We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B & B in Kennebunkport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful B & B in Kennebunkport”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had an idyllic weekend stay at the Bufflehead Cove B&B. Our room was large, but cozy, and beautifully appointed. The breakfasts were wonderful, creative, and satisfying. Our host, Aaron, couldn't have been nicer. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Garden Room was very comfortable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSR0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello prubin9, Thank you for your review of Bufflehead. We so appreciate it when our guests take the time to write to tripadvisor. We hope you visit us again soon. Warm regards, Harriet and Erin and all the staff at Bufflehead Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
382
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was the second time we stayed at the Bufflehead Cove Inn, and it was as wonderful as we remembered. We stayed in the Cove Room, which is comfortable and has a perfect little reading nook in front of a fireplace (and a nice little balcony for reading outside overlooking the river). We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacontessa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you La Contessa, It was good seeing you both again and we really appreciate the reviews you have done for tripadvisor. Please come and visit again. Warm regards, Harriet and Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the inn, where we staid in the River Cottage. It was the perfect combination of seclusion, charm and laid back luxury. The Cottage was absolutely lovely, with a gorgeous open concept living room with a fire place, adorable full service kitchen, large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, and a great deck to enjoy coffee and cocktails on. We took advantage of the kitchen, cooking a simple meal the first evening and just enjoyed the peacefulness and quiet the cottage provided. We did spend quite a bit of time at the cottage (due to less than perfect weather) and thoroughly enjoyed lazing about in front of the fireplace. Breakfast each morning was fantastic, and being able to enjoy it on the front porch overlooking the tidal river was wonderful. The french toast stuffed with apples, cinnamon, cream cheese and almonds was simply heaven. Our hosts were so welcoming, making sure we wanted for nothing. We would absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Spend the little bit extra and stay in the River Cottage, you won't be disapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porkslapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Porkslapgirl.... I love that title and am trying to figure out what it means. If we see you again you will have to tell me!
Thank you for the nice words. We enjoyed meeting you and your husband. It's always great to have Maine guests at the inn.
The weather was kind of yucky when you were here but thankfully we here in Maine are enjoying lovely June weather now. Have a good summer and hopefully we will see you again sometime. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I have been going to the Bufflehead Cove Inn since our first anniversary, 9 years ago. We stay in the Hideaway each year and I can't imagine spending it anywhere else. The amenities are incredible.The Bufflehead Cove Inn has the perfect combination of the privacy of a luxurious hotel with the coziness of a Bed and Breakfast. The views of the river are simply spectacular, be it morning, noon or night. The beds are so comfortable that the only thing that can rouse us from our "nest" is the anticipation of the breakfasts that are served each morning. Each day we are served a multiple course meal that encompasses sweet and savory flavors. From bananas foster and pineapple boat "starters" to asparagus cheese strata and apple stuffed french toast "main" dishes, every palate is sure to be satisfied. The hospitality of the staff and owners is unparalleled. Harriett, Jim and Erin make you feel like family from the minute you walk in. Whether you want solitude or to enjoy the company of new friends, you can find it at the Bufflehead Cove Inn. Each year when we reluctantly depart, we reserve our little haven for the following year so as not to miss out!!

Room Tip: The Hideaway has the feel of being a separate cottage even though it is attached to the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hey Erin B, We are missing you! Those two days pass by so fast.
Thank you so much for the nice words. We always enjoy seeing you two. Same time next year!! ( Did you ever see that movie?) Harriet and Erin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in the balcony room, which had everything; jacuzzi, fireplace, balcony overlooking the tidal river.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner. A lovely log fire was going in the living room fireplace. We were shown our room, which was amazing.

Breakfast each morning is between 8:30-9:30 pm, and is a creative presentation each morning. On our last morning we ate on the spacious front porch. What an absolutely delightful way to start a beautiful day.

Did not get to use the free bicycles, which I would like to have done. Reasonably priced. Looking forward to returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavalHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello, i remember your visit and your response to the view from the Balcony. I almost expected you to spend the day out there reading tons of books!
We enjoyed your visit and I too wish you had used the bikes... Were they not available or the weather wasn't good enough to go off with them? Next time we will put a 'reserve' on those bikes for you.
We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for the nice complements. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in early May and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Balcony Room and loved it. We were able to sit on the enclosed balcony on chilly mornings and have coffee. The location is fabulous and so is the food. You will not be sorry if you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hello Doug D, thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I wish you could see Kennebunkport now... the trees are finally leafed out, the fruit trees are in bloom and flowers are looking good in our gardens... early May always seems so bleak to me.
I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you come back to visit again soon. Warm regards, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I, both being in our twenties, visited Bufflehead Cove on the first weekend they were open this season. I read wonderful reviews here on trip advisor, as well as a small following on facebook and other forms of social media. This place definitely lived up to it's name.

The food was amazing, the family is wonderful, and advice was perfect when we were offered recommendations for dinner and outings. We went for a 3 mile run down town and back to the Inn which was beautiful and came back to relax in our very clean, comfortable, and homey room. I seriously can't recommend this place enough.

We stayed in the hideaway room, which has a large gorgeous bath, double sided fire place, beautiful sitting room with a wide set of windows overlooking the bay. We mentioned that we love our coffee in the morning before breakfast, one with sugar and one with just cream and Aaron went above and beyond our expectations. In the mornings he left our coffee, mugs, cream and sugar outside our door on the patio in a well insulated coffee pot so we could have our hot coffee right as we woke up!

The family who runs this place asked about our personal lives, knew a bit about us from our reservation and already had all sorts of wonderful questions. You just cant help but strike up a conversation while getting very helpful dinner recommendations!

If you want to stay in the area in a beautiful spot, look no further you have found it. We found that the other guests were very friendly as well, very like minded people, and got to strike up a conversation or two over breakfast on the front porch. It seems to attract the best of the best! Don't think twice before booking, you wont regret it!

We will be back soon! Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
You are so right about our wonderful guests! That certainly includes you two. Thank you so much for the review. I wish I was in St. Croix right now. Warm regards, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing