We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Anniversary Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Getaway”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Maine, where we celebrated our first year wedding anniversary. We spent the first night of our trip at the Waldo Emerson Inn in the Ralph's Library room. The room itself was cozy and was nicely decorated, fitting in nicely with the rest of the inn. Although, it was located on the first floor, and right next to the kitchen, so it was a bit noisy. We could hear the squeaky floorboards from the rooms above (although, this is to be expected in an inn as old as this one!), and could hear commotion taking place in the kitchen. We could also hear people out on the lawn, as our window looked right out to the lawn chairs. Although, this will probably not be a problem from here on out, as it was only an issue for us as we had our windows open since the AC units had not yet been installed. The noise was not an issue for us and does not change my opinion of this inn. I just note it as it may be an issue for some people. I think that we will probably try to stay in a second floor room next time anyway, as the rooms there are a bit more spacious. Besides that, the food was fantastic, the innkeepers were very helpful and friendly, and the inn itself was lovely and full of history.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNDoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    22
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This B&B is a gem! My husband and I stayed at the inn for a weekend getaway in April 2012 and we could not have asked for a better experience. The innkeepers were knowledgeable (they gave excellent restaurant suggestions), kind, and told some great stories over breakfast! We loved our new friend, Waldo the dog, too! The inn itself is in a quiet area, but is just minutes from downtown Kennebunkport - a perfect location for a romantic weekend. We will definitely stay here again if we get the chance!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We love staying at bed and breakfasts! Each has it's own personality and history, as do it's innkeepers. The Waldo Emerson Inn is romantic and cozy with it's fireplaced rooms and comfortable beds with lovely quilts and engaging innkeepers. We LOVE an escape from TV where we can enjoy each other and the quaint, antique decor and beautiful coastal Maine sights. John and Kathy are warm, interesting hosts and a wealth of information about the surrounding area. How can you not enjoy Waldo, who sweetly greets you with his toy, then goes back to his little bed? The breakfasts are sumptuous and fill you up until dinner time. You won't have to take time away from your shopping and sight seeing for lunch! We love to explore the coastline of Maine - the beaches, the rocks and ocean - and this is a perfect home base. We've been staying at B&B's for years, and this is the only place we've stayed more than once. We have stayed at another B&B in Kennebunk, but chose to return to this inn for it's warmth and quintessential New England charm. (Who needs or wants "chic" Soho in Kennebunk, Maine??!!) We have stayed in the Blue Room and Yellow Room and would definitely go back to the larger Blue Room because the bathroom in the Yellow Room is pretty tight. But, both bathrooms are well maintained with up to date facilities. If you want all modern amenities, you shouldn't be staying in an historic New England Inn! All in all, we choose B&B's for the history, relaxing comfort & ambience of the inn and innkeepers and, of course location! The Waldo Emerson Inn has it all!

Room Tip: This is a busy street, so rooms in the back of the inn are quieter, though this isn't an issue i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

What a lovely place to spend Christmas weekend 2011. We were in town to visit with family over the holiday and were looking for a romantic get-a-way in the town where we were married this past summer. This is it. The hosts are knowledgable about the special piece of history they own and operate. We loved the initial historic tour-when we checked in --Ralph Waldo Emerson summered here. The owners are helpful, hospitable, and the B and B atmosphere they have created is romantic, authentic New England styled, and a unique place for rest and relaxation. We loved the fireplace in our room and the books (even Emerson's work). This is a special place, we are already trying to think about when we can go back, perhaps in February for my birthday!

Room Tip: We stayed in Blue Room; we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailboatbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killen,al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My wife and I had the privilege of staying at the Waldo Emerson Inn during the 2011 Christmas Prelude weekend, and we had such a wonderful experience that we have already reserved our room for the 2012 Prelude weekend! John and Kathy are such gracious hosts, and they are truly interesting to talk with. Breakfast was wonderful each day...homemade granola, Dutch pancakes, Belgian toast, fresh fruit...Maine blueberry juice, sausage, amazing! John and Kathy are great navigators as well, as they provided plenty of information to guide us seamlessly on our day trips to Portland, Kittery, York Beach, Freeport, Portsmouth, and Boston. Waldo is the third host of the Inn, their four-legged host! There were beautiful hardwoods, comfortable beds with amazingly soft linens and pillows, logs for the fireplace in our room, chocolates left on our dresser, and amazing Christmas decorations and the creature comforts of home! 5 STARS! Kennbunk and Kennbunkport have intriguing histories, and the homes are magnificent, especially the Waldo Emerson Inn! Please disregard Hawkeyemother's rant about not having a TV and not wanting to meet Waldo...a TV is available upon request for your room, and do you come to a New England inn to watch television anyway? The Inn's namesake and resident poodle is highly intelligent, friendly, and pure fun to play with! To negatively review a truly unique and historical inn, along with it's gracious, beaming hosts, who pull out all stops to ensure that your stay is memorable, for me as a Southerner, represents the epitome of rudeness. LONG LIVE THE WALDO EMERSON INN...5 STARS!

We will always stay here when in Maine, our newest annual Christmas tradition. God blessed us with new friends in Kathy and John, and your stay will be just as memorable. Thanks for providing the perfect, four-day weekend and a special memory to this Alabama couple.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hodgepodge1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This year was our second stay at the Waldo Emerson Inn. Our most recent visit was for the Christmas Prelude in Kennebunkport. Despite the cold weather outside, the Inn could not be more warm and inviting. John and Kathy are wonderful. The Inn is beautiful and full of history. We travel with our two small children and despite their occasional outbursts, we always felt comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious!! We love the antique charm of this B&B and would recommend it to anyone looking for a bit of coziness and relaxation during their travels!

PS...Merry Christmas Waldo! xo. Gabe and Cecilia

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

John & Kathy are so sweet and incredibly thoughtful. Kathy gave us great suggestions for places to go & John's breakfast was amazing! We definitely will be back. This is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, cozy place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
2.1 mi away
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
1802 House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Kennebunkport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 108 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldo Emerson Inn is a colonial style inn listed on the National Register of Historic Places. A restored shipbuilder's manse located next to the Kennebunk river with all the latest amenities including working fireplaces for a relaxing romantic getaway. Let us pamper you with our terrific Dutch breakfast and afternoon tea in the Inn's historic parlor or in the shade of our large oak trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waldo Emerson Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldo Emerson Hotel
Waldo Emerson Inn Bed And Breakfast Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing