We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth the long line!”
Review of Clam Shack

Clam Shack
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Totally worth the long line!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I got the lobster roll here because it was voted #1 by one of the food magazines, and it was delicious! There was a line of about 30 people in front of us, but it moves along fairly well. We don't know why (since the main ingredients are the same as everywhere else), but the lobster roll here tasted better than others that we've tried. Definitely go for it if you're in Kennebunkport!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    261
    135
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome chowder!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had heard this place was voted best chowder so we had to try it and it didn't let us down!! It is a small building near the bridge and you eat outside. It was delis!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juliede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fried roadside seafood”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

allways a line here so very popular place, we did both the fried and the fresh, if you go inside you can order boiled lobster, good price and fresh and tasty, out side is the line for the fried seafood, it was good but nothing id wait in line for again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the wait in a very long line”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Haven't had fried clams like
this EVER---lightly breaded--
just perfect-worth every penny--
Can't wait for tomorrow to return
for more of the same

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcrorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best place for fried clams”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Each year this does not disappoint; an old school fired clam shack, the food is awesome, delivered in paper trays and finger licking good

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank girlsingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Shack also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing