We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Barn Inn Restaurant

The White Barn Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Barn Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $125 - $165
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 9
Description: Fine American cuisine served in a fabulously converted barn. The White Barn Inn Restaurant is a AAA Five Diamond, Forbes 5 Star and Relais & Châteaux property.
Port Orchard
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow, I truly love this place, the food here is always exceptional and this visit lived up to my expectations. There is only one problem with the food, we got their signature tasting menu and no matter how I try to pace myself, I always leave having eaten way too much! It is a very quiet and intimate place, they always hire a great piano player and the music seems to be just right. The view out their back window is amazing with tons of flowers. If I had to make one improvement, I would almost say the level of service is too good and I am not used to people being there to every five minutes to change your setting, napkin if it drops, or next course; it must be what the Crawleys feel like on Downton Abbey with people serving you all the time. Personally, I like a little more space but the wait staff was extremely professional.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Meyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    49
    49
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the finest Restaurants EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The menu is superb and the service incredible. Everything at the White Barn Inn Restaurant was exceptional. Creative, delicious..Truly one of the best dining experiences ever. The staff is extremely attentive and knowledgeable. Don't miss the change to dine here. AMAZING!! Worth every $$$$$ !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There is a reason that this is rated 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have been here multiple times. This is the place that you go for those special occasions. The best time to go is during the Christmas holiday season when all of the trees are decorated. It makes for a stunning view from the inside. The service is top notch and the food is outstanding. Yes, the restaurant was a barn, but it is now a place that you will have a truly unforgettable dining experience and will want to go back to again and again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mainerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny, Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food was the best part about my stay at the White Barn Inn! It is worth every penny. The restaurant is charming and the staff is great. There were so many courses, the food just kept coming and everything was delicious. The drinks are pricey, that's where they get you. This is probably one of the best restaurants I have been to, I like good food and I don't mind paying for quality! Special occassion, men's jacket required.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Droyer917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of my top five - again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had dinner at the White Barn Inn about 15 years ago and it has always been in my top five. Recently revisited another of my top 5's and was disappointed so I was prepared to have my hopes dashed again. However, it was not to be as the elegant food and atmosphere of the White Barn more than measured up to my memories. I hope the management never surrenders their "jackets for gentlemen" policy because, in this day and age of jeans acceptable everywhere, it is nice to dress up for dinner once in awhile, even if forced to, as it adds to the specialness of the evening. Anyway the food was amazing, the service impeccable and the setting sublime. It is surely a splurge evening, but a splurge well worth making.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joannecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Barn Inn Restaurant also viewed

Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
West Kennebunk, Kennebunk
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 

Been to The White Barn Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing