We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently fine at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Waldo Emerson repeatedly over a four-year period, while visiting family in the area. I gave them a 5-star review after our first visit and am doing so again, on multiple counts: First, there is the housekeeping. This may not be the most elaborate inn you ever visit (don't expect name toiletries), but I will venture to predict it is the cleanest. Second, there is the breakfast -- huge, satisfying, personalized as needed. John is the head chef, responsible for fluffy Dutch pancakes and fancy egg dishes, but Kathy's granola is a standout. Third is the house itself -- cozy, charming, decorated with lovely handmade quilts, nicely located between Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. Finally, there is the spirit of hospitality that permeates everything. Want a large room with a fireplace? A restaurant recommendation? Directions to the Kittery Outlets? Kathy and John will provide them. And if you accidentally leave your slippers under the bed (as I did on our last visit) the inn will send them back to you Priority Mail! The mattresses could be firmer, but that is really our only gripe -- and a small inconvenience compared to the many large advantages of staying at this delightful inn.

Room Tip: Several rooms have fireplaces -- very cozy in winter.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyBmillvalley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in the inn for two nights. The area of Kennebunk is beautiful and close driving distance to Portland and other must sees in Maine. Kathy and John were wonderful hosts. The Inn is a unique historicall building. It is a story to hear! Our room was the Red Room and it was immaculate. I can't even begin to describe the scrumptous breakfasts we ate each morning. Fantastic bed and breakfast and great conversation! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinRugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This B&B is not to be missed. The history of the Waldo Emerson house is fascinating. John and Kathy are so knowledgeable about every aspect of it. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The house is decorated beautifully, especially the dining room where the table is set with fine china. They serve an incredible breakfast to you on that china which makes you feel pampered and treated like royalty. As for things to do and local attractions, John gives his honest and informed suggestions about what to see and where to eat. He helps to steer you away from tourist traps. Overall, the place is wonderful and we wish we had more time there!

Room Tip: The Blue Room! (Actually, any color is great.)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boulderskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed John and Kathy's wonderful inn for a one night stay. It was a lovely little inn with a great history. Delicious breakfast and warm hospitality. We stayed in Ralph's Library. A nice little room on the first floor.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsfor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice spot in a picturesque town. Excellent breakfast and enjoyable stay. The hosts do their best to make your stay pleasant in this historic home. Learn the history of the olest home in the area and interesting stories of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

John, Cathy and Waldo are the quintessential hosts for this top quality bed and breakfast. The rooms were impeccably clean and the breakfasts are absolutely the best.Our traveling group has been all over the states and Europe, the Waldo Emerson takes a back seat to no one.

Room Tip: Corner room with the king bed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Americandiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Please John and Cathy accept our apologies for waiting that long before we write a review.This is the third time in a row we come to them and this tells it all. John's breakfats are just supercalifragilidiexpialidocious. Cathy is a wonderful host and Waldo ( their dog ) likes to go the beach, I mean the bank, errr I mean the beach...
This inn is just wonderfully decorated and maintained. Cleanliness is top notch. And the bikes are in the garden, free to be used by the guests !
We do wish ourselves many happy returns to the great inn !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipianophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kennebunk hotels
2.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
296 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
2.6 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
276 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#5 of 14 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 108 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: $147 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldo Emerson Inn is a colonial style inn listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A restored shipbuilder's manse located next to the Kennebunk river with all the latest amenities including working fireplaces for a relaxing romantic getaway. Let us pamper you with our terrific Dutch breakfast and afternoon tea in the Inn's historic parlor or in the shade of our large oak trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldo Emerson Hotel
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed And Breakfast Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing