort. Surrender to our full spa experiences... energize and beautify as our Spa Director creates your personal revitalization. And experience the only AAA 5-Diamond, Forbes 5-Star restaurant north of New York City. The setting is unique, encompassing two restored barns from the 1820's. Here savor the rich flavors of New England and coastal Maine. Your White Barn Inn experience will bring everlasting, fine memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your White Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Barn Hotel Kennebunk
Maine White Barn Inn
The White Barn Inn Kennebunkport Me
White Barn Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing