We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Western MA
1 review
“Best B & B”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Two adults and two cairn terriers enjoyed a fabulous stay at this inn. The owners, Randee & Norm, were warm and welcoming, giving us a mini-orientation to the Inn and to the area. The room was tip-top clean and charming, with little luxuries like liquid shower soap and a VCR with movies in room, current magazines, and chocolate cake in the fridge. Doggie treats in the kitchen, a shoveled path through the snow for our little dogs, and the nearby Kennebunk dog park made the stay extra special. Prices are reasonable, breakfast was freshly made and delicious, and the landscape was soothing. We hope to return annually.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeanutWesternMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Randee and Norm were great, they were so loving, warm and kind. They really made you feel like you lived there with them. The room was so cute. My father stayed in the front part of the room, and i stayed towards the back of our beautiful room.There was a bathroom that connected the two, which was really sweet. There was a gorgeous mirror I fell in love with in the main room of the Lords Lair. The location of the Inn was perfect, it was not far from downtown and the house was so inviting you don't want to leave. I loved how sweet the Perkins were and how safe and at home they made you feel. Everything was great. I honestly can't wait to return =)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacelovepink99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OR
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Never felt so welcome with or without a dog and we were given so many helpful hints on how to enjoy the area. It was a delightful stay.......amenities, breakfast, facility, owners.........everything was a delight.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, IN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Randi was extremely welcoming to my husband and myself--andespecially to our goldendoodle, Dusty! She was the REAL guest! Even treats for her in the kitchen (although, of course, her human companions had to fetch them as dogs can't be in the kitchen!) From the time we arrived, we could tell Hounds Tooth Inn was special. The grounds are large and beautifully kept. Our room was spacious with many thoughtful touches. Thirsty at night?? Go on down to the kitchen and make yourself a pot of tea! And leave the dishes! Our breakfasts were yummy and more than we could eat! They alone are worth the visit! We certainly plan to return someday!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachucettes
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The Inn is clean and spacious.The breakfast alone is worth the trip. Your pet is most welcome. The Inn Keepers are warm and friendly. We can't recommend this highly enough for anyone traveling with their pets!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phd3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We just got home from our trip to Maine and would like to say that we can't wait to come back to the Hounds Tooth Inn with our 3 furry kids. Many places will take 1 dog but Randy & Norm were great, allowing us to bring our 3 border collie children. We had a wonderful time. Randy is a great cook and she is a wonderful spokesperson for the area. She really helps you with ideas about where to take you dog and fun things for both of you. The rooms are bright and tastefully decorated. I would recommend this Inn to anyone in a heartbeat. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mulluckdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Whether or not you are traveling with pets, the Hounds Tooth Inn is a magnificent place to stay in Maine. Lovely spacious grounds and rooms, a fantastic breakfast prepared by the inn owners, ( with veggies from their backyard garden), great advice on local restaurants and itineraries and only 5 minutes from everywhere you'll want to be. All that aside, it is also the most dog friendly accommodation I have ever experienced. They don't just allow dogs here they embrace them. The dogs are treated like humans, "roam free and be merry" could be the mantra". Oh, and of course our Rhodesian mix was about as happy as he could be going to the dog beach twice a day, which made us quite happy as well!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ArtieBklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunk
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#1 of 8 in Kennebunk
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 14 in Kennebunk
258 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kennebunk Inn
Kennebunk Inn
#12 of 14 in Kennebunk
187 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 5 in Kennebunkport
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Property: Hounds Tooth Inn
Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing