We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly relaxing”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very clean, perfectly located and gorgeous! We walked to the restaurants and the Cottage Breeze Day Spa, which was just incredible! HB Provisions, across the street is the place to go for breakfast. We have been all over, but this is our first trip to Kennebunk. We were pleasantly surprised at how breathtakingly beautiful and relaxing it was. The Grand Hotel is exactly where we will stay on our next trip there! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear SDC10,
Thank you so much for your incredible review on our hotel. Gorgeous is the word we often like to use to describe the Grand. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your outing to Cottage Breeze Day Spa…they truly are amazing! HB Provisions is a well known spot for breakfast around here and we are glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future for another dose of the areas breathtaking beauty and to just plain kick back and relax!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 294 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was fabulous! From well-appointed furnishings to the 1st class service, my husband and I were more than pleased with our stay. The room we had was very tastefully decorated with luxury linnens. The bathroom was a spa-like with heated marble floors, glass shower, and robes. Our room had a lovely outdoor deck with seating overlooking the quaint town and river. A nice touch was the snacks and water given to us at check-out for our long ride home. You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with a balcony overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear KellyO,
Thank you for your fabulous review! We could not agree with you more that our rooms are beautiful and the spa like bathrooms are definitely a wonderful added touch of bliss. The private decks make for a pleasant addition as well and we are thrilled that you were able to sit back, relax and enjoy the view. We love knowing that our guests had a spectacular time and that we in some small way were able to be a part of it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The grand hotel is a lovely place (just by the bridge which separates kennebunk from kennebunkport). Very friendly staff and luxurious rooms.  We would recommend a stay here if you are visiting the area. 

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genghlislive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear genghlislive,
We love that you had a lovely stay with us and found our hotel and its amenities luxurious. So glad that you were able to enjoy Kennebunk and Kennebunkport. We hope this will have only been the first of many stays with us.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a very nice Hotel. The staff was very professional and always willing to help, the room and hotel was immaculate with a wonderful location within walking distance to town. The cafe attached to the hotel was very good. we had muffins and coffee every day. we would definitely recommend this hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear DaveS,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take it all in. From enjoying Kitchen Chicks Café to exploring downtown Kennebunkport. We appreciate all of our guests and are always more than happy to help in any way we can! We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this new hotel over Columbus Day weekend. The location can not be beat! It is close to EVERYTHING and yet the hotel is almost hidden. The rooms were beautiful as was the bathroom - especially the heated floors! The staff leaves at 9pm and there are no real amenities like room service or a full service restaurant on site, but the hotel itself cant be beat. The view is spectacular and the location is almost too good to be true. We loved our stay.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a balcony room - we really wish we had requested one early on!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear steph s,
Thank you very much for your reply and your kind words. It is a very important thing to us here at the Grand. We are so very happy that you enjoyed your holiday weekend with us. The rooms truly are a treasure and we agree with you completely. Being located in the heart of it all is just one of our Grand features. We look forward to you spending many more holiday weekends with us.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a few nights this summer. The hotel is new and you can not beat the location if you want to stay right in town. The free parking was nice and you can easily walk to the shops in Kennebunk or Kennebunkpory. The rooms were on the small side but clean. While the hotel does not serve breakfast there are a number of options within walking distance of the hotel. You can also go swimming at the sister property but you need to drive. We would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebordcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear thebordu,
Thank you for speaking so kindly about the Grand. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to stay with us this summer and enjoy all the amenities the Grand has to offer. Such as being so perfectly situated in the heart of it all. We could not be happier that you were able to find the breakfast accommodations that suited your needs while staying with us. We truly hope that you come and stay with us again in the near future and are able to soak up some more sun while lounging by the pool.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose The Grand Hotel partially be cause it is new this season and partially because we wanted to be within convenient walking distance to town and water. It has also been described as "hip" in some reviews, and that was more appealing than some of the traditional family hotels in the area. We had a lovely room and a great stay. We'd stay there again in a minute. It was quiet, clean, reasonably priced, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's a small hotel -- only 17 rooms -- so it's more casual than a city/business hotel. There's no concierge or bell staff, but the front desk clerk offered to help with our bags, recommended great restaurants, made reservations, and gamely answered our questions and helped us find our way around.

Room Tip: There are complimentary bikes for guest use at the Grand. The swimming pool (and beach service) is a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeitherHereNorTher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelManager, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear NeitherHereNorTher,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words about the Grand. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that your accommodations were everything you were looking for in a Hotel. I am also glad to hear that out front desk staff was helpful and able to answer all your questions. Looking forward to your future stays with us!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Redmond
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
0.2 mi away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
649 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Kennebunkport
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,731 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: 1 Chase Hill Rd, Lower Village, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7666
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: $131 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Kennebunkport Resort Collection of luxury Kennebunkport accommodations, the Grand Hotel sits prominently on Chase Hill, with some guestrooms offering views of the Kennebunk River and bustling Dock Square. Featuring classic New England architecture and elegantly appointed rooms, the Grand Hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy your Kennebunkport, Maine vacation. With an onsite art gallery, you can indulge yourself in artistic delights. Our boutique hotel on the edge of Kennebunkport has something for everyone! Steps away from the Grand, you'll find exceptional restaurants, diverse art galleries, and charming boutiques. Kennebunkport also offers several beautiful beaches, perfect for soaking up some rays, shell seeking or a family day at the beach. Paddle a kayak and check out the River, or explore Maine's coast. Hop on a bike or scooter and explore Kennebunkport's winding back roads, or enjoy one of our scenic tours on a classic schooner, lobster boat or whale watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing