We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franciscan Guest House
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and comfortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

I recently stayed at the Franciscan Guest House with a family member. We both greatly enjoyed staying there because the lodgings were comfortable and grounds were very beautiful and peaceful. Our dormitory-style room had two twin beds, and while small, had such basic amenities as a refrigerator and AC. The room and private bath were spotlessly clean. The hotel seems to attract a quieter clientele, and we were never bothered by noise in the halls or partying in the rooms. Probably what we enjoyed most was the salt water pool. The Franciscan Guest House is an excellent choice for quiet, no-frills lodging.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qqchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
40
48
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

We have been guests here dating back to the 1960's. Previously, this was a clear bargain in the K'Port area and thus we were quite willing to overlook the various shortcomings. But now they have raised their rates to market rates and thus deserve an appropriate level of scrutiny. The price is that of an average Hampton Inn and should measure up accordingly. It fails on many fronts.
Let's start with the worst: breakfast. Management proudly points to the extensive breakfast buffet included in the room price. Indeed, quantity is not an issue. It is quality that is lacking. The monastary and its kitchen staff are Lithuanian, as am I. The breakfast underscores the main failings of Lithuanian "cuisine" (an oxymoron if there ever was one). All food, especially baked goods and meats, are cooked into perfectly tasteless, dessicated matter. Yes, there are 100 different "cakes" on display for breakfast. But all are minor variations on the same inedible theme. And there can be no doubt that this prodigious volume is recycled from one day to the next. Try to wash it down with the "coffee" and you will find the slightly brown colored liquid short of what most Americans would consider coffee. Management would be advised to abandon the "home-cooked" approach in favor of procuring some moist, edible, flavorful muffins from the nearest Walmart.

The rooms have not been updated since the 1960's.

The dining room is "air conditioned" by a single window unit intended for a small room.

There is no ice machine. Guests are provided the opportunity to purchase ice.

The "wedding facilitiy" is the former high-school's basketball gym whose floor has not been varnished in a quarter century.

All in all, a pathetic performance. Charge market rates, bring yourselves up to market expectations. Provide an inferior product, roll back your prices by 50%.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonsieurPamplemousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kennebunk hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Good Morning

We would like to thank you for making our stay such a delightful one. Your guest-houses are beautifully located and the rooms are immaculate. We will definitely be repeat visitors and will be sending you our friends. Hope to see you again very soon.

L. Bari.
Montréal

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155032Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

I have stayed at the Franciscan Guest House for a number of years and it is always a clean, safe, welcome and economical choice. They have simple, old fashioned rooms which are clean. It is less than 3/4 mile walk to the ocean or they give you a guest pass to drive and park. The breakfast is wonderful and included in the rate, except for certain items like oatmeal. It is a good choice for getting around town too - walking distance to shops and restaurants. The beds are fine - a little old fashioned but a good night sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ToniMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Spent 2 nights there over Memorial Day Weekend with my wife and toddler. The location and grounds are wonderful and , compared to other nearby accommodations, the price is right. The monastery was formed, and apparently still run, by Fransicans from Lithuania, from which much of the friendly staff appeared to have come. A very nice breakfast is included and, for $17 per person, delicious buffet style dinners are offered which are heavily influenced by eastern European cuisine. Even if not staying at the Guest House, I would recommend trying the dinner for a unique and delicious change from the usual local fare. The main guest house was built in the late 50's and, to be fair, much of it appears not to have been changed or updated since then, with dark wood paneling, rather worn, dark carpet and well -used furnishings. But, as this is a non- profit hotel, I was not too surprised. Overall, the building might use some repair , but, the bed linens were clean , room was equipped with the fundamentals, and it was no big deal to obtain additional towels as needed from the linen closet located by the office. Rooms do not have microwaves, coffee makers or refrigerators. There is free brewed coffee available by the main office and microwaves situated in public areas for the use of guests. There is a nice non-heated swimming pool which is fed by the nearby ocean. The staff thoughtfully assigned to us a room situated off by itself , so that other guests might not be disturbed by our young child. I expect that noise from adjacent rooms travels easily but , to the extent possible and upon request, , expect that the staff would move you if needed. A computer with internet access is located by the main office for guest use. So, in sum, if you wish to spend most of your stay in the room, you likely would be better served by more expensive accommodations at one of the nearby B & B's or hotels. If you seek a basic, no frills, affordable room in which to bathe, relax and sleep in between trips to the nearby beaches and touring the local sights, I would recommend the Franciscan Guest House.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank koyaanisquatsi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

If you're looking for room service, plush accommodations, or fancy wines then you should pass this place by. If you're looking for friendly, clean, plain, comfortable, quiet, home cooking, spacious grounds suitable for walks and contemplation and all of this at a very reasonable price then this guest house will be a hidden treasure that you have discovered. My wife and I will go out of our way to stop here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoralAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

A lovely guest house with friendly staff and happy guests that return year after year. The breakfast has everyhing you could imagine and the evening meal offers good value for money. If it's peace and tranquility you're after, with the beach a 5 minute walk away, then you'll enjoy your stay!
Sarah

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Guest House

Property: Franciscan Guest House
Address: 26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable option for the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area. The hotel offers simple, plain, comfortable guest rooms for young families, seniors and anyone on a budget. Located next to the beautiful St. Anthony's Monastery Grounds with 44 acres of trees, rolling lawns, picnic tables, riverside walking path, shrines and wildlife. Only 15 minute walk to the beach. Or if you wish to drive, parking permits are available for a small fee. The continental buffet included with your room, with an upgrade to hot breakfast available for a small fee. Amenities include outdoor saltwater pool, free parking, A/C's, mini-refrigerator in all rooms. Supper by our Lithuanian cooks available in peak season. The hotel is a little oasis of peace and tranquility between Docks Square and the Kennebunk beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Franciscan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Guest House Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Guest House Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing