We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like something out of a dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Like something out of a dream”
Reviewed July 31, 2008

It is impossible to imagine a more perfect place.

I just had my wedding there this past weekend. I don't know how I can possibly articluate just how beautiful this spot is. I have attached photos of the ceremony - the think the view says it all.

The views are amazing, the rooms are luxurious, the breakfasts are gourmet, and each morning we had a variety of options on our plates, waffles, and bacon and frittatas, and scones....just unbelievable.

Most importantly though - I want to point out how wonderful Harriet the Innkeeper and her son, Erin, were the entire weekend. SO accomodating, SO friendly and helpful. It was almost as if Harriet wanted this wedding to be as special as I did, she was warm and generous, and concerned, and so incredibly easy to work with throughout the process.

We did have some wet weather in the weeks and days leading up to the wedding, and as a result we had a bit more water in the grass under the tent than we had hoped for....but the amazing thing was - the spot was so incredible, the wet field added to the special day - gave it some character - a dash a imperfect to complete the day of perfection. I can't tell you how many guest have told me that it was the most beautiful wedding they have ever been too (I definitely have the Bufflehead Cove Inn to thank for that).

My husband and I cannot wait to go back again next summer to really enjoy the peace and tranquility of the Inn. We can’t wait to just be able to relax by the river and enjoy more of the delicious breakfasts that Jim makes. The Bufflehead Cove Inn is really a special spot and Pete (my husband) and I feel so incredibly fortunate to have been able to begin our lives together there.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Disliked — That is had to end!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mandzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
382
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

This was absolute perfection! Harriet is the consummate hostess--warm and friendly and welcoming without being intrusive.

The setting is wonderful and Harriet provides all the extras which make an otherwise great visit over the top. The grounds were beautiful and flowers were used not only around the inn but to make food presentation even better. The breakfasts were delicious, wine and cheese were served in the evening, and we always found chocolate at turn down and music playing when we entered the room. The towels were thick and plentiful as were the extra pillows.

If you are looking for peace, pampering, beauty, and great food do not even think about going anywhere else but Bufflehead.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank chapter1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This Victorian Bed and Breakfast Inn is a jewel hidden along a winding dirt road in the woods on the banks of the Kennebunk River. It consists of five lovely bed rooms and a River Cottage in addition to the common area and a gorgeous wrap around porch where gourmet breakfasts are served daily.

Our entire family spent last weekend there at a family wedding and honestly believed we had died and gone to Heaven. By the time you leave, Innkeepers Harriet and Jim Gott ( the gourmet chef) and their drop dead gorgeous son, Erin, will feel like family to you. Their black lab, Lily, will snuggle up to you and make you miss the pets you left at home or the pets you wish you had.

The rooms are all lovely, with wonderful bedding, thick towels and robes and luxurious baths.. Most of the rooms have a view of the river meandering into the center of Kennebunkport.

The breakfasts were incredible, smoothies, fresh fruit, omelets, waffles, scones, wonderful breads,,,,

This place is a haven, a relaxing, romantic place to chill out, read a book, enjoy a glass of wine........Kennebunkport is within walking distance if you don't mind a half mile dirt road before you reach civilization.

We hated to leave and have already decided we are going back next summer!

  • Liked — Ambience and the Warmth of the Innkeepers and Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank buffleheadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We have been going to southern Maine every summer for the past 40 years, and have stayed at most if not all of the better establishments in the Kennebunkport and Ogunquit area. This place is the best of the best. It is nestled at the end of a quiet dirt road in a setting that can only be described as idyllic. The inn is exceptionally clean, and well run. The staff is friendly and seem to be smiling all of the time (I would be too if I lived in this place). We stayed in the balcony room which was magnificent. It is beautifully decorated and the views are to die for. Breakfast in the morning was always beautiful and delicious with extra attention given to any special needs or desires. We will never stay anywhere else in this area again other than this one. It is charming, romantic and leaves you wanting more.

  • Liked — The entire experience
  • Disliked — There is NOTHING not to like about this place!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jeffCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, MA
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2008

In a town full of unique and special B&Bs, we return to Bufflehead Cove annually. It's probably our favorite B&B anywhere, and we've travelled throughout the US and UK. Beautiful location, fine old house, great food and genuine hospitality.

  • Liked — Incredible location
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

This is the most amazing B&B I've ever stayed at. The location is great, not far from a very quaint town center that has cute stores and art shops. The inn's setting is idyllic, on a lovely cove with beautiful flowers, trees, great outdoor seating areas, and a nice huge lawn. It is a very romantic setting, especially if you stay at the very private river cottage, an amazing room! Well, it's a whole cottage, it's huge, and it's all yours. Absolutely worth the money, you will not be disappointed. (we've read that the next best rooms are the hideaway and the balcony)

I must mention the gourmet breakfasts, which are made with such care by Jim, it is a real treat, do not miss it. Best breakfast ever--egg dishes, blueberry pancakes, fresh squeezed juice, fruit, better than a restaurant.

The innkeepers are super nice, very helpful, and not intrusive at all. They really take pride in their inn, and it shows. It is very tastefull decorated and extremely clean. If you want to getaway for a weekend to relax, go to the beach (5 min. drive), or enjoy a classic New England town, stay here, you will not regret it. My husband and I had the most enjoyable weekend ever, too bad it was so short, we will definitely be back.

  • Liked — Private location, breakfast, romantic setting
  • Disliked — Nothing, this place is perfection.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed in the River Cottage at the Bufflehead Cove Inn the last weekend of May for a romantic getaway weekend. Everything about it was incredible. From the delicious breakfasts served on the front porch of the inn, to the turn down service, to the complete privacy, we couldn't ask for anything more. The cottage is beautifully decorated, and the winding staircase and fireplaced living room is truly awesome. Harriet Gott and her family were gracious hosts, attending to our every need. They were all sincerely pleasant and sociable. If you are looking for a quiet ,relaxing and romantic weekend, you don't have to look any further. It is very clean and very well taken care of and Harriet's attention to detail and personal taste makes this a one of a kind Inn. We will be back next year....sooner if I have anything to say about it.. : )

  • Liked — Just about everything!
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyles_Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing