We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
Review of Clam Shack

Clam Shack
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The lobster roll and whole belly fried clams were amazing. Lobster roll overflowing with delicious, tender lobster chunks covered in warm melted butter. Heaven. The fried clams were delicious, light crunchy breading and succulent whole belly clams. This will definitely be a regular stop on our visits to Kennebunk!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KRJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    246
    131
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll in southern maine”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is hands down the BEST lobster roll in southern maine. We had it with both butter and mayo= perfection . The toasted bun is amazing too, loaded with lobster . The price is amazing too . Also got he steamers, they were great too. Can't beat the food and he price

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whole belly clams and Lobstah Roll = happiness”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I'll keep this review short and sweet, much like the succulent and delicately dressed lobster rolls which are served on a bun rather than a roll. You must eat here when in Maine. The lobster roll of course is a no-brainer (having won the annual Lobster Rumble for best roll back-to-back years). But the fried clams are like no other. The delicate batter (1/2 cornmeal, 1/2 flour according the Dishing up Maine cookbook they sell in their adjoining store) allows the sweetness and utter creaminess of the Clam bellies to melt in your mouth. I dare you to find a better fried clam. I dare you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Puggerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Highway Robbery!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Drove by while visiting Kennebunkport. Parking right in front for easy order & pickup. Should have kept on by! Ordered 2 clam rolls & 1 drink and drove to scenic spot. Then found out we were robbed! 2 hotdog buns with about 6 clams in each for $40.00! We have much better in Western MA. Live&Learn. Do not stop here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToxeyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OMG Clams”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We know that most people go to Maine for the lobster but do not forget about the clams. We had a lobster roll and clams for lunch. The clams were soooooo good. This is a walk up to the window and order place hence the shack in the name. You order, get a number, they call your number, you pick up your food and sit on a bench and eat it by the water on a bridge. It was a beautiful day. Eat your lunch then stroll through the cute little town and its shops.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schraders_in_Tappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Shack also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing