We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedro's

Pedro's
Ranked #11 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We didn't expect much but were very pleasantly surprised by great tacos and quesadilla, awesome salsa with a kick, and really, really friendly service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spela73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    134
    61
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
215 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Want to Like it More, But...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I love Mexican food. After living in Southern California for a good part of my adult life and spending a fair amount of time in the SW USA, I have come to really enjoy various Mexican and Tex-Mex foods. I had high hopes for Pedro's, but was a little disappointed. The food is not bad, but probably just average. The atmosphere is great, the service was above average, but the food was, well, a bit bland. We went there for lunch on New Years Day, so perhaps they were a little off their game from the night before. My wife had chicken enchiladas, our friend had fajitas and I had a chmichanga...all of which were fine, but just not anything to really get you excited. There is an exception, their salsa is really good and their chips are as well, crispy and salty. I'm sure I'll return since they offer the best Mexican food in proximity to where I live, but they are no match for Agave Dos in Portsmouth or Zapoteca in Portland.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Definitely on my repeat list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pleasantly surprised. Great margaritas with fresh-squeezed citrus flavor. House made chips and salsa were excellent. Scallop ceviche special was absolutely fantastic. Tacos were the happy hour special. Not your run of the mill tacos, soft shell with fresh toppings and great seasonings. Great service and the place seemed to have numerous regular customers on a cold weekday afternoon. Can't wait to go back and try the chile rellenos.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank granitept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great winter specials!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Pedros has settled in to Lower Village and it is nice to have some Mexican food in the neighborhood! Their burritos are very tasty and plenty large enough to fill you up. They have an all-you-can-eat taco night running on Wed evenings in the winter -- a very good deal. The service tends to be friendly and prompt. All in all - welcome to the neighborhood Pedro!

Helpful?
Thank C_Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh food in a uniquely designed space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Going out to dinner at 9 o'clock on a Saturday in November meant my party of two didn't have to wait at all for a table, but it looks like the place will get pretty crowded in the summer. I had a margarita that paired well with my two Mexican street tacos. Everything tasted/looked very fresh and had great flavor. We didn't get desserts or appetizers, but our two mains were delicious and the atmosphere was very cool and laid back with interesting decor, not your typical tacky Mexican restaurant decorations. There is also a fun outdoor patio area with a large firepit and tables. Overall it's a unique, flavorful place for something other than seafood in Kennebunkport.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrswilliams68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pedro's also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Pedro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing