We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good budget option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franciscan Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Franciscan Guest House
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked in here for one night as we drove through Maine. Sitting on the edge of the monastery, this is a lovely setting. Our room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was abundant; my husband who is a celiac paid a small additional amount to have the hot breakfast options which provided him with much more than just various breads and cereals. Our one complaint would be that some of the other guests in our house were quite noisy; I kept thinking I should just get up and ask them to pipe down a bit, but just as I was getting ready to do so, they would drop their voices. But before long, they were loudly enjoying themselves again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    57
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
40
47
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
318 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and l were skeptical about staying here but, thought we'd try it anyway. Well we were very pleased! The rooms are spartan but, very clean and well maintained. There is even a continental breakfast included in the room charge or you can add hot foods (eggs, etc) for $3 per person. We were there just as autumn began and the leaves were beautiful. The grounds are covered with trees and religious shrines. There's even a pool but, it was too cool for that while we were there. It was quiet and the check-in staff were very pleasant. We'd go back!

Room Tip: There are several buildings to choose from, the main building affords the best views of the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank fheagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The peace & quiet of this place is astounding. Easy walk into town. Accommodations not fancy, but clean. Very nice people. Breakfast was fabulous! Everything home made including the donut holes, cheese, & at least 20 different breads & pastries. Great coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hypomule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We rented the second floor 3 bedroom suite (Kretinga) for three nights which comfortably accommodated all seven of us including our five children. We found the space to be clean, quiet and spartan, with a spiritual identity all its own. Authentic home made Lithuanian baked goods and hot breakfast served buffet style were the stellar attraction of every morning, a great value for large families. Sandy was our morning hostess, who along with a busy kitchen staff, including a Vilnius Lithuanian baker extraordinaire (forgive me, I cannot recall your name, but you are a Saint of a Baker!) made for a warm, hospitable visit! You couldn't ask for nicer people. The grounds were beautiful and well kept, each morning included a leisurely walk and morning Mass celebrated by the Franciscan Friars. Having returned home feeling revived, refreshed and spiritually inspired by this special place and very special people, we are already planning our next visit. Five stars for families on a budget who value and enjoy the beach and faith in one vacation. A small slice of Heaven!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just spent my first weekend at the Franciscan Guest House in Kennebunk, Maine. I will definately return, hopefully this year. As with other reviews, the rooms may be dated, but they are clean and very comfortable, with everything you could need. The place is not fancy, but I did not want fancy. I wanted a quiet place to get away to and also have some spiritual time. The grounds and statues are beautiful, and interesting to learn about. Mass Friday evening and Saturday and Sunday mornings were very nice. Everyone on the staff that I interacted with were very friendly and helpful. Just a few minutes walk to either Kennebunk or the beach, but you can also drive to the beach because you can get a beach parking pass ($3.00 extra). Just get to the beach early, because there is limited parking. Wonderful relaxing weekend. Any questions, let me know.

Room Tip: I had a second story room in the main building facing the monastery. I would want the same room nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scooter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The place does not have all the amenities of a 5 star resport, but the grounds are incredible with sweeping beauty rambling through the woods and along the shoreside of the river. Absolutely amazing beauty and complete tranquility. Breakfast was cafeteria style and quite adequate. Rooms were dated, small, but utterly comfortable. Beds slept well. Staff was as friendly and helpful as there is out there. All I can say is we pulled up and out 2 girls took off running through green grass fields and we found them an hour or so later playing in the woods by the river. Very safe, very lovely outdoor surroundings where both my wife and I felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MrT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
03801
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just got back after an abscence of many years. Clean. Bathroom was renovated. Bed too soft. Great breakfast. They now have wifi and email... Big change from when i started to come here.
Its like a comfy well worn shoe, its not flash, but it does the job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank o2binoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.3 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Guest House

Property: Franciscan Guest House
Address: 26 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable option for the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area. The hotel offers simple, plain, comfortable guest rooms for young families, seniors and anyone on a budget. Located next to the beautiful St. Anthony's Monastery Grounds with 44 acres of trees, rolling lawns, picnic tables, riverside walking path, shrines and wildlife. Only 15 minute walk to the beach. Or if you wish to drive, parking permits are available for a small fee. The continental buffet included with your room, with an upgrade to hot breakfast available for a small fee. Amenities include outdoor saltwater pool, free parking, A/C's, mini-refrigerator in all rooms. Supper by our Lithuanian cooks available in peak season. The hotel is a little oasis of peace and tranquility between Docks Square and the Kennebunk beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Franciscan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Guest House Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Hotel Kennebunk
Franciscan Guest House Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing