We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "Old School"restaurant”
Review of Bartley's Dockside Dining - CLOSED

Bartley's Dockside Dining
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kennebunk's longest licensed restaurantwith the same family ownership . . . .100 seat YEAR ROUND restaurantemploying local people, 37 years 3 generations
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An "Old School"restaurant”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

For a great dinner in Maine, you have to try Bartleys Dockside.Their service,and food bring back an era when the customer and quality were the top priorities. My wife and I both had the "special" of filet mignon and shrimp which was excellent! topped off with their tremendous blueberry pie.Juli our server, was tops,also.
We will be sure to go again on our next trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    53
    22
    31
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

They serve Cakebread wines by the glass in season. The lobster was piled high on my salad and the staff very friendly. Try the onion rings and enjoy Mrs. B, the owner.

Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Special Restaurant”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We travel quarterly or more to this special eatery, even beyond our travel route(s) just to receive the tasty menu, especially their blueberry pie. The atmosphere is inviting like joining a family meal. The friendly service keeps us returning to enjoy too. An extra delight is taking in the adorned walls of famous photo moments in their history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank YLEO6606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“When in Rome...try the lobster! ”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I'm a non seafood eater but decided to stick with lobster, we're in Maine after all. I wasn't disappointed, it had non"seafoody" taste to it. Juli was our server, super friendly and added a little humor to the meal.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kennebunkport - Fresh seafood and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We wanted to get away from fried food and eat some unadulterated - natural - seafood. Having looked around Kennebunkport we finally settled on Bartley's and boy, was it the right choice. Delicious clam chowder (little/no thickener added!) loaded with clams and not potatoes which was copious enough to share with D. I opted for the grilled scallops - came lightly grilled in butter and lemon. Here in France you get about 3 scallops in a dish - Bartley's serve at least 6 if not more....was so delighted with the succulent seafood I forgot to count. D ordered the spare ribs and they were spectacular - with a tangy/sweet sauce. Elsewhere we'd been told the fresh corn season was over - Bartley's served up crunchy, sweet ears on the side together with freshly baked bread and starter salad. We were so tempted to order pie (apparently they are famous for their pies) but couldn't manage another bite. Good selection of wine by the glass - reasonably priced. In fact, this sumptuous meal cost about the same as a very mediocre diner lunch on the way up to Maine. Our waitress Juli was a delight - no nonsense, friendly and knowledgeable about the region. As we were relaxing after dinner - we were the only ones in the restaurant at this point - the owner Brian Bartley came in and over to chat to us. Good conversation about the area and the trials and tribulations of surviving in the restaurant business. Competition is brutal - particularly from moneyed-newcomers serving up chi-chi continental cuisine. We'd already seen this. It was not why we'd come to Maine - we can get that at home in Paris. My vote goes to Bartley's - as Brian so aptly put it....visitors want 'real' Maine cuisine: steamed or baked lobster where the lobster is the primary ingredient, the freshest and simplest of seafood dishes with wonderful natural veggies followed by home-cooked pies. OK, Bartley's does have a casual atmosphere - nothing wrong with that - and I'd imagine it can get loud when full of customers (this was end of October and a very quiet night), but the food is spectacular, the welcome warm and the bill wont leave you feeling cheated. Overall an excellent experience and I can't wait to go back. Good luck Juli, Brian and the treasure in the kitchen!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartley's Dockside Dining also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing