We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barbara Bush likes the fried Clams”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clam Shack

Clam Shack
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Barbara Bush likes the fried Clams”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Great hole in the wall. We had the lobster roll, awesome

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    246
    129
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll by far!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great lobster roll..have it with butter and a little mayo...they dont add anything to the huge lobster pieces on the sandwich...chowder is also good....for the price, they should throw in fries so you dont have to pay additional for them, but still delicious and worth it!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LOVETOTRAVELNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The sign on the side of the building announced that Travel channel awarded the clam shack "best lobster roll". We had a hard time imagining that the Lobster roll we ate had won any kind of food award. The taste was OK, the lobster fresh, but it was served on a hamburger bun and the amount of lobster did not seem in keeping with the sandwich price. Wait staff was friendly and efficient. I would visit again but order something else.

Helpful?
Thank Tricia831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Tiny portions, big prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

There was no line when we visited on Sunday evening. They seemed to be expecting a busy evening as there were 3 staff, and they were all smiling / friendly.
The food was very poor - the fries looked as if they came straight from the freezer whilst the portions were tiny, especially when you consider the prices! They also advertise that they provide sauces - we didn't get any but another customer asked for them and and was given a few ketchup sachets.
Location, next to a very busy road, isn't great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Genuine Article”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

After traveling by plane, train, and automobile to get the Kennebunkport, ME, my wife and I arrived to find the Clam Shack closed due to road construction. We wouldn't be able to return the next day, so our one and only chance to experience their lobster rolls was gone. As we were walking across the bridge to grab some lunch, I noticed Steve, the owner of the Clam Shack. I mentioned my wife and I were in town for the day to experience one of his lobster rolls, and how sad we were to see he was closed. Without expecting anything, Steve looked at us and with a smile said, "Come back here in 20 minutes." We didn't ask any questions, but promptly arrived back at the Clam Shack after 20 minutes. Lo and behold, he had prepared us two of the best lobster rolls with butter and mayo that my wife and I had ever eaten. Steve made our trip truly memorable when he didn't have to. He is the genuine article which is truly hard to find these days. His lobster rolls were pretty dang great too! Thank you Steve!!!
Best,
Jay and Lacey the Texans

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Shack also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Clam Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing