We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beer, amazing views, average pub food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub

Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great beer, amazing views, average pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Federal Jack's has great microbrewed beer, stunning views across the Kennebunk river, but the food is your average burger-and-fries fare.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ianrbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    437
    208
    57
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Touristy for sure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

As we are tourists, we went there for the view and for a meal. After reading several reviews we opted for drinks only. Beer is beer and they have several home brews which are good. The service was very slow for drinks on the patio and the glasses the beer was served in was not cold. Go here for the view and have a drink. We didn't eat here after reading several reviews so eater beware.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gatordiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University of Mississippi
Level Contributor
92 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Timing may be everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We always enjoyed Feds when we lived in the area and always make a point of going back when we return to visit. The main attraction is the varieties of Shipyard Ales brewed downstairs.Since their focus in on the beers they brew, the bartenders are not as well skilled in making a cocktail as might be liked. The menu has changed with most of the changes being improvements. The best time for Feds is a warm sunny afternoon -between the lunch and dinner rushes. You can eat and drink in a covered outside area with a view of the many boats at their moorings and setting off out to the ocean. Staff members then are friendly and service is good. As the evening tourist crowd builds in the evening the lines (and the wait) get longer, the staff more taxed, and even the quality of the food seems to decline as the kitchen rushes to keep up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kennebunklegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great beer and location, not so great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here and waited about a half houras there was a line. I'm not sure why but they do not serve dinner outside, only drinks and appetizers. Which since they have a large deck right on the River you would think they would take Advantage of that. The beer was great but the food was not so great. Two of us had the fried clams which were recommended by the waitress but were pretty bland. The other two of us had the lasagna which was pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irocz8292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awful service, awful customer service, good food if its not cold”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the service was totally lacking. We ordered a margarita on the rocks and they make theirs with OJ. It was terrible. Asked to replace it twice and then they charged us to replace. Wait was over 1.5 hours so we waited on the deck and drank.

We saw ONE busboy moving like molasses to clean empty tables.... Many dirty tables sat dirty for over 10 minutes. We saw people not even greeted by their waitress for 15+ minutes. Finally for seated and waited 1 hour for our appetizers because of a "kitchen issue". Had to wait another hour for dinner. Was told we could get some free clam chowder to compensate.

Talked to the manager who acted as tho this was normal stuff. The only saving grace was the food was good... Although some apps were cold when served.

Will never go back until they have new management.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Akayj424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub also viewed

West Kennebunk, Kennebunk
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Federal Jacks Restaurant and Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing