We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly bed and breakfast inn”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Ranked #6 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Lovely, friendly bed and breakfast inn right across the street from the ocean. Very clean. Wonderful free continental breakfasts.
No bar. Could be more games available for rainy days. Only negatives were a noisy air conditioner and curtains that did not fit nor did they block out morning sunlight.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feebee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 279 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

Just came back for a 3 night stay at the inn - myself, my husband and almost 3 year old. This is our third time coming to the inn and we do enjoy it there. The location is the best part about the inn, you are directly between two beaches. We like this place enough that we go here every summer and will continue to do so. Over all it was a great stay. I do wish that all of the rooms had flat screen t.v.'s and DVD players (as another reviewer had mentioned), and there was a little "wear and tear" in the room. Ours had an older TV with a VCR with a remote that did not work. Cable reception was never good here, but we also had this issue at the White Barn Inn 4 years ago. They are in the middle of some remodeling now so I am excited to see what next year will bring. Breakfast is always great and my daughter loved the afternoon cookies - the front desk attendant was nice enough to give her some extras for the evening! I also think the service at the inn has gotten better over the past three years. I would have given it 5 stars - but I still think there is a little room for improvement - with that said, I highly recommend staying at the inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DStephens26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the Beach House Inn with our two year old daughter. Having stayed at one of their sister properties in the past (The Yachtsman, also in Kennebunkport) we were really looking forward to this visit.

We stayed in room 106 which was a garden level room, recently renovated. The room itself was small, but very pretty and tastefully furnished. The bath, too, was well done with granite and nice tile - it also had Molton Brown bath products. We had our own private access to the outside through our slider which offered some sitting area in the Inn's garden. Everything was very clean! We were traveling with our two year old and some things that came in handy were the pack n play (already set up when we arrived), the DVD player with flatscreen tv, no additional charge for her occupancy (a lot of the other inns/hotels charge $70+ per night for more than 2 people) and the complimentary continental breakfast.

We did see another room at the Inn which was not yet renovated so I can understand some of the more negative reviews. However, they've recently finished painting the outside of the building as well as building a brand new wrap around porch - both of which came out beautifully. And the main-level is very well done with one gorgeous sitting room over looking the ocean and two dining areas where you can enjoy their continental breakfast. Speaking of which, the breakfast (served from 8-10 AM) was a pleasant surprise - croissants, muffins, danish, quiche, cereal, yogurt, homemade granola, oatmeal, meats, cheeses, (hot) coffee, juice, sparkling water and tea. Replenished often so you never went waiting for anything!

Lastly, the location is supreme! You can't get much closer to the ocean than the Beach House Inn. It's just a short walk to two of Kennebunkport's great beaches. And the price for high season (and on a weekend) wasn't bad at all ($239/night).

Highly recommend the Beach House for a visit to Kennebunkport.

Room Tip: Request one of their renovated rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in the cottage. It was definitely not worth the price! We paid $900 for the night and were really disappointed. The house itself was just okay inside nothing special. We were on a 10 day trip and this was some of the worst mattress I have ever slept on. The day bed my daughter was on was horrible! It was so bad that I went to find something to pad it with. There were NO extra blankets in the unit, so I thought I would call the front desk/housekeeping. Come to find out everyone leaves at 7:00...and you’re on your own. So I found the housekeeping room in the basement and found a blanket on my own.

As for breakfast it was nice to listen to the workmen on the porch hammering and drilling the new porch they were installing.

No bellmen to help with luggage...again you were on your own! If I were you, I would find a better place to spend your money and your time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12toby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The staff was always friendly and professional. Breakfast outside on the wrap around porch is one of the best features of the Beach House inn; the view of the ocean is wonderful and the entire street-area is very charming and relaxing. The room was clean and comfortable. My wife and I visited last summer and the summer before as well. We were very happy with our stay and have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerlovin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My now-fiance and I stayed here last summer as our first getaway together. I booked the stay through Jetsetter.com, so I got a great deal. At full price, I think they charge too much for these rooms. The room we had was very nice and clean, but not luxurious by any means. The bed was VERY comfy, and we had a great view of the ocean from our window. The location is very good - right across the street (as are all of the hotels) from the rocky beach. The cute little area of Kennebunk center, where there are restaurants and shops, is about a 7 minute drive. Overall, we really liked this place and are considering booking it again for our makeshift honeymoon (delaying the big trip a couple of months to avoid hurricane season!).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

For $143/night in a Garden Room, this was perfect for my husband and I to get away from the kids for a night. The reviews are accurate - it is no frills, could use a coat of paint, and the rugs have stains. But breakfast was good, it is nicely located a short drive from the main area, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the air conditioner worked. We chose to spend our money on dinner at the White Barn Inn - about 2 miles away, and wouldn't have done anything differently.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmacy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
1 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
1.4 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
675 reviews
1.2 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 211 Beach Ave, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7556
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range: $126 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Kennebunk
The Beach House Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing