We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Human Friendly Bed and Breakfast For Dogs.”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennebunk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Kennebunk B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our stay at the H.T.I. was fantastic. One of the best places we've stayed at in decades. The owners are the friendliest, down to earth people you could want. Randee, Norm and Tegan made sure our dog felt welcome. They treated us like visiting relatives, the good kind, not in-laws. There are four distinct rooms to stay in. A huge kitchen and dining area are available for human guests. guests. The Kitchen counter is stocked with a "help yourself "jar full of dog treats. A fresh homemade greeted the humans. All the rooms, the front entrance area and a common sitting room are available to those with two and four legs. The back has a fenced in yard for guests of the barking kind. The rooms and common areas and kitchen were kept spotless. Randee and Norm really thought of everything, there are motion lights in most of the common rooms and hallways so late night wanderers can get around without bumping into walls. We stayed three nights, each morning Randee prepared a feast for breakfast. This included fresh fruit juice, coffee, tea, muffins and a main course. My wife’s, gluten free diet was not an issue for the experienced, master, breakfast maker. On our last morning, she was treated to an entire mini loaf of GF fruit bread that accompanied her custom made omelet. I think it was the biggest breakfast my wife ever had. The property is located on a residential road, a short drive to a very, dog friendly beach. Don't overlook the huge dog park on the way to the beach. I've no doubt our dog had one of the best weekends in her life. All of us, pooch included already miss the hospitality we were shown over the weekend. Dog's of all breeds and sizes are welcome. We have a hound which was a little bonus as that is Randee's favorite breed. If my dog was able, she'd give it a four Paw rating. Thank you Randee, Norm, and Tegan for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: There are four rooms to choose from, each has differenct characteristics. Best to call and talk to R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevielike2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 141 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

My partner, Clare, Beba, our wonder dog and I spent Oscar week end at the Hounds Tooth.. The superlatives haven't been written to describe the gorgeous, spacious and wholly comfortable room (the King's Court), delicious and bountiful breakfasts and Beba's total freedom (except for the kitchen). Most memorable was Randee's complete attentiveness to our needs. We left thinking about a summer stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here last summer with our terrier, Buckley, and loved it. The inn was charming, clean, in a great location, beautiful grounds and gardens, bed was comfortable, the room was spacious. Randee was welcoming and informative about the area, and made us a delicious and hearty breakfast. There is a little fenced yard in the back where dogs can meet each other. Randee's dog was was sweet and friendly. Buckley was comfortable and relaxed. The inn is close to dog-friendly beaches and a number of restaurants that allow dogs on the patio. Some good hikes in the area. Portland is about 1/2 hour away. Great area, wonderful place to stay when you vacation with your dog.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We gave this review a title of "A Dog's Paradise" but Randee and Norm take very good care of the people, too, at this wonderful B & B in Kennebunk. Our little dog, Jake, thought he had died and gone to heaven...he had his own area outside to play with his frisbee and the other dogs! We stayed upstairs and our room was clean, comfy, and cozy. One warning...you need to go to breakfast hungry because the food is very good and quite plentiful :-). Randee had great suggestions of things to do in the area. We will definitely be back for a visit to the Hounds Tooth Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hounds Tooth Inn in mid October. We enjoyed a warm reception, tasty, hardy breakfasts and excellent guidence from the Inn Keeper. Our dog enjoyed her stay. The facilities for the dog are great and she was comftable and welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Houndstooth Inn. It a wonderful experience, from the warmth of the inn keepers, Randee and Norman, to the coziness of the Inn. Amelia, my sons' German Shepard, enjoyed her first experience around other dogs, around many people walking in Kennebunkport, going on a boat ride, at the beach and romping in the river with her cousin Brady, my sisters' Golden Doodle. Every morning we were served a wonderful breakfast and started our day with full bellies. The Inn was spotless and our room very inviting. The area is beautiful and very pet friendly. Would not hesitate making a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at the Hounds Tooth Inn and had never stayed at a B&B and was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful accommodations. You would never believe that pets stayed here as everything was so clean but very dog friendly. Randee and Norm were the perfect hosts. Our dog Brady had the best time and on return to the Inn after a full day of sight seeing was totally exhausted. We definitely will be paying another visit to the Hounds Tooth Inn in the near future.

Room Tip: We had the Duke's Den and it was perfect....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4374sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kennebunk hotels
1.4 mi away
Port Inn Kennebunk, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.8 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
2.6 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Lodge at Kennebunk
The Lodge at Kennebunk
#6 of 8 in Kennebunk
175 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kennebunk
315 reviews
3.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#5 of 14 in Kennebunk
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Address: 82 Summer St, Kennebunk, ME 04043-6616
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebunk
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a non-smoking, pet friendly, four guest room Bed and Breakfast located in the picturesque town of Kennebunk, Maine. Situated across from a 12 acre Land Trust, near the beach, the port and downtown Kennebunk, this converted farmhouse and barn on an acre of beautiful land offers comfortable and homey lodging year-round. For a wonderfully relaxing experience that has the feel of the simpler, sweeter past, plan to stay at the Hounds Tooth Inn where your hosts thoroughly enjoy making you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Inn Kennebunk, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing