We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel--but what's this hidden 5.35% "housekeeping" charge?”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beach House
Ranked #4 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good hotel--but what's this hidden 5.35% "housekeeping" charge?”
Reviewed September 5, 2006

We spent Labor Day weekend at the Beach House. The hotel is lovely. Excellent staff and beautiful, inviting common areas. We asked for and received a very early check in, which was much appreciated. And we were upgraded, without asking, to a partial ocean view. The rooms are very nicely appointed, but small, and our bathroom (strangely) didn't have a fan. The bed was really amazingly comfortable.

The hotel charges a 5.35% "discretionary housekeeping charge," which amounted to $16 per day. This was a complete surprise to me on check-out. After getting home I found that it was positively BURIED in fine print on the website page where you book a room. You would never even think to look for it. In fact, the reservations page inaccurately lists a "TOTAL" which includes the room charge and tax, but OMITS the extra 5.35%. This left a bad taste in my mouth, and felt like a cheap shot.

  • Liked — Location, excellent staff, common areas
  • Disliked — Hidden housekeeping charge, rooms just a bit small
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarrySwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    84
    30
    14
    12
See reviews for
37
160
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

The porch is to die for! and the new lawn furniture is the best. Finally summer arrived and we enjoyed its start at the Beach House. Very casual, yet elegant. The orientital carpet is stunning and the front porch will make you want to come back. We came here in January and dined at the White Barn Inn, this time we tried Stripers- it was excellent. See you in the fall!!! your friend in Newton, Karen C.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

For a short weekend getaway my mother, my 5 year old and I choose the Beach House. Unfortunately we were not very lucky with the weather but the friendliness and professionalism of the lovely ladies from the Front Desk almost made us forget about it.
My son loved the fact that they had one of his all time favorite movies in their complimentary video library and he didn’t mind at all spending the Friday afternoon inside watching his movie, munching the delicious chocolate cookies we got for afternoon tea and afterwards beating his grandma in all the board games the Beach House provides in the lobby area.
For Saturday the staff recommended to take my son to the children museum in Portland and helped me with directions as well as some restaurant recommendations that I was most grateful about.
I would have never thought that a rainy weekend can turn in such a perfect little trip, especially having a child with us. But I definitely can recommend the Beach House and their small team to everybody traveling with a family.
Thanks a lot for everything
Yours Sarah Wong

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 27, 2006

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Beachhouse just for a night for two simple reasons: we had heard that the views are supposed to be gorgeous and because of the very friendly rates (for a young couple like us). Our room didn't have view of the ocean but that didn't matter because their sitting room and the porch had it all. We were very positively surprised about the personal and friendly service. The girl who checked us in had apparently just started to work there, but she did a terrific job and was very helpful throughout our stay. We spent most of the day outside on their lawn, sunbathing and the rest of the time we ate ... they really don't keep you hungry at the Beachhouse.

When we came there was tea, coffee and cookies, there was also cheese & crackers, port & brandy, not to forget about their breakfast. The homemade croissants were too good and just to respond to one of the earlier reviews ... they even warm up the quiche for you if you ask ... you don't have to eat it cold!

All in all, they the Beach House exceeded our expectations and we are already planning our next trip there :-)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 17, 2006

As a quick need to getaway we packed the car and drove to Maine. After a quick search on places to stay in Kennebunkport I found The Beach House. Located across the street from the beautiful beaches. We were lodging on a package weekend that included dinner at a choice of restaurants in the area. In the mood for seafood we chose Stripers; located on the water they offer a fresh menu of fish, lobster, and amazing appetizers. We sat in the bar and enjoyed the Piano music, while the bartender made us one of her famous Lavender Martinis, a drink too good to miss! The room at the Beach House was everything we expected it to be. Clean, neat and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was included in our package and was served downstairs overlooking the beach, which was the best way to start the day. The Front Desk staff was extremely helpful when we asked where to go for the day; they recommended touring the down and walking the beaches and gave us maps of the area. Upon our return in the afternoon we enjoyed port and brandy with cheese and crackers. We will be back without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We stayed one night at the Inn and it was very nice. The room was clean and bright with a partial ocean view and king bed. They allowed us to check in earlier than the scheduled 3:00 so we could enjoy the front porch- it was 60 degrees!! The ocean was bright blue and beautiful. They serve a tea in the afternoon w/ scones and cookies which they make in their kitchen at the inn. The breakfast was a nice surprise with a quiche. We would return again.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We just returned from a delightful stay at the Beach House in Kennebunk, Maine.
From the moment we walked in we felt more than welcome. Terry greeted us with a warm smile and showed us to our room with an ocean view and used this time to provide us with a lot of helpful information about the Inn and the area. We loved our room. The classical music that was playing when we walked in made it appear as it was ready for us and made it very homey.
Generally we found the atmosphere at the Beach House very warm and like a home away from home which is most certainly because of the staff (Terry and Ilonia are both very charming and friendly professionals) and also because of the house itself. Sitting in front of the fireplace during tea time with delicious cookies and still slightly warm scones we enjoyed the view to the ocean and watching the snow; what a perfect winter afternoon! And after we came back from dinner we where quite surprised by the complimentary Port and Brandy in the lobby area.
Unfortunately we could just stay for one night at the Beach House but before we hit the road we still had a very delicious breakfast with fresh croissants and muffins, fruit salad, a great homemade Granola, Quiche and cold cut meats and I especially enjoyed their outstanding teas.
I definitely can recommend the Beach House and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GiddingsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,656 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 211 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7556
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Kennebunk
The Beach House Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing