We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bufflehead Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
“Our Home Away from Home”
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We have been staying with Harriet and Jim at Bufflehead annually for the past 14 years. When staying here you feel like you are part of the family. The location is perfect for accessing all of Southern Maine. We love the Hideaway best, though there isn't a room that isn't delightful on its own. The breakfasts are always wonderful. Harriet can guide you to all of the best places to tour. Erin will find a perfect place for you to enjoy a great meal. They also attract
really friendly guests. We are from Seattle and we consider
Bufflehead our home away from home in the East. We give the Inn our highest recommendation.

  • Liked — Innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PabloHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
390
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

My wife & I stayed at the bufflehead cove inn on the 1st night of our honeymoon, having flown into Boston earlier the same afternoon.
We arrived in the dark - about 8, and even then didn't have any problems finding the place, even though it is "down a small unlit lane"
The garden room we'd booked was perfect, as no doubt all the other rooms are - the attention to detail was fantastic, without being over fussy.
It was only next morning however, that we saw what makes the bufflehead cove inn really stand out, and that's It's location - surrounded by woods & gardens, on the banks of a tidal creek.
Breakfast (blueberry muffins, fresh fruit salad, bacon & eggs, cinnamon bread, fresh fruit smoothie, & all the tea & coffee you can drink) was taken on the veranda, overlooking the water, with only the sounds of birds & chipmonks to disturb you.
You can see the bridge into Kennebunkport from the veranda (It's about a mile away) which'll give you an idea of Its location.
Overall, we both had a fantastic time, and a very positive introduction to American hospitality. Our only regret was that we didnt turn up a few hours earlier to enjoy cheese & Wine @ 4pm on the veranda, and that we didnt stay for at least 2 days.

  • Liked — Location & service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10-Kilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2007

My partner and I are very well travelled and are use to staying at the best hotels in the world. The Bufflehead Cove is AMAZING!! The owners know what they are doing. They are very helpful, the rooms are great (I recommend the balcolny room), and the breakfast was spectacular. We met some very nice people and we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimiluMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We travel extensively and Bufflehead Cove is one of our favorite Inns. The Innkeepers are always pleasant and accomadating and the breakfasts are fabulous. The Inn fronts the river which we find very relaxing. The accomadations offer variety and are well maintained. It is a short ride to the picturesque town of Kennebunkport with great shops, restaurants and other activities. We stay at this Inn every year and have every intention of returning.

Gene & Lori
Greenwich, Connecticut

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CabanaB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

From the moment I turned down the well maintained gravel road toward Bufflehead Cove Inn on the tidal Kennebunk River leading to the Sea, until I had to drive out three days later- the experience was one of idylllic pleasure. First, the very private location of this tastefully appointed Inn sits on six lovely acres bordering the river. But- most importantly, the ambiance, warmth,and service provided by the affable owners, Jim and Harriet Gott, made my experience one I will savor forever.
I was booked in the Balcony Room with its beautifully hand painted walls and a glassed in private balcony overlooking the river. The fireplace gave a glow of warmth and serenity after a lovely day at the beach and the "Port" (as Kennebunkport is fondly referred to) - and a lingering bath in the sumptious tub prepared me for a quiet evening listening to the sounds of the water and nature as I settled in for the night. The next morning I awoke to the sounds of sea-birds, and watched early morning kayakers ply the glassy water of the river. One of Jim Gott's delicious and artistically plated breakfasts was served on the wrap around veranda. with freshly baked muffins adding to the wonderful aromas of the coffee. Fresh squeezed juice and/or special smoothies are served with Jim's special recipes each morning.
Harriet's artistic abilities are apparent throughout the Inn - from the imaginative wall paintings to the lovingly collected antiques and beautiful fresh flowers throughout the inn. Games and books in the main room provide interests for all ages, and the afternoon wine and cheese gathering gives the opportunity to mingle with other guests - plus the owners. The Gotts are Kennebunkport natives, and they provide a wealth of history and information about the area. They are also pretty good with booking the best seats in restaurants for dinner. For me, it was the quintessential country inn experience - peaceful,beautiful, homey and relaxing with a warmth and unobtrusive service rivaling five star hotels I have experienced in my travels. I hope to return one day soon - but until I do, the memories of this special place will soothe my soul and give pause to reflect after a hectic day that there is a place where life really is as it should be. Don't miss this - it will renew your spirit and energize you with a strength that comes from appreciating and contemplating beauty and Nature in the truest sense. Bufflehead Cove really is among the best of the best when it comes to country inns!


  • Liked — Equally my room - the owners - the location
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nztraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Just spent a lovely weekend in The Hideaway at the Bufflehead Cove Inn. The price was $265 per night, but the lavish accomodations were worth it. Large comfortable king bed with more pillows than you could ask for -- and different levels of pillow firmness to choose from, ensuring a restful night. A two sided gas fireplace added to to romantic atmosphere along with a large jacuzzi tub in the highly mirrored bathroom. Super clean, well maintained rooms in a picturesque, waterfront setting, with skylights in the bedroom and the bathroom. Wireless Internet signal varied in intensity, at times no connection was possible. Mini refrigerator kept drinks cold and refreshing. Breakfast was great the first day, good the second day. Tiny TV set with a VCR player, but we weren't there to watch television, so who cares. We did listen the Bose radio which has a remote control so you can operate it from the bed. There is a good selection of books and magazines in the Hideaway for guest enjoyment as well.

  • Liked — Lavish and comfotable
  • Disliked — Poor Internet access, tiny TV set
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank resumeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
1.6 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
Maine Stay Inn and Cottages
#4 of 26 in Kennebunkport
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bufflehead Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bufflehead Cove Inn

Property: Bufflehead Cove Inn
Address: 20 Bufflehead Cove Ln, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bufflehead Cove Inn is Kennebunkport Maine lodging at its best. Visit this intimate Bed and Breakfast in Kennebunkport Maine today to experience the serenity and seclusion of waterfront lodging. Secluded and private, the Bufflehead Cove Inn is the perfect destination for summer vacations, rejuvenating weekend getaways, or simply a trip to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bufflehead Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bufflehead Cove Hotel Kennebunk
Bufflehead Cove Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing