We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It was our first time staying at a B&B and it was everything we hoped for and more! I loved how it was nestled down a little dirt road, right on the river, and yet so close to town! The owners and the staff were so helpful and nice. We stayed in the River Room which had a window seat to look out at the beautiful view of the river. We woke up and sat outside with our coffee watching the ducks come for their daily treat. Breakfast was set up beautifully on the porch each morning and was delicious! We also enjoyed the wine and cheese each day while relaxing in this gorgeous, well maintained home. You can't go wrong staying here! We definitely plan on going back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traflabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi from Bufflehead Cove, thank you so much for the really nice review. Your comments about the breakfasts, the view and the ducks were fun to read. I worry that the ducks are so noisy in the early morning that they may not be enjoyed by our guests... so far, no complaints!
Enjoy your Florida winter and we hope to see you here in Maine again. Warm regards, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
377
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful and comfortable B&B, convenient to Kennebunks, and beaches yet off the beaten path. Beautiful porch where a delicious breakfast is served overlooking the river. Very friendly owner and staff. A great find! Paula

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We hope you return also. Thank you so much for the review. Staying in two different rooms can be fun. I have guests who have tried all our rooms and everyone has a favorite. As for the cookie jar... I just stole one.
Have a great rest of the summer and we hope to see you in the future. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a fantastic B&B on the Kennebunk River. Each room is unique and well appointed. We stayed in two different rooms during our three nights here. The Garden Room is the only room that doesn't have a river view, but it is a relaxing oasis and nicely decorated. The River is the smallest room at the inn, but has a large window with a window seat facing the river, as well as a balcony. We also peeked into the Balcony room, which is my favorite. The pictures on the web site don't do it justice. And the Hideaway would be my second choice.

Breakfast on the porch was excellent every day. The evening wine and cheese was a nice touch, as was the stocked cookie jar. And the Inn provides beach chairs and parking passes.

When we booked this, we thought we would walk into town but the dirt road leading to the Inn is rather long and narrow so it was better to drive there and park. We never had an issue finding a parking space on the outskirts of town - and this was 4th of July weekend.

This is a great place for a romantic getaway and we hope to return!

Room Tip: Every room in great - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Mamarules, Thank you for your nice review. One thing that can be fun about moving around to different rooms is that because each room is very different than the other it becomes an adventure. We always hope that the adventure is fun!
We hope we see you again in the future. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in the cove room and it was absolutely beautiful. We were surprised to find a cute little balcony with a river view attached to the room. We were greeted by Erin and he was polite, helpful, and very pleasant. It is an understatement to say we enjoyed our stay very much because we were absolutely thrilled by it. It's tucked away in the woods and more peaceful than you could imagine with hammocks and chairs outside looking out onto the river. We booked a stay for next year before we had even checked out we loved it so much. Breakfast was delicious and the owner delightful and conversational. I can't rave enough about the place. My only disappointment was that it was only available for one night, I would have loved to stay much longer! 10 star, incredible value and more beautiful and quaint than you can get from the pictures :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoleJohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello from Bufflehead, thank you so much for your nice review. We are always so pleased when our guests enjoy their visit. Your complements mean a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you next year. You live so close to us that maybe we will see you sometime in Portland.
Have a great rest of the summer and a pleasant winter ( if that is possible!). Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Absolutely stunning setting and wonderful Inn, from the ever-changing tides..to the ducks there to greet you. Erin and Harriet are gracious charming hosts, that are willing to do anything for you. The breakfasts on the porch in the morning are fantastic. We stayed in the River room which is their smallest room..but still very nice and charming. The bathroom is a bit small, and there is very little closet space, but the wonderful views out the windows and our own little deck to over look the Kennebunk River and to hear the quacks of the ducks at dusk..more than made up for it. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! The attention to small details, like fresh flowers in our room, chocolate's at turn down service, and wine and cheese at 5:30 in the parlor made this Inn very special. We will for sure be returning!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Sometimes when the ducks are quacking away early in the morning I worry that our guests will be upset. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed hearing them ( at least in the evening!).
We hope we see you again in the future and wish you a wonderful summer. Harriet and all of us at Bufflehead Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a beautiful setting on the water. Rooms are comfortable and we had a small deck to sit out on and have our coffee in the morning. Owners are very attentive and yet you have plenty of privacy. Breakfast on the covered porch in the morning was such a treat. Breakfast was delicious and plenty to eat. Coffee excellent. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We chose the Cove Room - very nice with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patginvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello, Jerrie's friends? That's an educated guess based on your review of the Hartstone ( one of my favorite places). Thank you for the review. Maybe we will see you sometime on a foodie tour. It was fun having you here. Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Bufflehead Cove Inn is situated in a tranquil and picturesque location, a few minutes drive from Kennebunkport and its amenities. Breakfasts were to die for, and nothing was too much trouble to Erin and Harriet, they even organised an emergency dentist for us! The highlight of the visit was a fishing trip with Erin in his boat.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the garden room (the decor has been updated since the web photos and is stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainehatty, Owner at Bufflehead Cove Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We were more than happy that the dentist worked out for you. I can only imagine how uncomfortable you would have been.
Erin says, "Thank you" for the nice complement about his guiding business. He also farms oysters. His a busy lad... running the inn, taking out fishing parties and raising oysters.
We enjoyed meeting you both and are happy that your time here was pleasant. We hope to see you again.
Have a nice summer, Harriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at English Meadows Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#5 of 26 in Kennebunkport
627 reviews
0.6 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing