We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED our stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We we were very pleasantly surprised! We were just looking for a one night stay on a weekend, which some hotels won't book in the summer months. We knew going in that it wasn't a 5 star hotel and I was a bit nervous... I loved how all of the cottages were unique and different from each other. It was clean and the grounds we beautiful and well maintained. We went during a hot humid weekend and the we had AC and ceiling fans in the bedrooms. It was nice to sit outside on our porch. Had a great morning swim in a huge clean pool. Owners are friendly and helpful! We didn't have young kids but the set up is great for families. There were 3 of us on bikes and they were very welcoming. My husband and I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMPerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recommend. Great central location and walking distance to downtown Kennebunk shops, ice cream, restaurants, etc but in a quiet area to unwind from hassels of the day. Beautiful pool. Cabins are fun and convenient for families and make for easy meal making when you want to save on eating out every day. Pet friendly. Casual. Owners are helpful and friendly. We're repeat customers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

PROS-the staff was very friendly, gave us two cabins even though i had booked two rooms (on the booking site it didn't have the 'motel' part in the title, just 'cabins' so i thought all they had were cabins). each unit we rented had two bedrooms that were on opposite sides of the cabin-so there was a little privacy- and a common area that had a kitchen, dining table, living room area. the linens were all clean smelling, if a bit worn. had a screened in porch on each cabin. the area was quiet. CONS-not super easy or quick to get to from the highway. bathroom was small and smelled a little mildewy. i opened the bathroom window since there was no exhaust fan. we had to run the hot water for a LONG time before it got hot. the burner i tried to use on the stove didn't work...i was actually trying to heat water for a bath, since i thought we were not going to have any hot water, i had run it so long with no results. by the time the water got hot in the shower, i realized the stove burner wasn't working. the pillows were VERY thin. no breakfast option. other cabins we've stayed at had coffee, juice, and muffins. nothing fancy, but good if you are just spending one night and don't want to grocery shop or cook breakfast. the blinds actually kept out no light at all. the place needs updating. new pillows and bedspreads would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kami3Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennebunkcottages, Owner at Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write the review of our property. If customers don't mention maintenance issues to the office, they have no idea that there is a problem such as the stove burner not working! We do apologize if the pillows in those particular rooms were not replaced. Brand new pillows have been bought and are in the process of exchanging old ones out...again if something was mentioned when you were here we could of given you new pillows. Coffee is provided in the office in the morning. We do not provide breakfast whereas most cottages have cooking ability; therefore we are able to provide very reasonable room rates in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Not recommended, A shabby place, Everything old and worn. The ceiling tiles over the bed had fallen out and the repair was to screw them back up with black sheetrock screws. That is what we saw when lying in bed. Towels and linens were obviously very old and the towel rack was hanging off the wall. Stains on the old carpet, we will never go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennebunkcottages, Owner at Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

We are sorry that this guest did not have a pleasant experience at our property. Unfortunately, nothing was said when they were here or we could of moved them to a different unit. Due to a very busy season, the 2 maintenance issues that just occured a couple of weeks ago (ceiling tile and towel bar rack) are not quick fixes and will need to be addressed once we are closed for the season. As for the towels, new towels are ordered every year and due to the tremendous amount of guests that we accommodate every year some may start to get worn naturally by the end of the season. As for the "old" carpet with a stain....the carpet in that cottage is 3 years old. All carpets are cleaned prior to the season in May, then they are spot cleaned as needed during the season. Carpets that are worn or stained looking will be put on a list of carpets to be replaced the following spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in a cottage with 2 bedrooms. This cottage had a kitchen so we did not have to eat out every night. Also, liked that they had a barbeque grill and picnic table by the cottage. The kids enjoyed the large pool. The pool was very clean. The cottage was clean and they provided housekeeping every day the whole week that we stayed. They had a playground area for the kids to play. The staff was very helpful with providing directions to places and restaurant suggestions. They also provide free beach parking passes for Kennebunk beaches which was nice because other local beaches in Wells and Ogunquit charge over $10.00 a day to park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked this facility after looking on line and when we got there, it was a shock. It appeared never trashy and very out dated. With people all outdoors right next to your cabin, there seemed to be no privacy or quiet. Only good thing was it was close to rte. 1. I would Not recommend this cabin/motel to any one.

Stayed: July 2012
3  Thank jhammer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennebunkcottages, Owner at Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience. Unfortunately, I don't really know what you mean about the place looking "trashy" whereas nothing was never mentioned when you were here. I'm not sure if you were looking for a 3-diamond hotel which we are not and nor do we advertise as being or if you were referring to the toys, etc. that is by the playground set for kids to play with as we do advertise as being family friendly. As for your comment about guest outside of the cottages and having no privacy and quietness. If others were being loud you could of called the office and we certainly would of addressed the issue. This comment is very opposite of the remarks that we usually receive of our property. Usually, we hear how it's very quiet and peaceful! If this issue was mentioned when you were here we could of offered to move you to an end unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are not overly picky travelers... we like a good deal, have kids and don't like to worry too much about ruining nice things and making too much noise, so this place was perfect for us. It had a pull out bed for a couple kids, a swimming pool out back, a little chilly-- but fun. The place was a little old and not super white glove, but for us it worked and the price was right. Fun to catch the $1 trolly for adults, kids free down the street and take it to Mother's Beach for a fun day out. Cute town.

Room Tip: cabin 11 was roomy
Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank runnersSlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
3.9 mi away
Franciscan Guest House
Franciscan Guest House
#8 of 8 in Kennebunk
149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kennebunk Kennebunkport
3.7 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.9 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#5 of 6 in Kennebunkport
205 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages

Address: 65 York St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-7153
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kennebunk
Price Range: $58 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kennebunk Gallery Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennebunk Gallery Motel And Cottages Hotel Kennebunk
Kennebunk Gallery Hotel
Kennebunk Gallery Motel And Cottages Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing