We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at this old inn!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Shawangunk Mts, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay at this old inn!!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was a very nice stay. The rooms were neat and clean! The room rates are fantastic compared to other B & B's in the area! The food was good as well as the hosts. Free wi-fi and a big screen TV. I would recommend this B & B to anyone traveling in the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacknjill414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    23
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our stay exceeded expectations. The inn keepers...John and Kathy...were the most accomodating hosts with which we have had the pleasure staying. Kathy made sure we knew everything there was to do in the area...and John cooked some of the best breakfasts we have ever have...period! The B&B itself...which I think is the oldest building in town is kept up well, everything works(new bathrooms) and is conveniently located. A great value and experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My mom and I really enjoyed staying at the Waldo Emerson Inn. The hosts are exceptional-- they spend a lot of time with each group that arrives, telling the history of the house and all about Kennebunkport. We especially appreciated Kathy's recommendations for things to do/see and places to eat around town. Our room was perfect- beautifully decorated and with quaint nuances of such a historic home. Breakfast was delicious and it was fun sitting at the large dining room table with several other groups, so that we could all chat and hear about each others' vacations. Another plus- wonderful homemade granola that you can even purchase to-go (recipe included!) Loved!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stmbleine0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

overall I was very impressed with this bed and breakfast! the breakfast was unbelievably delicious every morning, the bedrooms were comforting and clean, the chairs out in the lawn were an awesome place to hang out, and the atmosphere was so relaxing! I highly recommend anyone to stay here (especially in the Waldo room)! I can easily give the Waldo Emerson inn 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorL1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I spent last night at the Waldo Emerson Inn and the only regret that we have is that we could not stay longer. It is a beautiful inn with a very rich history, which John and Cathy will share with you. The rooms are beautiful with old time charm, but also with modern day comforts (our private bathroom looked newly renovated and we were grateful for the AC on a very hot evening). I loved the fresh flowers on the antique dresser and the beautiful Amish quilt on our so comfy bed. The quilt shop next door had some amazing pieces and we will be coming back someday for one :-) Breakfast was amazing, and it was a pleasure to meet our fellow guests around the table. The time and care put into the preparation and serving of our breakfast was an unexpected delight.

You can tell that John and Cathy love what they do and that they truly care about making the best possible experience for their guests. They and their little dog Waldo were a pleasure :-) We hope to come back for a more extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

It was a dark and stormy night...really! My husband, mother-in-law and I were making our way down the Maine coast on the way back from a family gathering in Canada to our home in CT, and the weather was foul. We just pulled off the highway and drove, until we saw this lovely bed and breakfast, all lit up in the rain. Despite the fact that it was after 9 at night, John the innkeeper happened to be bringing bottles of water in for the guests when we drove in. He had two perfect rooms for us and gave us quite a discount as it was a last minute booking in June. The rooms were beautiful, the beds comfortable, and John and Kathy's breakfast in the morning (apple "flapjes," a Dutch specialty courtesy of John, chocolate chip pancakes and sausages arranged in the shape of a smiling face) was a work of art. The unexpected bonus came in the form of neighbor James Hunt Barker, owner of the neighboring Wedding Cake House, who joined us at breakfast and then gave us a tour of his property. As an art dealer in Palm Beach, "Jimmy" had an amazing and eclectic collection of art, antiques and furniture that made the morning tour the highlight of our trip. His wonderful stories and pearls of wisdom are something I'll always remember. Thank you to these lovely innkeepers and their loquacious neighbor for making this port in the storm into an amazing adventure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NESunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Maine, where we celebrated our first year wedding anniversary. We spent the first night of our trip at the Waldo Emerson Inn in the Ralph's Library room. The room itself was cozy and was nicely decorated, fitting in nicely with the rest of the inn. Although, it was located on the first floor, and right next to the kitchen, so it was a bit noisy. We could hear the squeaky floorboards from the rooms above (although, this is to be expected in an inn as old as this one!), and could hear commotion taking place in the kitchen. We could also hear people out on the lawn, as our window looked right out to the lawn chairs. Although, this will probably not be a problem from here on out, as it was only an issue for us as we had our windows open since the AC units had not yet been installed. The noise was not an issue for us and does not change my opinion of this inn. I just note it as it may be an issue for some people. I think that we will probably try to stay in a second floor room next time anyway, as the rooms there are a bit more spacious. Besides that, the food was fantastic, the innkeepers were very helpful and friendly, and the inn itself was lovely and full of history.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNDoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
2.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
275 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 108 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldo Emerson Inn is a colonial style inn listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A restored shipbuilder's manse located next to the Kennebunk river with all the latest amenities including working fireplaces for a relaxing romantic getaway. Let us pamper you with our terrific Dutch breakfast and afternoon tea in the Inn's historic parlor or in the shade of our large oak trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldo Emerson Hotel
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed And Breakfast Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing