We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the village so it's only a short walk to everything.
The hotel is new, the room we had was wide and, being on the corner of the hotel, was very charming.
They only lack breakfast service but the shop across the street offers a very wide choice of food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Nicola A,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you loved your room and all its charm and enjoyed your time with us here at the Grand. It is nice to have everything within walking distance and we are glad that you were able to find eating accommodations just steps away from the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    46
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
233
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at The Grand Hotel over the New Year. We were excited to book the "Winter is Grand" package and got the Grand King Hotel room. The package comes with a round of drinks from their sister hotel and a package of "winter swag". We checked in around 4:30 and met the hostess who was friendly and checked us in immediatly. We were VERY excited to see our room, as we normally can't afford a king room and as we are saving for a wedding in Maine. Lets go over the pluses and minuses.
(-) The room was small. A king bed and two chairs plus 3 dressers with drawers made for a cramped space. We stayed at a holiday inn the night before and the room was much bigger and we payed 60 a night.
(-) No fridge. We were hoping for something to keep our drinks cold. We often pack some of our own food to avoid paying too much, and there wasn't anywhere to keep drinks or leftovers in.
(-) service. When we checked in, as mentioned above we were able to book a package online, there was no mention of the bag of swag or coupons for drinks. I figured they would be in the room. Once we were settled in the room, I called down to ask about the swag. The hostess claimed that she had no record of us booking the package. I asked if she could tell by the price of the room if she would be able to tell that we had booked the winter is grand package. She informed us that "at this time of the year, everyone can get the rooms this price" I told her that I had the confirmation email if she needed to see that. She told me that she would "look around for stuff to put in our bag" She did bring the bag up to us and it contained the following; chips, soda, a mini bottle of champagne,taffy, and jelly. All though this was very nice i was hoping for something alittle more put together.
(-) service. There wasn't anyone at the hotel past 8 at the front desk. We are bit of night owls at times, and by the time we had ordered pizza(almost everyplace else was closed for the season), we had to wait down in the lobby for the pizza delivery guy because there wasn't anyway he can get in. Also, on new years night people were running and slamming doors above us, and unfortunatly I could not call down to the front desk to ask for assistance. They do give you an "after hours" number, but it was new years night and putting anyone on the road if they didn't need to was not what I wanted to do.
(-) waterview? We couldn't see the water through the buildings.
(-) they only gave us one set of shampoo and conditioner. I have very long hair and I was wondering why they didn't resupply us after our first night.
(-) there was a menu book at the front desk. probably 75% of the restaurants were closed for the season. The rest were mostly their sister sites which we way over our price range. They push heavily on their sister sites. There are posters in the elevators, write ups in the "in room book" and there is a magazine in the room which appeared to be published by the hotel owners. It seemed like alot.
ok phew, that was hard. Now on to the plusses:
(+) THE BED WAS AWESOME. It was big and comfortable and begged to be slept in. The sheets were soft and the pillows were plus and comfortable.
(+) the bathroom was nice. a tub would have been nice, but the shower was hot and the bathroom was clean. The heated bathroom floor was a nice touch.
(+) the shampoo, conditioner and all the other ammenities were nice. They smelled great and worked well.
(+) the hotel was very clean, and still smelled new. The towels were soft.
Overall, I'm not sure if we would go again. We got a great deal on the room, and i'm not sure if the hotel is worth the full price they are charging. We couldn't use the balcony due to the snow. I have booked the hotel as our honeymoon suite for the night of our wedding and as the prep area for myself and my bridal shower, but I don't think I can trust the hotel to make sure things are seamless for the two nights, and that there will be enough room.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room, they looked roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Kathryn B,
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you and your fiancé experienced while staying with us. At the Grand Hotel, we take pride in ensuring that all of our guests are both happy and comfortable while they are with us. Unfortunately, it seems we did not meet your expectations or our own. Here at the Grand we go above and beyond to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible and that they are supplied with whatever they might need to make their stay an enjoyable experience while we are on and off the property. It is our standard procedure to close every night but before leaving we always make sure our guests are comfortable and that we have assisted them in any way needed. Whether it be supplying you with extra amenities, making dinner reservations, or making sure you are current on local things taking place or not taking place. We do leave a basket in the lobby every evening that provides our guests with extra personal amenities, linens and coffee if needed. The after-hours number provided is a direct line to services who contact the general manager if requested by the guest. The manger gladly returns to the building to assist with issues or concerns that our guests may encounter. We truly wish that we were given the opportunity to fix anything that you were unhappy with. We do whatever we can to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable. We deeply value your relationship with us here at the Grand Hotel and we are very committed to providing all our guests with the highest level of service possible. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Although we love hearing about perfect stays it is extremely helpful to us that we hear about the not so perfect as well. Guest feedback is the only way to know if we are providing for our guests the level of service and amenities expected. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding, and thank you again for your review of the Grand Hotel.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed a night in Kennebunkport as a pre-Christmas get away with the family. The first impression is of a grand old hotel, tastefully decorated for the Christmas holiday.

Our visit started off rather rocky however as the rooms they gave us keys to were occupied by other people. Image their (and our) surprise when we unlocked the door to their room and they weren't even expecting company! A trip down to the front desk and new rooms were assigned in short order, with apologies from the staff. The second time, the rooms were empty so we moved in! The rooms are nice size. Ours was in the front of the hotel overlooking downtown Kennebunkport. A lovely view with all of the Christmas lights. There is a comfortable king size bed, an armoire that served as closet and also stored the Keruig coffee maker. The bathroom was quite nice, marble and tile with very elegant fixtures. The temperature was controlled by a remote control that would have benefited from a new battery - the screen was barely readable. It also seemed that the thermostat was slightly off, because when the heat said it was 74 we still were in the room with sweatshirts on and not warm. The flat screen TV was mounted on the wall, with an adjustable mount arm that allowed one to turn the screen in any direction.

ACCESSIBITY: The hotel is accessible; all rooms are accessible from the elevator in the front lobby. Some rooms have walk in showers as opposed to tubs, with grab bars and a hand held shower, making them particularly mobility-impaired traveler friendly.

As others have noted, the front desk is not manned overnight during the off season. The staff left extra towels, coffee, tea and other items that guests may require out in the lobby, and gave us the phone number for the “overnight” manager should we need something else. Anything else could be had at H.B. Provisions, a general store/grocery store/deli that is directly across the street from the hotel. Rooms keys open the front door when staff is not available.

In all this is a lovely upscale hotel within easy walking distance of everything in downtown Kennebunkport. When we left in the morning, we were pleasantly surprised by a bag “for our travels” that included a granola bar and a bottle of water for each of us. A nice touch to be sure. Overall, we would rate The Grand Hotel, the staff, and the room quite highly. Value for us was good as we had located a special price on Snique Away. At full rack price for off season in Kennebunkport the hotel is definitely in the higher end of pricing.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, a nice touch especially in warmer weather. Also, there are some rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-K-albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Mrs-K- albany,
We truly appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback. We cannot begin to express how delighted we are that although you unfortunately experienced a rocky start, you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and all its amenities. We could not agree with you more that it’s quite lovely to be right in the middle of it all and within walking distance to so many fun things to do. We hope you stay with us again and are happy to hear you enjoyed your departure goody bag!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed this summer at The Tides Beach Hotel, a sister resort of this, and had a magnificant time. This property in town was also excellent. The staff was extremely helpful and very nice. We were there for Kennebunkport's Christmas Prelude and the staff gave us some great reccommendations where to go. We had a corner King Classic, the room was very comfortable and well appointed. The chacuterie tray and martinis delivered to our room when we arrived was a great start to a memorable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOYHopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear AOYHopeful ,
Thank you for your great review of our newest property. It’s always a pleasure to have guests that frequent our sister properties and of course we love hearing that we fit right in. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all that Prelude has to offer and that your room was comfortable and enjoyable! We certainly hope this will just be the first of many stays with us and that there will be many more occasions for martinis and memorable times with us here at the Grand!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

first of all be careful if you are driving through a city named Ogunquit ~ they also have a hotel by this same name and it is NOT the same as the The Grand Hotel in Kennebunk! we were traveling in off season (November of 2012) and realized that this was not tourist season so i am not sure during the tourist season if they handle their practices any differently: we were the only ones staying at this hotel and we were informed that the staff would be leaving at 6:00 pm and that our room key would be able to unlock the front door. I just felt it was strange that they didn't have any staff there over night! The hotel was grand ~ very nice. our room over looked the main street and had a balcony. The bed was some what comfortable - a little too firm for my liking. The staff that we did deal with were very nice and helpful! I gave the service an average rating since we were left at the hotel by our selves at night.

Room Tip: Room 202 was very nice, overlooking the main street with a nice size balcony with table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear TheDixie,
Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their accommodations while staying with us here at the Grand in Kennebunk. Although it is our standard procedure year round to lock down at night the staff does try their very best to ensure our guests are both comfortable and equipped with what they need for the evening. It is our number one priority that our guests, should we say are tucked in for a grand’s night sleep. It is always good to hear that our staff was nice and helpful. We truly hope that we will see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at The Grand for 4 nights in mid-November. What a lovely experience! Being as we were there during the "off-season" (mid-November), we had most (if not all) of the hotel to ourselves but, that potential tedium in no way prevented the staff from being incredibly attentive, friendly and helpful.
Our room, a King Suite, is a technological wonder. The HVAC is controlled with a remote and, the fully marble finished bathroom has the option to heat the floor! Absolutely beautiful! Equally enjoyable was the exceedingly pleasant scent of the bed linens...something from the orchid family and, genuinely soothing. The room is quite nicely sized, has good amount of closet space and, did feature a walk-out balcony though, the weather made it a bit less than practical to enjoy it.
As noted, the hotel is nearly at the heart of Kennebunkport and, shares space with "Kitchen Chicks", a lovely pastry and sandwich bistro. Across the street from the hotel is H.B. Provisions so, should you require something else, it is readily available. The one suggestion we would make to the hotel is, that there IS ample room in the King Suite for a refrigerator and small writing desk (on the wall under the TV). This would be a greatly appreciated amenity to provide your future guests.
Overall, we would rate The Grand Hotel, the staff, and the room quite highly. The value was a bit harder to justify for the time of year and, I suspect that if the rates were eased a bit, the hotel may do a little more business. However, it is their first year and, they still have to "test the waters". We would have no qualms about returning and indeed, will look forward to our next chance to do so!

Room Tip: The KIng Suite, 206, was a NE corner room. It was generally quiet and had a nice view towards the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahbach007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear ahbach007,
Thank you so much for the incredible review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We really do love being able to spend time with our guests and to hear and see that you’re having a Grand time. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your room and its amenities and that your sleeping accommodations were both relaxing and soothing! Kitchen Chicks truly is a treat and most enjoyable for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and to spend a little more time with us here at the heart of it all!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Grand is brand new, so clean, and so comfy! We had a separate little sitting area, and a small patio to look out over the river. The best thing is the location. It's right at the bridge in Kennebunk, that takes you over to Kennebunkport. So you're in the center of it all. When we left, they surprised us by handing us a "goodbye gift" of bottled water and granola bars! Never had that before! Thank you Grand for the perfect ending to a great trip to Maine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhplanome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear dhplanome,
We are so very glad that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us here at the Grand. Thank you so much for all your kind words and it was certainly a pleasure having you with us. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
0.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,622 reviews
3.7 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1 Chase Hill Rd, Lower Village, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, with some guestrooms offering views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite art gallery, you can indulge yourself in artistic delights. Our boutique hotel on the edge of Kennebunkport has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you'll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine's coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport's winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing