We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh So Grand!”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Grand Hotel last month during our trip up to Boston and Maine and we were extremely pleased with everything. From comfort to location, this place was fabulous. The hotel provided us with a complimentary upgrade and we LOVED the free bike rentals. Most of our time was spent exploring Kennebunk/Kennebunkport and riding thru town. It was so much fun! We weren't at all bothered by the fact that the front desk closes early and overall we had a wonderful experience. Not a single complaint about The Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I absolutely loved walking into this hotel. After a long drive, it was a delight to have such a wonderful place to stay. First of all, it was VERY clean, it even met my cleanliness standards (which is saying a lot) The room was beautiful. Looks like it was decorated by a professional. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was very nice.I could have stayed there for a week!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovestoexplore28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear lovestoexplore28

Thank you for your wonderful review. We were thrilled to see that you loved everything about The Grand. It was designed by a very talented local interior designer called Louise Hurlbutt.

We do hope you manage to stay with us for a whole week next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Would definitely stay here again. The room was nice, location excellent, and the attached cafe "kitchen chicks" was perfect for a quick breakfast with nice view. Staff was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank zinlover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a little gem this hotel is. Smack in the middle of the whole Kennebunkport scene
it is cozy, IMMACULATE, charming and SOOOOO close to a great little bar and deli and steps from Kayaking/golfing/shopping/beach/art galleries...

Laura at the check in desk was so nice and our room was small but perfect small and bright and sunny.

WE PLAN TO COME BACK NEXT YEAR WITH OUR FRIENDS-HURRAY

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottchagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Gottchagirl,

Thank you for your great review. Our guests love the location here it is so close to everything but quiet too. Thank you also for mentioning Laura, she was so happy to see that.

We look forward to seeing you again next year or before if you can make it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I would stay here again-YES!
I loved the size-small.
The location-ideal.
The deli on the 1st floor-OMG! catch on every other hotel!
Lobster shack 2 blocks down!
3 beaches in less tha 1/4 mile-OMG!
Did someone say cookies and water bottles for the ride home when you check out-yes!
Deal on Jetsetter=priceless!

Room Tip: Love the gourmet deli on the 1st floor! Right there in the middle of town. Everyone was great. Than...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed the high quality of our room and the nice little balcony overlooking downtown. The front desk staff were very helpful, and the complimentary parking so close to the Kennebunkport shops and restaurants was a plus. You can actually walk pretty much anywhere downtown from the hotel in just a few minutes. The little food market/sandwich shop at the front of the property is another good little amenity. The only thing I wish we had was a view of the river - which I was expecting but may have misread the room description. Instead, we had a view of an art studio and someone's home from our balcony. I do think if you reserve a room on the third floor you should be able to see the river.

Room Tip: Choose a third floor room for a view of the river - but the second floor rooms have the spacious bal...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaJolie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear MaJolie72

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always love to read all the comments about The Grand. We are so glad you enjoyed everything as well as the great location and the cafe next door.
We do have rooms on the second and third floors facing the main street and with a partial view of the river. We are always happy to allocate these rooms if they are available to anyone who requests a specific view or room. We thank you for mentioning this, its a great tip for other potential guests.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked our room through Jetsetter months ago knowing very little about the hotel. We are quite particular and fussy and we have fallen in love with this hotel. The location is excellent for shopping and dining. Our room was very spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was lovely with heated tile flooring. Our interactions with every staff member were pleasant and they were very helpful in recommending a place for dinner. We will be back again and will plan to stay for more than one night!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1 Chase Hill Rd, Lower Village, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: $130 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, with some guestrooms offering views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite art gallery, you can indulge yourself in artistic delights. Our boutique hotel on the edge of Kennebunkport has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you'll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine's coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport's winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing