We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Absolute Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Barn Inn Restaurant

The White Barn Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Barn Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $125 - $165
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes 5 Star and Relais & Châteaux property.
Brandon, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Absolute Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

One if the best dining experiences of my life. Top notch, thoughtful service combined with creative and expert food preparation. A great value at any price. If you care about food and are in Maine, you simply cannot miss thus place. The 5 star rating is more than well deserved. Just go and thank me later!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chio5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    49
    49
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive, but so worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Top notch service combined with excellent food and an extensive wine list combined to make this a memorable meal. This was our second visit to the White Barn Inn, the first being around 10 years ago. Everything was as good as we remembered. Service is attentive and friendly, yet professional. The food was fresh, well-prepared, and nicely presented. Very expensive, but for a special occasion, I highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky04222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have a Five Star restaurant back in Michigan which we love to go to for special dinners. Visited the White Barn last year and thought we would love to enjoy the great food again..
Excellent food, great wait staff and lovely ambience. Asked for the Gran Marnier Souffle, not on the menu, and was granted my wish. Thanks Chef!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Five Star Food, Service, Experience - IN MAINE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited Maine over Labor Day Weekend and had an 8PM reservation at the White Barn Inn for dinner. We stayed at the Kennebunkport Inn and walked to the White Barn Inn - not a bad walk, about 20 minutes. My wife and I love food experiences and chose the Chef's Summer Tasting Menu - 9 courses with wine pairings. We arrived a bit early and had a cocktail/beer while taking in the beautiful restaurant decor. The bartender, from France, was incredibly helpful and polite. Service throughout the restaurant definitely earns the Five Diamonds and Five Stars. The piano music was nice played by a talented piano player. He would mix things up by taking familiar tunes, like movie tunes, and making them work in a softer setting. I really appreciated the wall of glass at the end of the barn that had tiered flower pots outside going about 10 feet up, it provided a spectacular backdrop.

The meal started with an amuse-bouche, delicious, which was before the 9 courses. As other posters mentioned, the 9 courses were varied and put together elegantly. I appreciate sauces on the side as I like to taste the intricacies of each individual sauce or component and then construct the bite as I believe the chef wanted it tasted. The server and her staff were very attentive and dealt well with my endless questions about ingredients and how things were prepared. The best dish with wine pairing was the salmon carpaccio with a light white. Our favorite dishes were the butter pouched smoked lobster: although a small portion, it was cooked to perfection with two complex, yet complementary sauces at the bottom of the plate. And the morel dusted beef tenderloin - absolutely fantastic. I don't like to order steaks at restaurants because there is no secret to cooking good beef - but when a restaurant elevates a steak to this level by not only seasoning and cooking it perfectly, but preparing the dish with morel mushrooms, turnips and other earthy vegetables, all with a well balanced and savory cafe au lait sauce - WOW. I am a sucker for a cheese course at the end, a lovely french tradition that more restaurants should do. They sourced many cheeses locally and serve it with a fruit-mustard compote and fresh honeycomb. The meal ended, after the 9th course "cherry pie" souffle with a lovely tiered treat stand of 5 sugary confection bites. A nice touch.

This restaurant is a wonderful experience in Maine and we were excited to find it. They work to source local ingredients from seafood to meat to vegetables to cheese and even beer. The menu seems to change weekly and is seasonal based on the ingredients available. An example is scallops and oysters don't make the menu until the fall. It is pricey, but perfectly in line with the price of any other five star restaurant across the country. The attire is suite jacket for guys, many wore ties. There were some families there with relatively young children (probably 12+ in age) but it was not distracting.

Highly Recommend this place!! We will be coming back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“European Gourmet in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Worthy of the reputation and Grande Chef rating. Pricey but worth it. Great wine list, even the house wines by the glass. Romantic, attentive yet warm atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank skibeach19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Barn Inn Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
West Kennebunk, Kennebunk
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The White Barn Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing