We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We have stayed in many, many, many B & B's around the country. We have stayed in several in Kennebunkport over the years, and many more along the Maine coast. Bufflehead Cove is by far our favorite B & B. We have stayed there several times and will always stay there when we are in Maine again. The rooms are wonderful--decorated individually and in great taste. The beds are very comfortable, and everything is spotless with all the amenities you need. The breakfasts are wonderful. The Gotts and their son, Aaron, are always eager to help you and make suggestions and reservations. We put Bufflehead Cove at the top of our favorite places to stay.

MLJ
Delaware

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 494 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2010

I am writing this review as I sit on their property in an adirondack chair under a shady tree by the Kennebunk River as the tide comes in. It is a truly glorious, secluded spot in this big world, a place where times seems to stand still. In addition to the inn receiving impressive reviews on line, a client of ours back home in Marblehead said it is an inn "you cannot miss". As expected, she was right on. We are staying in "The Hideaway", a private oasis with all the modern conveniences and windows of glass allowing the incredible outdoors in. The "suite" is spotlessly clean with THE most comfortable king bed, 2-sided fireplace (too hot to use right now) and an enormous, bright bathroom. As equally important as the accomodations is Erin (yes, spelled correctly), the son of the longtime owner/innkeepers, who has been the most hospitable and down-to-earth host. Having been raised on this "piece of heaven" property, he takes great pride in both ensuring a comfortable stay and in his absolutely delicious breakfasts. The dining experience is particularly enhanced when enjoying it on the back porch overlooking the river with its gentle morning breezes. Overall, our expectations were high and we were not at all disappointed. If you're aching to get away from the hustle and bustle of your every day routine, please do not miss an opportunity to visit this inn. You, too, will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Bufflehead is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We have enjoyed four wonderful visits at this magnicent B and B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjodilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

In the plane on our journey back home, my wife and myself tried to rank the seven B&B’s we visited during our recent trip through New England. At the end of our 8 hours flight we were only able to reach a consensus on one single point: …number one was ..The Bufflehead Cove Inn !
Not only because of the warm welcome we got from Harriet and Erin, the splendid view from the terrace, the peaceful surroundings or the cozy and elegant decoration throughout the house, but also for the charm and comfort of our large Garden room and its intimate private terrace, the tastefulness of the breakfasts, the excellent recommendations for dinners ( Nunan’s lobster hut in Cape Porpoise and Joshua’s in Wells…) and the always attentive but not intrusive behavior of our hosts. And we are not mentioning here the wine & cheese at our arrival, the flask of sherry in the room and all these small details that leave you the impression of true but unostentatious luxury.
Still we have a regret : our flight back was booked in advance … so that we were not able to extend our stay at the last minute… what a disappointment !!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDurrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Bufflehead Cove was reccommended to us by a friend who had stayed there two years previously, and we weren't dissappointed. It's a little off the beaten track, about a mile walk to the village, but the location is idyllic, being at the water's edge amongst many trees. We were made extremely welcome by the innkeepers, who provided us with a sumptious breakfast every morning, on the veranda overlooking the water. Our hosts were quick to offer advice on the local area, such as beaches, restaurants, etc, and every afternoon around 5pm we were treated to complimentary wine and cheese. The room was so beautiful, and the whole place was extremely clean, and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in! We cannot praise this Inn highly enough, it was a total delight.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliebluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The staff, site, inn and breakfasts were all superb. Quite a lovely getaway to enjoy and relax without being disturbed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalthamWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Winding our way down the tree-lined road to the Inn, it was like entering a different world. Positioned on the water's edge, Bufflehead Inn is as pretty as a picture. Reflections on the water later in the day provide a magical backdrop while enjoying the complimentary wine and cheese provided by the hosts. Harriett is a wonderful host, with a warm, friendly manner, and offering information when needed, but never imposing on the guests. The Inn is delightfully comfortable and the breakfast on the verandah was amazing. Highly recommended to anyone visiting this beautiful. Our only regret was that we had only booked a one night stay - if we had known how wonderful this place is we would have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backbeachtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#6 of 14 in Kennebunk
279 reviews
1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,799 reviews
3.6 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: $197 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast on the edge of Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing