We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Bartley's Dockside Dining - CLOSED

Bartley's Dockside Dining
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kennebunk's longest licensed restaurantwith the same family ownership . . . .100 seat YEAR ROUND restaurantemploying local people, 37 years 3 generations
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had lunch there Sept 30. The owners were concerned with friends, not customers. The wait staff was unhappy, all had angry looks on their faces. One waitress yelling at one who was new about her time card, right in front of us!!! The place was not clean. Had the lobster pie, first it came out as lazy lobster, they took it back and put store bought bread crumbs on it and presented it again. The price was outrageous for what it was, $33.00. The fries were cold. Our ice water brought in paper cups........really????? The owners seemed to be drinking.......was embarrassing. Will never go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PFos42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    53
    22
    31
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Baked Stuffed Lobster To Die For”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This restaurant is a bit of a dive, but its baked stuffed lobster is to die for. Unlike other baked stuffed, this on is all lobster--it is lobster stuffed with lobster. The lobster is split open from below, the thorax is cleaned out, and it is stuffed with lobster meat. It is then covered with a herbed breadcrumb and butter, then baked. It is like having two lobsters. And don't miss Mrs. B's homemade blueberry pie with ice cream.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Convenient.cool and tasty!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is right outside the cruise port. Very convenient when you arrive via cruise ship.

We asked for expedited service and received it with a smile

Lobsta roll, homemade fries and coleslaw. Finishing with the best blue berry pie ever. Ignore the negative reviews and give this restaurant a try, you will not regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Lobster Roll but not worth it”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We accidentally parked in front of this restaurant and felt like we got swindled into eating here by Mrs 'B' (the owner) as the alternative would have been paying $30 to park. After she bashed the restaurant next door for a while we ended up ordering the lobster rolls. The lobster rolls were good but the whole experience really turned us off and was certainly not the Kennebunkport experience we were looking for.

No view and Diner style service so my vote is 'not worth it'.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cahlgrim210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Day trip to Kennebunkport.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Every trip to Kennebunkport includes a stop at Bartley's Dockside Dining. This was no exception. I got to thinking that while on vacation this summer, I had my lobster and fried haddock, but I never got around to my fried clams and scallops. So naturally, we had to go for a day trip up to KPT. As always, the welcome was warm and friendly and the food cooked to perfection. The scallops are so sweet and tender they practically melt in your mouth. All the produce is purchased locally from area farms. The restaurant cuts and makes its own fries and cole slaw. What a nice ending to summer. After lunch we dropped by the Harbor Inn to say hello to Inn keeper, Cathy Jones and then back to Bartley's for Blueberry Pie before heading home. Looking forward to returning in December for Christmas Prelude.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartley's Dockside Dining also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing