We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh & Tasty”
Review of Bartley's Dockside Dining - CLOSED

Bartley's Dockside Dining
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kennebunk's longest licensed restaurantwith the same family ownership . . . .100 seat YEAR ROUND restaurantemploying local people, 37 years 3 generations
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fresh & Tasty”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

She had the best lobster roll she has ever had with fries and cole slaw and a glass of the house chardonnay. I had a fresh fish sandwich with tasty onion rings and a cold ale. The price is right!

This restaurant is quintessential Maine, right in the middle of town with free parking right out front.

We go up a several times every summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdirondackCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    53
    22
    31
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Illinois
1 review
“Best scallops EVER!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Bartley's has the best scallops I've ever eaten (fresh off the day boat)! Brian (the owner) and Juli (the manager) were both as nice as could be. They pointed out places to see and visit while we were in the area and also helped us find lodging at a local bed and breakfast. We were thankful to have stopped at Bartley's, for the food and the hospitality from the owner and manager.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you want Blueberry Pie, do NOT go to Bartleys.....”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We drove up to Kennebunkport and first stop wanted to have a Maine lunch. We by passed clam shack- a mistake- for Bartleys. Lobster bisque was very average, chowder OK - lobster rolls also average. Price tag more than it should have been. Advertised blueberry pie sounded wonderful, this IS Maine...but we decided to wait until dinner. We ended up spending afternoon sightseeing, tried another dinner spot that was great in Wells and came back around 8 for pie and coffee. Mrs B the pie lady was outside smiling like a Cheshire Cat - we thought to welcome and seat us. Noooo, she asked if we were coming for dinner we said we were there for the Blueberry Pie -clearly advertised on the chalk board. She refused to seat us and said the pie was for the patrons in the restaraunt and those having dinner... She could not just bake pies all day for everyone.WHAT ?? Who says this? Never mind we spent over 120.00 Dollars at lunch..... Moving on I then asked where else we could get pie to which the pie lady responded" there is no pie around- just here"
How crazy is this??? We wanted to spend money and enjoy pie on vacation. Isn t it hostess 101 to wait on and provide service to customers and to SELL the pie?
Ho Hum- so many other wonderful places to enjoy and spend your hard earned money......I, and my family can not recommend this place. Foodie tour however, wonderful.... Bartleys not friendly..
Go to the clam shack....we should have.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weddingmomKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Expensive and no real view”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was intrigued by their signsaying they had been making lobster rolls since 1977, they should be pros. I felt it was a bit expensive, yes there was quite a bit of lobster on the roll, but it was not very flavorful. Maybe I am just liking shedder meat better. The fries were good but not worth the extra, we should have just gotten one plate and a plain roll, no side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachfunMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'd skip this place”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Service was very slow and our server was fairly new and didn't know the menu. My wife asked that her baked salmon not be overcooked as she wanted it moist and not dried out. It was extremely dry and over cooked. We were a group of 8 people and they told us the tip was already on the bill, which we expected. However, normally the tip is calculated before taxes. This was not, and it worked out to be 22%. When one of our party brought this up $3 was removed, but the restaurant was not nice about it. I'd would not go here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank D-Segi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartley's Dockside Dining also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing