We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic food and atmosphere”

Ryan's Corner House
Ranked #18 of 67 Restaurants in Kennebunk
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went here based upon a recommendation from a local, who insisted we must try their fish and chips...and we are so glad we did! The service was fast and friendly. We loved the Irish music playing in the background and all of the Irish paraphernalia covering the walls. The fish and chips were just as good as I've had in the UK and they even offered malt vinegar to go with it! The portions were large and left us completely full and satisfied.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaireD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    42
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Tremendously friendly staff, and great food. Love the decor...the interior is extremely comfortable and welcoming. The owners made us feel like long-lost friends, during our first visit; we have been back a number of times since, and we will go there many more times in the future. A very nice, tasty, and traditional Irish menu. Great happy hour specials, as well. We highly recommend Ryan's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crew82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjkryan47, Owner at Ryan's Corner House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review ! Joe and I are glad you enjoy our pub ! We just really love what we do !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Irish Irish Irish”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The way an Irish pub should be. Owners on premises, great great Irish food, beer and whiskey. Live Irish music on weekends make it one of the best around. My wife and I go there about once or twice a month. They close in December and reopen on March 17---surprise.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjkryan47, Owner at Ryan's Corner House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks soo much ! We are glad you enjoy your time at Ryan's !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Friendly”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great fun! Great food! Great fun! Great staff! Don't miss the Smithwick's batter fish & chips..can't beat it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjkryan47, Owner at Ryan's Corner House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much ! We try our best to make Ryan's Corner house a FUN PUB ! both to visit and to work in !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunks, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food was nothing special, but my biggest concern was the appetizer we ordered. I understand we are in a tourist trap town, but this isn't a formal dining experience. It's a local Irish pub on the corner....so we thought. There were 4 of us and we ordered the potato skins. To our astonishment, the dish only had 3 skins. We paid $10 for 1-1/2 puny potatoes. It wasn't even enough for each person in our party to eat one. The waitress should have at least informed us of that. Obviously, another Kennebunk restaurant focused on making a dollar from the transient tourists. If they desperately need me to drop off a sack of potatoes so people can get a legitimate appetizer, I can.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nut J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tjkryan47, Owner at Ryan's Corner House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Hi there , thanks for your concern ! We have been closed for the past month so I have to assume you were here before that ! No thanks but thanks for the offer of the potatoes , you would still get three even if you gave us a bag ! Our skins are made fresh daily and are loaded with bacon , cheese and onions ! They are actually very popular and very good ! Our focus is good customer service no matter what, whether its your first time or tenth ! We value each and every person who walks in our door and we appreciate EVERYONE'S business ! It's a pity that you left without bringing this to our attention we would have been MORE than happy to give you another potatoe skin!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's Corner House also viewed

 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Ryan's Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing