We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“pay close attention to room choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pay close attention to room choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

recently spent a few nights at this new hotel---it should be characterized as a 'boutique' hotel as it does not have the amenities associated with a full scale hotel. There are plus and minus attributes to the hotel....no room is the same and you must pay close attention when the size of the room is explained and its location (some rooms are VERY small) and this includes the Grand King with balcony. Also, pay close attention to location of the room....our visit was in the fall during the week (slow time) I would imagine it could be very noisy with traffic during the summer facing the front of the hotel as traffic could be heard in our room facing the side street...you have two choices for side views: one faces the town, the other the side of another hotel's parking lot. Also, there are not enough parking spaces at the hotel to accommodate their guests (parking is available a short walk up the street in a lot) but anyone with difficulty walking would certainly not find that adequate. Also, I only saw one handicapped parking space. the hotel shares space with a coffee shop and hair salon and their customers get to use the few parking spots at the hotel so guests are not guaranteed any spot . The rooms are sparsely furnished and not expensively. A few have a stand alone closet that does not accommodate many clothes. Though only open since June, carpets have been stained, as noted by another reviewer (our room had stains). on the positive side the bathrooms are gorgeous and large, toiletries of good quality and generous.. One grand king had a very good size bathroom but a very small bedroom, crowded with two chairs....some rooms only have one chair!!!! When booking the room, speak to the front desk about room size, so you are not shocked and disappointed. Hotel is extremely clean and the staff accommodating. There is no lobby to speak of and the two bathrooms in that space are for PUBLIC use so there is enormous traffic and no security for getting on the elevators. In summation, there is good and not so good aspects of this hotel...positives: large modern bathrooms, clean, location (walk into Kennebunkport shopping) negatives: size of rooms, room locations, parking, no elevator security during the day; (night security is a key to get into the hotel, beds are very soft, (as noted by another reviewer). Expensive for quality of furnishings and size of rooms...balconies are also very curious...only a few accommodate two people sitting; they are the grand kings, the other balconies are very narrow. The staff are excellent explaining the rooms, just listen!

Room Tip: pay attention to explanation of size and be specific on what you would like
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Dolores O
Thank you for review. We truly appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are glad that you were able to enjoy a small piece of fall with us here at the Grand. We could not agree with you more that are beds are comfy and the bathrooms are luxurious right down to the heated flooring! We enjoy very much being able to spend quality one on one time with our guests and being a boutique property with only 17 rooms gives us that opportunity. It gives us the chance to meet every one of you personally and make sure all our guests have a Grand experience whether it is from choosing a room type that will best suit your needs or helping with dinner recommendations and also help with other area attractions. We certainly are unique and a one of a kind property. We feel that every room has something different to offer to our guests depending on needs. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that the next time you find yourself in the Kennebunk/Kennebunkport area you will stay with us at the Grand Hotel.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    43
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
198
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had purchased a 2 night promotional stay through travel and leisure, around $400 for 2 nights. We arrived and had a huge gift bag waiting for us with treats from the area, as well as a small bottle of celebratory champagne. We had the grand room with a large balcony - which was great for watching fireworks. The bathrooms were beautiful- huge shower area. The bed was very comfortable. It was only a five minute walk to the main town area, and there were plenty of places to get food right around the hotel- even in the hotel building. We had a great dinner at Earth at Hidden Pond, and at the Tides Beach Club (amazing lobster roll). You will need to make reservations and drive to each, but well worth it. I would stay at The Grand Hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetaime10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear jetaime10,
We are thrilled that you had such a memorable time with us here at the Grand and that you enjoyed the promotional gift bag and all its goodies! My personal favorite was the chocolates…amazing! As for your choice of room while staying with us…the best and we could not agree with you more that the bathrooms are beautiful. Earth and Tides are both fantastic and are most definitely worth the drive! We cannot wait to have you come and visit with us again!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the Grand. Beautiful clean,new, hip rooms. Great Waterworks bathroom. Wonderful location, can walk to everything and 5 minutes to beautiful beaches. Only complaint wish their was a lounge on-site. Can't wait to go back. Mr and Mrs. P.

Room Tip: Not many rooms with balconies, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sky229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear sky229,
We love that you loved the Grand. Thank you for kind words about our beautiful, clean and hip little hotel! We are thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the convince of our location and were able to take in all of the areas beauty. We can’t wait to have come back and stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very clean, perfectly located and gorgeous! We walked to the restaurants and the Cottage Breeze Day Spa, which was just incredible! HB Provisions, across the street is the place to go for breakfast. We have been all over, but this is our first trip to Kennebunk. We were pleasantly surprised at how breathtakingly beautiful and relaxing it was. The Grand Hotel is exactly where we will stay on our next trip there! Loved it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear SDC10,
Thank you so much for your incredible review on our hotel. Gorgeous is the word we often like to use to describe the Grand. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your outing to Cottage Breeze Day Spa…they truly are amazing! HB Provisions is a well known spot for breakfast around here and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future for another dose of the areas breathtaking beauty and to just plain kick back and relax!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was fabulous! From well-appointed furnishings to the 1st class service, my husband and I were more than pleased with our stay. The room we had was very tastefully decorated with luxury linnens. The bathroom was a spa-like with heated marble floors, glass shower, and robes. Our room had a lovely outdoor deck with seating overlooking the quaint town and river. A nice touch was the snacks and water given to us at check-out for our long ride home. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with a balcony overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear KellyO,
Thank you for your fabulous review! We could not agree with you more that our rooms are beautiful and the spa like bathrooms are definitely a wonderful added touch of bliss. The private decks make for a pleasant addition as well and we are thrilled that you were able to sit back, relax and enjoy the view. We love knowing that our guests had a spectacular time and that we in some small way were able to be a part of it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The grand hotel is a lovely place (just by the bridge which separates kennebunk from kennebunkport). Very friendly staff and luxurious rooms.  We would recommend a stay here if you are visiting the area. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank genghlislive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear genghlislive,
We love that you had a lovely stay with us and found our hotel and its amenities luxurious. So glad that you were able to enjoy Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. We hope this will have only been the first of many stays with us.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a very nice Hotel. The staff was very professional and always willing to help, the room and hotel was immaculate with a wonderful location within walking distance to town. The cafe attached to the hotel was very good. we had muffins and coffee every day. we would definitely recommend this hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear DaveS,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take it all in. From enjoying Kitchen Chicks Café to exploring downtown Kennebunkport. We appreciate all of our guests and are always more than happy to help in any way we can! We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#3 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 1 Chase Hill Rd, Lower Village, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, with some guestrooms offering views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite art gallery, you can indulge yourself in artistic delights. Our boutique hotel on the edge of Kennebunkport has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you'll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine's coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport's winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing