We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightfully different” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franciscan Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Franciscan Guest House
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delightfully different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a gem. Beautiful grounds, clean rooms, enough modernity to make it very comfortable, Such good value for money, superb breakfast, a peaceful retreat where materialism and tips are relegated to background irrelevance. Supposedly non-profit making ( I believe this) you come away with a rosy outlook on people. One of the best value for money places ever, the work they are doing to make you feel welcome inspires you to to leave larger donation than if heavily prompted. If ever we come back to this town we will make sure to book well ahead to get a room here. You can keep your fancy over-priced accommodation in this town, this would be my choice even after a lottery win.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
40
48
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weare, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I appreciate simplicity and serenity-- two qualities we found at the Franciscan Guest House, which is adjacent to a monastery with lovely walking paths and a view of the Kennebunk River. I have had a stressful, hectic summer, so enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the quiet of the woods and shoreline. The rooms are clean, bathrooms amply sized and the beds about average for commercial mattresses. There was little hallway noise. Each morning, for $3, we enjoyed a hot breakfast with Lithuanian specialties in the dining room below the main guest house. Guests ranged from young families to retired folks. All enjoyed the proximity to a clean beach, and Kennebunkport shops and restaurants, a ten minute walk away.

Room Tip: The main guest house is a converted school. No frills! Seems more spacious than the rooms in satelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodentent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
200 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just returned home from a weekend stay at the Franciscan guesthouse. The location is great it is just a 15 min walk in to town where the shops are a 15 minute walk to the beach. The grounds are very nice with paths that take you around to different statues or out to the river, it is a very peaceful place. The rooms are not so great though. They are just like staying in an old dorm room. Wood paneling on all the walls , small. Tv and old mattresses. The rooms were clean though I was freaked out when I got out of the car by the room and noticed rat traps around the building. Breakfast was o.k nothing special. It cost us $170 a night for a room with a queen bed which was too expensive for the accommodations. If they spent some money on renovations to update the rooms they would have a special place to stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

While the property is prime location, within walking distance to town and the beaches, the Franciscan Guest House has a lot to be desired. You feel like you are living in a dorm room all over again, but this time the rooms are musty, outdated, and in desperate need of new mattresses. I was aware that this was not a jaw dropping resort nor was it going to have the frills of a hotel. Parking is poor at the guest house, and with three little kids in tow, trying to park and carry in luggage was quite a chore. The continental breakfast is nothing to rave about. You are better off bringing cold cereal for your room.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dream530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kennebunk hotels

Greenfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I can't believe the good reviews this place has received. I stayed there June, 2012 and I could barely breath the room was so musty. This was on the second floor of the main house. I asked the worker to come smell my room and she said she couldn't smell anything as she was used to working there. She said they had a lot of rain and a leaky roof. Evidently they are not doing necessary maintenance and repairs. They changed my room and the new room was barely any better. The place is run down and depressing. I was totally skeeved out. I would rather stay home anyday than stay there. To be fair I will say the cook made some excellent soups. That's about the only good part.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jean480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed last week at the Franciscn Retreat House the place was clean and the Lithuanian culture of wonderful foods was just the best. The staff was helpful and the food they made was all home made like back in time with wonderful breads, and pastries. If you sign up for dinner the food extends the whole table of wonderful choices to make. It is so serene and your soul feels restored. The saltwater pool is divine.Very nice and inexpensive includes the continental breakfast which is great. I am telling all my friends to experience it. I can't wait to go there again. Jeannie R.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was pure serendipity to come upon the Franciscan Guest House. Incredible history of the Monastery , it's beautiful sculptures, and shrines. Lithuanian culture abounds in food, displays and language. Truly serene, welcoming, restful. But also with all that Kennebunk and Kennebunkport has to offer within walking distance or a short drive. The ocean and beaches are magnificent. The local seafood is amazing. The Bush ocean estate is a 5 minute drive.
The rooms are large, modestly decorated, very clean, and pleasant. Views of the estate grounds are everywhere . The walking paths through the monastery grounds, old forest to a point overlooking Kennebunk are at once inspiring and calming. i will return with more times family and friends.

Room Tip: rooms facing the Monastery are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
3.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Guest House

Property: Franciscan Guest House
Address: 26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable option for the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area. The hotel offers simple, plain, comfortable guest rooms for young families, seniors and anyone on a budget. Located next to the beautiful St. Anthony's Monastery Grounds with 44 acres of trees, rolling lawns, picnic tables, riverside walking path, shrines and wildlife. Only 15 minute walk to the beach. Or if you wish to drive, parking permits are available for a small fee. The continental buffet included with your room, with an upgrade to hot breakfast available for a small fee. Amenities include outdoor saltwater pool, free parking, A/C's, mini-refrigerator in all rooms. Supper by our Lithuanian cooks available in peak season. The hotel is a little oasis of peace and tranquility between Docks Square and the Kennebunk beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Franciscan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Guest House Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Guest House Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing