We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in Love...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shorelands Guest Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Burlington, VT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fell in Love...”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I came here for our fifth wedding anniversary and LOVED IT!! The service was wonderful, our cottage was the cutest :) We fell in love with it!! The bathroom was very spacious and the kitchen met all our needs. It was so quiet that we never heard much of anything from our surrounding neighbors. We loved that we were only a few minutes from the beach! We got the see the sunrise and set in one day and it was incredible!! The beach was clean and never overcrowded! We were centrally located so it wasn't too far to Wells, York or Kennebunk Port. There were grills for our use and onsite laundry facilities if you needed them. The only thing we were not happy about during our visit was the tightness of the parking and how close our car was to the grill area. We were lucky to get in our parking space because the other guests vehicle was so big and didn't fit in their parking space. We cannot wait to come back next year and bring our daughter as they have a pool and a play area!! YEAH!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VTFoodlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    11
    8
    24
See reviews for
29
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed just after labor day for 3nights. Excellent service, very clean cottage, short walk (10 to 15 minutes) to Parsons beach across the street is awesome and never crowded even has a portapotty! Great little swimming pool and hot tub, grill area and playground, fresh muffins and coffee daily, Sonja and all staff very pleasant and helpful! Don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karakarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I enjoy the Kennebunk area and keep returning. Shorelands is by far the best value in the Kennebunk and Kennebunkport area. Our favorite beach is Parsons and is short walk through a horse farm. The rooms are well maintained and charming. You have full use of the bbq grills and the fire pit at night is a great spot to relax and enjou a beverage. Other hotels in the area charge a lot more for the accomodations. We will return again in the fall.

Room Tip: The renovated cottages are in better shape if you are looking to book a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41782Jimmy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC / London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with a party of 6 (one being an 80 lb dog) and had a wonderful time. We had a larger cottage for two families with a king bed the other with two queens. Two bathrooms which were good size too.

The resort is out of Kennybunkport - i'd say couple of miles out. It's in great proximity to the beach - literally down a short road. The beach allows dogs too - hours I think are before 9am and after 5pm.

Staff were very friendly indeed, great front desk staff, cleaning staff were very polite. Even had a game of table tennis and they were quick to give us some equipment too :)

Dog wise - there's a very nice dog park up the road it's not walk-able in any short time, so take the car.. and it's at the recycling plant too if you're looking for it!

There were a few cons; the wifi (albeit free) barely worked in our cabin - 1 to 0 bars all the time and it's in a dead zone cell wise, our shower curtain was on the floor when we got in the room, the air conditioning was positioned over the bed to make you feel you're in a wind tunnel at night unless you turn it off and the furniture was a little scruffy in places. Other than that I think it was very good.

It's not the Ritz but it's a great location, great for dogs and comfy with courteous staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_-_-_-HIM-_-_-_-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were very disappointed with this "resort". The cabin was very small and rundown and seemed very dirty.We wanted to leave early but we couldn't get a refund unless they could re-book the room.We had to stay 3 nights in this place! The shower was so tiny and the kitchen is just a microwave and hotplate. It looks nothing like the pictures on the website.We couldn't wait to get out of this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kennebunk hotels

Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

When i first opened the door i was already disgusted and was not worth $150 a night. Do not let the pictures fool you because the cottages are not even all white. There were 4 white ones and the rest were all dirty wood that looked moldy on the outside. The floors looked like they haven't been swept in forever and when they "clean" the room they don't sweep or vacuum. I lifted the bed up and you could see the outline of the bed with dirt. The AC in the room did not work at all so we went to the front desk and complained so guess what they do about it. They had my father another AC and he had to put it in himself. The pool is not at all like the pictures. It is tiny and the water is green and so dirty to the point you can not even see the bottom. The dishes they had had old food crusted on them and the kitchen was a little hot plate on the counter of one of the bedrooms. There is no stove and the refrigerator is a mini fridge. If you have a dog you have to walk across the highway or to a little area off their property that is gated in and it is only 8 x 8. We ended up leaving early because it was so horrible.

Room Tip: Do not go at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are truly sorry that your experience was not satisfactory. The guests stayed for 6 nights out of 7. We were NOT made aware of an A/C problem until late one everning, when no worker was on duty. We are not a large hotel with 24 hr staff. And the gentleman volunteered to take the new A/C. The floors in that unit are wood, and are cleaned. The outside of most of our cottages are cedar shakes, and they weather to a dull gray. If you are not familiar with this coastal look, i guess it can be deceiving. We would much prefer that we were made aware of any problems before 6 nights have past, so we can correct them.
So far this year, we have had over 600 reservations, more than 210 from returning guests.
We really wished we had been given more of a chance to fulfill these guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is for you if you like friendly, easy-going cottage vacations. It's not the Ritz and it's not an anonymous motel. It's just like staying at your friend's place by the beach. A lovely beach it is, too, and it's in a peaceful saltmarsh wildlife refuge. Chris in the office was very friendly and helpful. He recommended a great place to buy fresh fish and the Kennebunk whale-watching tour, which was excellent, by the way.
We enjoyed the friendly cats who wandered by when we sat out front of our room, barbequeing the fresh fish we bought and the easy going atmosphere.
I see from the reviews that some people didn't like this place, but if you like cottage vacations this is a great deal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianCRlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for giving us a balanced review. Most of the time, only disappointed guests write reviews. We really appreaciate your time with this. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.2 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
295 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
485 reviews
2.5 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorelands Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Property: Shorelands Guest Resort
Address: Route 9, Kennebunk, ME 04043
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorelands Guest Resort Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing