We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An extraordinary experience”

The White Barn Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Barn Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $125 - $165
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes 5 Star and Relais & Châteaux property.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An extraordinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The White Barn Inn is a unique culinary and visual experience. My wife and I had a fabulous dinner, of wide variety and uniformly high quality. Our one reservation was that the service was a bit more than we, at least, like. We ended up (like everyone else) have seven or so courses. After each one the question of "did you enjoy your ...." became a bit too much for our taste.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterbee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    49
    49
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SUPERB !!!! BRAVO !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My brother and wife surprised us with dinner for our 25th wedding anniversary this past weekend. This place is phenomenal. From the moment we arrived the service was superb. Polite, well-spoken valets attended to our car and the management and waitstaff continued the experience inside. We were early for our reservation and although our requested table was available, we decided to start with drinks at the piano. No one rushed us and they couldn't do enough for us to make us feel welcome and comfortable. At our table, service was very attentive but not overbearing. The waitstaff orchestrated the delivery of each course to a tee.We savored every bite of our meals. We can not wait to return. THANKS !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssei1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

A true five star gem. Memorable dining experiences each trip with exceptional service, wine, food and ambiance. Tasting menus may now be the norm, but there is nothing common about these elegant morsels crafted to perfection. Nothing compares east of NYC and even that's close. Prepare to spend your evening (3+ hours) and sit back and relax with the marvelous pianist to entertain you between servings.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely setting, several rooms to choose from but the table we requested when making our reservations was reserved for someone staying at the Inn. First of many disappointments. Our family had been here several years ago and it was fabulous then. We were not told, when making our reservations, that there was a prix fix menu. We had had a large and late lunch, and were not prepared for so much food. The waiter said he could accommodate us! And he did to the tune of $50. for each of our entrees. Rather steep! My duck was so chewy, that several pieces remained on the plate after trying and trying to chew and swallow. Not good! Bread, which we had to ask for, was not eatable. Not the best of choices for us. We were expecting soooo much more from this highly rated restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant I've been to in years/ AND $135 w/o wine.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Here is what I sent the GM.
Last Saturday night my friend and I dined at your restaurant. The lobster corn chowder was at its best, just ok. Tasted like evaporated milk was used instead of cream. The blanched al dente potatoes were a nice touch, but it was not impressive. The lobster bisque was horrible!!! Both of us hated it and sent most of it back. The waitress noticed but didn’t react as she should have. When she saw we didn’t eat it, instead of trying to get something better, she told us ‘it’s different but it’s great” Odd taste, not a nice different. Smokey? Looked like someone dropped the nutmeg in it and tried to doctor it.

The bread was the worst bread both of us have ever had. Tough chewy, overworked dough and then tasteless. Truly, pizza parlors have better bread. We joked that Chinese restaurants had better bread, and you know what that’s like.

The lobster entrée was beautifully presented and very nice. The lobster was tasty, moist and not chewy. A very nice dish. The homemade pasta underbed was presented beautifully.

The desserts were boring and bad. Mine the coconut was not great, tasted like a donut and I didn’t finish it (a dessert first for me) My friend ordered what may have been a nice crème brule which was then doused with a tart raspberry sauce that not only did NOT go but spoiled it. Whoever thought of that awful combination really did not think through the delicate taste of crème brule and what the tart taste would do.

The chocolates presented at the end had a caramel that I thought would be great and truly as a child I made better candy. Someone shortcut the process and did not take the time to stir and stir and let the sugar melt in. It was grainy and runny (NO excuse for that) and then again someone thought that raspberry would be a nice taste to add. ...NO, it was not. They don’t go together.

We left paying $135 each, the service was impeccable but both of us were so very disappointed. From your reviews, you may have been trying a new chef? Or maybe your chef was sick? Whatever it was, we both agreed that Flo’s was a far better culinary value.

Worst gourmet restaurant experience ever, and we both, in different locations go to high end restaurants 2-3 times a month.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Barn Inn Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The White Barn Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing