We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Unforgettable Inn, beautiful and peaceful."”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbarton NH
1 review
“"Unforgettable Inn, beautiful and peaceful."”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently went to the Bufflehead Cove Inn for our anniversary. We usually choose an Inn that
is on the select registry list. This was the first year in 7 that we did not. We stayed in the River Cottage and it was large,comfortable and beautiful. It was well appointed with antiques and the most comfortable bed you can imagine. The kitchen had everything from close to a dozen cookbooks to all you would need to bake or cook. The deck had a Weber grill and a beautiful view of the river. Harriet payed very close attention to detail when designing and decorating and it was well appreciated by us. Harriet , her son Erin,and her sister were truly some of the nicest people we have ever met. We will return with great BIG smiles on our faces!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Maria D, thank you for the great complements. We too think you two are some of the nicest people we have met.
I am so glad you enjoyed the River Cottage and are planning to come back sometime in the future. You are not too far away.
Have a good winter, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
383
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed in the Garden room very peaceful and lovely. Breakfast was wonderful and the view breathtaking! Erin was the host and he was very hospitable. The pillows were the greatest, best night sleep I had in a long time. Loved the attention to detail. First time visit but not the last.

Room Tip: If you want privacy and private patio... stay in the garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Hi, thank you for your nice complements. I will pass them on to Erin when he comes in to work today.
We hope you do come to visit again sometime in the future. You will know the way to get here then, no getting lost in the village!
I hope the rest of your visit in Maine was restful and fun. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We highly recommend this Inn. We only stayed one night but were sorry not to be able to stay longer, Our room (The Garden Room) was very well appointed, comfortable and attractive, with a small garden terrace. The Inn is set in a lovely garden on the banks of the Cove. Breakfast was home cooked and delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We have owned this property for 39 years and I never get tired of the view or the setting. I really appreciate it when our guests too enjoy our property and the peace of the river. Thank you so much for your review. I hope you come back someday soon for a few nights. Warm regards from Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We recently had our first stay at Bufflehead Cove and it wont't be our last. The location is excellent. The inn is designed with guest relaxation in mind. Beautifully decorated and thoughtfully planned, every detail leads to a peaceful luxuriating state of mind. My husband said the breakfast was the best he ever had! Erin is a natural host.
We have stayed often in some of the top rated B&Bs in nearby towns and Bufflehead Cove is our favorite due to the genuine hospitality and serene vibe.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bornatravlingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We have the nicest guests! Thank you for your kind review. I will pass on your complements to Erin.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidewater Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What can I add to what hasn't already been written? Really nothing, except to echo the praise.

It is so hidden away (but yet so near to all the action) that our friends who have summered in Kennebunk for 10 years did not know it existed. We stayed in the beautiful Hideaway with it's incredible view. Erin and everyone in the family is just wonderful. Breakfast on the porch, during the glorious summer weather we enjoyed (we were very lucky), was scrumptous and the wine and cheese in the evening was also good. Perfect in just about every way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much eastcoastvoyager. We were pleased to have you as our guests and are glad you found us in this hidden away spot. We are also happy you liked the Hideaway room, as well as our breakfasts. We were all lucky to have the fine weather! Hope to see you again in the future. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It was our first time staying at a B&B and it was everything we hoped for and more! I loved how it was nestled down a little dirt road, right on the river, and yet so close to town! The owners and the staff were so helpful and nice. We stayed in the River Room which had a window seat to look out at the beautiful view of the river. We woke up and sat outside with our coffee watching the ducks come for their daily treat. Breakfast was set up beautifully on the porch each morning and was delicious! We also enjoyed the wine and cheese each day while relaxing in this gorgeous, well maintained home. You can't go wrong staying here! We definitely plan on going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traflabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi from Bufflehead Cove, thank you so much for the really nice review. Your comments about the breakfasts, the view and the ducks were fun to read. I worry that the ducks are so noisy in the early morning that they may not be enjoyed by our guests... so far, no complaints!
Enjoy your Florida winter and we hope to see you here in Maine again. Warm regards, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful and comfortable B&B, convenient to Kennebunks, and beaches yet off the beaten path. Beautiful porch where a delicious breakfast is served overlooking the river. Very friendly owner and staff. A great find! Paula

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We hope you return also. Thank you so much for the review. Staying in two different rooms can be fun. I have guests who have tried all our rooms and everyone has a favorite. As for the cookie jar... I just stole one.
Have a great rest of the summer and we hope to see you in the future. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,657 reviews
3.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing