We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Bartley's Dockside Dining - CLOSED

Bartley's Dockside Dining
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kennebunk's longest licensed restaurantwith the same family ownership . . . .100 seat YEAR ROUND restaurantemploying local people, 37 years 3 generations
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The service was poor, the wait staff rude and the stew had mostly milk. I will not return for this sub -par food and service.

Helpful?
2 Thank traveler22281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Manager at Bartley's Dockside Dining, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I am greatly sorry for your dissapointment, we strive to fix any problem or complaint we have been made aware of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    53
    22
    31
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Summit, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Once Old Reliable Now Just Old”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Bartley's has been a reliable restaurant for the last 30 yrs. It was always unpretentious and trust worthy in terms of food and service. Today our sandwiches were fine but the coleslaw and salads were wilted and shriveled. The restaurant looked tired, unkept, dinghy and in disrepair. The tables were worn, the ceiling tiles were water stained and warped and the bathroom was extremely dirty. The service was good as the servers tried their best to give customers a positive experience. However,their efforts could not make up for the shabby and not chic atmosphere of Bartley's Dockside. So sad to see this happen. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to friends and will remove the menu from the suggestion list that we provide with out rental house.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mauncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim W, Manager at Bartley's Dockside Dining, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are happy to say this summer of 2012 we have completely renovated our kitchen along with some other upkeep,we have plans to remodel the dining room within the next two years as well. Looking forward to seeing you again with a new kitchen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bartleys”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The correct name is Bartleys.
And, tripadvisor wants a review, here it is: Bartley's is a rip-off tourist trap at the scenic bridge crossing from Kennebunk Lower Village to Kennebunkport. The food is overpriced and greasy but you can stand under the "Entering Kennebunkport" sign and have your picture taken while eating fried clams (or whatever). So, there you go!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank primrose33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forksville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent restaruant with great history”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This place has great food and the atmosphere is really nice too. Nice place to eat while walking around in Kennebunkport. The parking is very limited, but it is worth stopping in while in town.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jarhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“No wonder it's been open so long!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We walked into this super casual family owned and run lobster place for lunch on a cold February weekend. What a surprise! The wine menu was very good, and the food was great. Get the clam chowder. It's probably the best I've had in a long time. We also shared a large salad and the lobster pie. The mashed potatoes were sinful, the veggies cooked well. The pie itself was a little overcooked. The bill for lunch was a whopping $10 with tax and tip, but my husband had two beers, I had two glasses of wine and the lobster pie was Market Price.

I would recommend this place, but be sure to ask what the market price is!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monandeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bartley's Dockside Dining also viewed

 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing