We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere, Good Food”
Review of Abbondante - CLOSED

Abbondante
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 35
Description: Abbondante’s menu is true to its name, offering generous portions of thoughtful Italian preparations. Fresh, homemade pasta is prepared daily for family favorite dishes like spaghetti and meatballs and ravioli with ricotta filling and more inventive dishes like tagliatelle with hazelnut brown butter, rabbit confit, spinach and chevre, and papperedelle with agro dolce pork, sausage and pickled chilis. Pizzas cooked in the wood-burning oven include classics, pizza margherita with tomato, basil, mozzarella and extra virgin olive oil, as well as the more imaginative, such as pizza salsiccia with sausage, pickled chilis, provolone and roasted peppers. The menu is rounded out with comfort specialties like eggplant and chicken parmesan, meatball heroes and lasagna.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Good Food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a lovely dinner; all four of us ordered something different and each dish was great. Nice menu, reasonable prices, great service. The main dining area was filled (we did not have a reservation) but we got a table outside on the patio right away. Parking in the rear of the building, good location on the way into Kennebunkport. Easy walking distance from the center of town. We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank songbirdnaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrilee P, Owner at Abbondante, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Songbirdnaples,
I am very happy you enjoyed our patio this summer and that the food, service, & drink complemented the evening.
We wholeheartedly appreciate the lovely review and look forward to welcoming you back.
Many thanks,
Merrilee Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    43
    23
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Food is average.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The restaurant is really cool looking. Love the decor. The caprese salad was tiny and very bland. Grilled chicken entree was ok. Others ordered the garlic bread..terrible. Calamari..ok. lasagna ok. Both the lasagna and calamari were served so blazing hot it was twenty minutes before you could take one bite. Nobody ordered pizza but they did look very good. Would probably try that if we returned. Locals told me they were still " working out the kinks"

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrilee P, Owner at Abbondante, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Travelenut187,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your dining experience with us. I apologize you did not enjoy some of your dinner. The lasagna is finished in our brick oven and is definitely hot when coming to the table, we think it's the best way to bake it and the calamari cooked to order and taken straight away to your table. Apologies if the temp was too hot.
I have passed on your feedback to our chef and again, we thank you for your review.
We hope to have you back, please feel free to contact me directly should you return as I would be happy to place the reservation.
Warmest Regards,
Merrilee Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Talked to locals... sent us to the known big name places. We elected to try Abbondamte. Bartender Shane was amazing!
I asked the chef to prepare a pasta and local vegetable dish with a tomato base. It was so delicious it should be on the menu.
Give it a try... we highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLKENN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, NY
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A lovely dinner at Abbondante”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a week of eating seafood on vacation, we were looking for a change! We were also looking for a nice setting for my husband's birthday dinner. The restaurant is beautiful and warm. The service is excellent, the menu is creative Italian. Their homemade pasta is fabulous and the brick oven pizza is amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed the whole evening. Everyone around us also seemed to be enjoying themselves. They have a nice outside eating area but we preferred the warmth of the inside dining room. We got a kick out of reading the quotes written on the walls! Please try this place and also try 50 Local in downtown Kennebunk, owned by the same people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great treat”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After a fair amount of clams and Lobster during our recent vacation we were looking for something different...and what a great treat. The meal was great..done just right with a nice refreshing sorbet desert. Only complaint..and that was minor..it is a little noisy ...but a taste delight.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbondante also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing