We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A nice enough place to stay. The price was good (pre-season) and the room was mostly clean (shower curtain was moldy and the curtains over the front slider were stained). Beds could use some updating. In a great location for access to restaurants and stores in Kennebunk and Wells.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights last week the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was very nice, in my world what else could you ask for. We had our dogs with us and they really enjoyed just walking around the grounds, The pool was also very nice and we sat in the sun two afternoons and really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We found this wonderful little spot 4 or 5 years ago, when it had just been bought by the current owners. They've worked very hard to make improvements every year. The pool is clean and terrific for the exercise that I usually skip while on vacation. The cottages are clean and each one has an area to cook if you don't want to eat all of your meals out. We go back at least twice a year just to go to Bentley's, 4 1/2 miles away in Arundel. We've also stopped by on our way back to Providence from points farther north, in the pouring rain, and they've always taken care of us very well. Our dog, Piggles, loves it too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhodeislandkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We we were very pleasantly surprised! We were just looking for a one night stay on a weekend, which some hotels won't book in the summer months. We knew going in that it wasn't a 5 star hotel and I was a bit nervous... I loved how all of the cottages were unique and different from each other. It was clean and the grounds we beautiful and well maintained. We went during a hot humid weekend and the we had AC and ceiling fans in the bedrooms. It was nice to sit outside on our porch. Had a great morning swim in a huge clean pool. Owners are friendly and helpful! We didn't have young kids but the set up is great for families. There were 3 of us on bikes and they were very welcoming. My husband and I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recommend. Great central location and walking distance to downtown Kennebunk shops, ice cream, restaurants, etc but in a quiet area to unwind from hassels of the day. Beautiful pool. Cabins are fun and convenient for families and make for easy meal making when you want to save on eating out every day. Pet friendly. Casual. Owners are helpful and friendly. We're repeat customers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

PROS-the staff was very friendly, gave us two cabins even though i had booked two rooms (on the booking site it didn't have the 'motel' part in the title, just 'cabins' so i thought all they had were cabins). each unit we rented had two bedrooms that were on opposite sides of the cabin-so there was a little privacy- and a common area that had a kitchen, dining table, living room area. the linens were all clean smelling, if a bit worn. had a screened in porch on each cabin. the area was quiet. CONS-not super easy or quick to get to from the highway. bathroom was small and smelled a little mildewy. i opened the bathroom window since there was no exhaust fan. we had to run the hot water for a LONG time before it got hot. the burner i tried to use on the stove didn't work...i was actually trying to heat water for a bath, since i thought we were not going to have any hot water, i had run it so long with no results. by the time the water got hot in the shower, i realized the stove burner wasn't working. the pillows were VERY thin. no breakfast option. other cabins we've stayed at had coffee, juice, and muffins. nothing fancy, but good if you are just spending one night and don't want to grocery shop or cook breakfast. the blinds actually kept out no light at all. the place needs updating. new pillows and bedspreads would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kami3Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennebunkcottages, Owner at Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review of our property. If customers don't mention maintenance issues to the office, they have no idea that there is a problem such as the stove burner not working! We do apologize if the pillows in those particular rooms were not replaced. Brand new pillows have been bought and are in the process of exchanging old ones out...again if something was mentioned when you were here we could of given you new pillows. Coffee is provided in the office in the morning. We do not provide breakfast whereas most cottages have cooking ability; therefore we are able to provide very reasonable room rates in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Not recommended, A shabby place, Everything old and worn. The ceiling tiles over the bed had fallen out and the repair was to screw them back up with black sheetrock screws. That is what we saw when lying in bed. Towels and linens were obviously very old and the towel rack was hanging off the wall. Stains on the old carpet, we will never go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennebunkcottages, Owner at Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

We are sorry that this guest did not have a pleasant experience at our property. Unfortunately, nothing was said when they were here or we could of moved them to a different unit. Due to a very busy season, the 2 maintenance issues that just occured a couple of weeks ago (ceiling tile and towel bar rack) are not quick fixes and will need to be addressed once we are closed for the season. As for the towels, new towels are ordered every year and due to the tremendous amount of guests that we accommodate every year some may start to get worn naturally by the end of the season. As for the "old" carpet with a stain....the carpet in that cottage is 3 years old. All carpets are cleaned prior to the season in May, then they are spot cleaned as needed during the season. Carpets that are worn or stained looking will be put on a list of carpets to be replaced the following spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
3.9 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
4.9 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.6 mi away
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
3.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages

Address: 65 York St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7153
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: $58 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunk Gallery Motel And Cottages Hotel Kennebunk
Kennebunk Gallery Hotel
Kennebunk Gallery Motel And Cottages Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing