We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shorelands Guest Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Guelph
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were placed into a shack with neighbors all around us and two on top, unlike the cottage we saw in the photos. The washroom had a light hanging by one screw with a fan rattling above. If the other screw was in there would be no venting. The air conditioner did not work and the room smelled like mold. It was the most expensive place we stayed on our vacation, Quality inns and other hotels were like heaven compared to this place.



The pool was ok but there was a dead mole in it when we were there. We tried to cancel a third night after seeing the place, but they would not let us. It had to be done two weeks before coming there. We could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are sorry you did NOT voice your concerns to us while you were our guests. Possibly we could have helped, we most certainly would have tried to make your stay more comfortable. We are not in the city, so it is possible to encounter animals, since we are totally surrounded by Rachel Carson Wildlife Refuge; however, i know that our pool was and is sparkling clear. We checked the bathroom fan, and it does need another fastener. we only noticed a regular fan noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    11
    8
    24
See reviews for
29
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

What you get: A reasonably priced no-frills one-room cottage with a stove and a refrigerator a 5-minute drive from Kennebunkport. There are approximately 15-20 of these cottages along in a semicircular driveway/parking lot. There’s an outdoor (unheated) pool and some bikes and other equipment you can borrow free of charge.

What you don’t get: Anything more than the basics – the room is not luxurious by any stretch and has a hodgepodge of furniture and items. It looks like it hasn’t been updated since the ‘70s and the bedding was showing its wear. It is also not, despite what the website may claim, a reasonable walk to the beach (I’m 29 and my wife and I walk frequently).

Bottom line: It’s pretty much the definition of “you get what you pay for.” If you are looking for a clean and safe place to crash, this is it. If you’re looking for something more, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for giving us your time for these comments. we do appreciate this. I am a little confused about your comments regarding the walk to the beach. I am over twice your age and walk there regularly with my 9 & 10 year old grandchildren. It has never talken us more than 15 minutes, including visiting the horses along the way. Maybe you tried to walk to the Kennebunk Beaches instead of the private one across the street from us? we do provide our guests with a local map for orientation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is our third year now. First of all, the beds are more comfortable than the ones at home! The full-size fridge (a first for us this year) came in handy. The people who clean the rooms and tidy the grounds are very hard-working. We couldn't let them in to clean as much this year due to the fact we had our dog with us. He loved the beach. See photo. The pool is great. Just walking distance to the ocean. Not far to drive to town. Only real criticism is the fact you have to park directly in front of your cottage which blocks your view....not a big problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for using some of your time to give us this review. We do appreciate it very much, and hope to have you as our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud831
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel/ motel is a combination of owned condos and motel rooms. The best part of this place was the location. Walking distance to parson's beach, which is a beautiful quiet (away from the hustle and bussle of other kennebunkport eaches bc of limited parking) spot. We were in a double room which was teeny tiny. We really only slept there bc it was too small to sit and be comforatable. There was a nice pool, ping-pong table and barbeque area on the grounds. Overall, the beach was worth the small room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebud831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed staying here even though I was apprehensive (see below). The cabin we had was very bright and sunny, there was a mini fridge, microwave and hotplate, which was nice. We had no issues with the housekeeping and the staff seemed pleasant. It was hot and the AC worked just fine. The location is very good - just a couple miles to Kennebunkport town center with all the restaurants. And I loved Parson's beach - a 10 minute walk away - very nice not crowded beach and I was allowed to bring my dog after 5 p.m. These are not fancy cottages with super lush furnishings. Just a place to crash in between beach and enjoying the outdoors. That said the bed was comfy.

What initially had me a little worried was the pet policy. It is on the website, but after booking we called and clarified about what the word "accidents" meant - #1 also, or just #2? I imagined it would be the latter, but it is both - basically you cannot walk your dog to do any of its business (even just #1) on any of the grounds period, you have to go across the road. I understand the reasons for this, but after I found this out I was worried because my dog is an older lady and I was not sure she would make it to the road before doing #1. My solution was to carry her to the area where dogs could be walked. It worked out fine. Carrying the dog would not have been necessary had we been staying at a cabin in the front by the road, but we were in the back a little distance from the road.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

To be honest, when we first pulled up to the cottages we were a bit concerned. They are older and do not come across well. However, the beds were very comfortable, the cabin was clean and it is nice and quiet. The location is convenient for going into town. We stayed in a two room cabin with a twin, double and king size bed. There was a frig, hot plate, toaster, microwave, silverware and other utensils. We weren't crazy about the small bathroom especially for my daughter in a wheelchair. But that was a minor inconvenience. We felt at home almost immediately. There was coffee and tea and sweets in the main office. But best of all for us was the daily visit by the owner's cat - the sweetest, friendliest cat this animal loving family ever met. Would I go back and stay there again? Yes, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your time to provide us with your comments. We do hope to have you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

These cabins are in a convenient location; we have been there three times over as many years. At first it was novel to be in what promised to be well managed property that carried lots of advertised amenities: Pool, coffee all day, walking distance to beach, frequent renovations, BBQ grills, kids play area. But it is a small area to house so many cabins, the beach is some distance away and only drivable, and Renovations and maintenance are sporadic.
This year, we encountered poor management response, the driveway was sealed during our stay leaving us to park at a further end of the property, nearly nonexistent housekeeping without towel changes or daily cleaning, and the cabin door was left unlocked after one of their visits. Management did not respond to our complaint about the unlocked cabin. we had taken advantage of an off season rate, and at check in received a dining coupon for a restaurant intown so dollars spent on this accommodation made the stay economical. Our experience there this year with so many nonsense irritants will not doubt be our last, however.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Owner at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this trip to us. The weather did NOT cooperate with our plans to repair and seal the driveway. It had been scheduled for 3 weeks prior to your visit. However, each week we had rain early during the week, we certainly did not want to schedule it for a weekend, and so the time during your visit was our last chance to get it done before the summer really began. Living in Maine, it is NOT possible to get it done in winter, as you may know. We have changed our Housekeeping Policy several years ago to be more Green, which means if your towels are hung up, if do not exchange them. IF your Green Housekeeping card was missing, we apologize. There is also a note in the office, we can make it is more noticable. I did hear about your door. We were leaving for our son's wedding and could not respond personally. very sorry. apparently these 3 things conspired against you on this visit. Please contact us so we can give this priority in person. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.2 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
286 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
263 reviews
2.5 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorelands Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Property: Shorelands Guest Resort
Address: Route 9, Kennebunk, ME 04043
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorelands Guest Resort Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing