We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage vacation near to a lovely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shorelands Guest Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
toronto canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cottage vacation near to a lovely beach”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is for you if you like friendly, easy-going cottage vacations. It's not the Ritz and it's not an anonymous motel. It's just like staying at your friend's place by the beach. A lovely beach it is, too, and it's in a peaceful saltmarsh wildlife refuge. Chris in the office was very friendly and helpful. He recommended a great place to buy fresh fish and the Kennebunk whale-watching tour, which was excellent, by the way.
We enjoyed the friendly cats who wandered by when we sat out front of our room, barbequeing the fresh fish we bought and the easy going atmosphere.
I see from the reviews that some people didn't like this place, but if you like cottage vacations this is a great deal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianCRlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for giving us a balanced review. Most of the time, only disappointed guests write reviews. We really appreaciate your time with this. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    11
    8
    24
See reviews for
29
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Upon checking in to this outdated resort, our first turn of the key confirmed our initial impressions. The beds and furniture looked like they hadn't been renovated or updated since the 1950s. I nearly broke my neck when the Murphy bed I pulled out of the wall came down, and collapsed. That was considered the "second" double bed that was listed. The pool and grounds were certainly not as they were pictured. The pool is tiny and the deck/patio furniture looked like yard sale finds. The lovely beach that is pictured is actually a 10 or 15 minute walk away, with very limited parking access. This was very deceiving as it is called "Shorelands Resort." At $145 a night, it was a ridiculous price to pay for what you are getting or led to believe you were getting. After consideration, we opted to stay elsewhere at a nice B&B down the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CH4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kennebunk hotels

Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We just arrived HOME from this "RESORT" all I can say is PLEASE anyone consifering this place check the date of the review!!!!! We stayed in a "hotel room" tiny, dated smelly room!!!! The mattress was probably purchased in a Goodwill Store along with the other furniture - actually when I checked in there was a Goodwill bag in the front office with some "framed artwork" - bathroom was the worst I have ever seen - also ask the reservation person WHERE the air conditioner is located - ours was in the bathroom - so unless you like staring into a tired, worn bathroom beware. Also, the bathroom had two doors - one to our room and one to the adjacent room - granted there was locks but REALLY!!!! Don't trust the website photos - just look for the overgrown bushes and RV parked on the grounds - keep driving onto RT 1 I am sure you can find better!!!!!

Room Tip: Keep driving and find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pocabatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorelands, Manager at Shorelands Guest Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are truly sorry that your stay was dissappointing to you. We would have loved the opportunity to change your accommodations, or help in any way possible. Unfortunately, this review is the first notice we have of your disappointment. We do let our guests know that our Motel rooms with one double bed are very small. They are also extremely economical for the location. Other problems with a room would be cheerfully corrected IF we are aware of it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here over night on our way to Manchester. Upon checking in, we were immediately upgraded to a cottage (we originally had a hotel room). We were really happy with the room! It was clean and pretty spacious. Although it's a little on the "older" side, it was certainly a great find and a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamiko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Our family of 4 visited the area for almost a week. When we first arrived we really didn't have much of an itinerary except to stop off at a few of the mass marketed restaurants. Fortunately Chris at the front desk was a wealth of information and gave us lots of local points of interest to make our stay in the area perfect! Lets see.... My favorite parts of the trip? The wonderful short walk down Parson's Rd to the very quite beach that curves thru a meadow and horse farm? The day trip to Portsmouth!?! or or or The Lobser and Steamers we brought back to eat at our cottage picnic table? Maybe the complimentary blueberry muffins and coffee in the adjoining "Guest Cafe" with free use of internet, fireplace, soft classical music and a small library? Whew! I could go on and on. I'll just say the next time we're headed to the Maine coast we'll look no further than the Shorelands! Oops. Just realized I didn't mention the rooms. We had a two room cottage that was a little small, but we knew this in advance. The beds were great and things were clean. It was a great place to crash after a busy day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveY533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I recently stayed here for a long weekend and i was very pleased! The price was really unbeatable and Compared to other cottages in the area, this property was eye appealing, boasting beautiful flowers and trees! The staff was friendly and the rooms were exceptionally clean! They have a nice swimming pool, hot tub, fire pit, and other amenities. What we loved most was that it is just about a half mile walk (the street has a beautiful view of a horse pasture and marshes) from the best beach in the area, parsons Beach! Also a quick drive to the main street with plenty of shops and resturants!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariss2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

My family of 4 were taking a 10 day New England vacation. Kennebunkport was the third stop. We stayed at Shorelands for 3 nights and it was the best sleep we had the whole time. The beds were very comfortable.

For the money, this is the best value we found during our vacation. We had 2 rooms with 4 beds and a kitchenette for less than the cost of single hotel room at other hotels. Don't expect a Marriott. Shorelands is independently owned and operated. It's a group of small duplexes. They have a nice little guest cafe with coffee and muffins. It's a short walk to the beach and a short drive to Kennebunkport shopping. I'd definitely stay here again.

If you visit, be sure to say hi to the long haired calico named Felicity. She's the most social cat I've ever met!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.2 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.6 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
#15 of 26 in Kennebunkport
266 reviews
2.5 mi away
Captain Lord Mansion
Captain Lord Mansion
#3 of 26 in Kennebunkport
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorelands Guest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorelands Guest Resort

Property: Shorelands Guest Resort
Address: Route 9, Kennebunk, ME 04043
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shorelands Guest Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A typical southern Maine Cottage Complex, providing casual country comfort, close to a beautiful beach. We are upgrading several of our cottages each year, so please ask when making reservations. Our 'standard' cottage rooms come with double murphy beds. Queen and King beds in upgraded units. Newest units are cottage condos. Wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shorelands Guest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorelands Guest Resort Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing